We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chumbi Residency Hotel
Ranked #65 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice location, value for money,good staff ,No consistency in food quality one day it it was extra ordinary & next day just prepared for the sake of preparation . Shortage of staff if occupancy is good be ready to compromise with services or avoid peak season.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on higher floor good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

above average property with decent location just above main mg market. staff was courteous and property was ok.we had buffet breakfast and it was gud. if u r luking for luxury,this is not the place for u. bt can be termed as gud value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serenitypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice, clean simple hotel.
Staff are helpful and the location is great. Lots of stairs to the Dining area but clean and tasty food. No fans in the rooms which was disappointing.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkalra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Brilliantly located in the heart of town yet somehow away from the chaos, this is an excellent if simple hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful and the food in Tangerine, the in-house bar/restaurant, was excellent.

It may not be the swishest place on earth but it's great value for money and on a clear day the views are breathtaking.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Cockroach in room
Smell and irritate service. Do not wastemoney on this hotel, staff is not helpful . Make my trip makes this hotel for us . Bogus company. Even water in the room is paid . Pls don't stay this hotel .

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ireesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights.A very pleasant and comfortable stay.Very good and helpful staff.Rooms were very clean.Excellent food,all of us loved it.No complaints.The mountain view was really good from the room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rituscraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stayed at the Chumbi Residency last year courtesy my friend . First things first- it's excellent location. M.G. Road is just a 5 min walk down, secondly, it's relaxed and clean ambience, thirdly, a taste of traditional Sikkimese cuisine, I particularly loved the ningro(fern) and bamboo shoot delicacy available at the buffet-I can still remember the subtle flavours. Service is a trifle slow but polite. Staying at the Chumbi has its advantages- the shops for trekking gear are on the same road- my friend and I bought our jackets there for our onward trip to Gurudongmar.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor for a better view,else you might just get the hospital(close by) vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pur0bi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rendezvous
Hotel Rendezvous
#55 of 118 in Gangtok
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
3.5 mi away
Saramsa Resort
Saramsa Resort
#25 of 118 in Gangtok
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mount Siniolchu
Hotel Mount Siniolchu
#30 of 118 in Gangtok
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
WelcomHeritage Denzong Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chumbi Residency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbi Residency Hotel

Address: Tibet Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range: $52 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbi Residency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chumbi Residency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chumbi Residency Hotel Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing