We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chumbi Residency Hotel
Ranked #55 of 113 Hotels in Gangtok
D
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lack of service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We moved out after 1 night. No hot water evening and morning; they offer you a “bucket”. Rather worn room that urgently needs refurbishment. Dirty bed linen all over; receptionist describes the spots as “permanent marks”, takes them more than 30 minutes to find clean cloth. We recommend Greendale Residence for the better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    47
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
20
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

its amazing to see the beautiful peak of Kanchenjunga, as you get up in the morning. The view is just amazing, so got the right room.
The food is just great here in the restaurant, Tangerine. I loved the chilly paneer here, I had never known paneer could be so soft and tasty, the paneer just melted in my palate.
The service was great, and Sikkimese are just so simple and good natured.
They even arranged our trip to Nathula at a concessional rate.

The only downside was, they had no elevator, and our room was down below, so we had to climb 3 floors to reach the building exit.
They can add few more items to their complimentary breakfast, otherwise everything I tasted was good in their restaurant.

So it was good and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debasis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diu, Daman and Diu, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice location, value for money,good staff ,No consistency in food quality one day it it was extra ordinary & next day just prepared for the sake of preparation . Shortage of staff if occupancy is good be ready to compromise with services or avoid peak season.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on higher floor good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karnal, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

above average property with decent location just above main mg market. staff was courteous and property was ok.we had buffet breakfast and it was gud. if u r luking for luxury,this is not the place for u. bt can be termed as gud value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serenitypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice, clean simple hotel.
Staff are helpful and the location is great. Lots of stairs to the Dining area but clean and tasty food. No fans in the rooms which was disappointing.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkalra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Brilliantly located in the heart of town yet somehow away from the chaos, this is an excellent if simple hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful and the food in Tangerine, the in-house bar/restaurant, was excellent.

It may not be the swishest place on earth but it's great value for money and on a clear day the views are breathtaking.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Cockroach in room
Smell and irritate service. Do not wastemoney on this hotel, staff is not helpful . Make my trip makes this hotel for us . Bogus company. Even water in the room is paid . Pls don't stay this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ireesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gangtok hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.1 mi away
The Keepsa Residency
The Keepsa Residency
#32 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#43 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#3 of 113 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bamboo Retreat Hotel
Bamboo Retreat Hotel
#5 of 113 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
12.9 mi away
Tamarind Residency
Tamarind Residency
#38 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jewel of the East
Hotel Jewel of the East
#36 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chumbi Residency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbi Residency Hotel

Property: Chumbi Residency Hotel
Address: Tibet Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 113 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbi Residency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Chumbi Residency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chumbi Residency Hotel Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing