We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”
Review of The Royal Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Plaza
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in the first week of May 2013 with family. Frankly, I was very sceptical about staying here as it did not have very great reviews, however we went ahead as hotels of our choice were not available for the said dates.

But we never will regret our decision of staying here. Its a nice property with well maintained rooms albeit bang in the middle of the town. We had Club valley rooms that were comfortable and spacious enough to accommodate 2 adults n 2 kids. The staff was very helpful and cheerful.

Only improvement required is on the buffet menu as becomes quite repetitive n boring however the staff is wiling to help with alternatives if you have fussy eaters with you (read kids;)).

Overall a good stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 215 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hotel is located close to Butterfly Bridge and just 2 Kms from MG Road. It is just 500 m diversion from the main highway road.
Rooms are very well maintained and services are good. . Staff is co operative and caters to all your requirements very promptly. Dining and food needs improvement.
Sightseeings can be planned through hotel staff as they provide packages at good rates.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArpitGoyal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

its a new hotel, very good facilities, spacious rooms, one of the best showers i ve encountered, has very good view of hills, very near to rope-way n deorali market. good room service, best rated for the facilities they provide,,,, but food is not that good, they have to improve a lot. service in Orchids restaurant is too slow.

Room Tip: select valley view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_chakri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rameshwar J, General Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Greetings from the Royal Plaza, Gangtok!

Many thanks for choosing to stay at the Royal Plaza - Gangtok!

At the onset, please accept my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations on your recent visit to our hotel. Let me assure you that we have taken your feedback very sincerely and will not leave anything to better our services and live up to the esteemed expectations of our most valued patrons such as you, on your future visits. It is our endeavour at The Royal Plaza to provide our patrons seamless, convenient and the best of services.
However, at this occasion we have fallen short of your expectations. I urge you to give my team and me another opportunity to serve you.
We look forward to welcoming you at The Royal plaza Gangtok once again in not too distant future.

Warm Regards
Rameshwar Singh Jamwal
General Manager


gmtrp@sarovarhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was on vacation with my wife in May 2nd week and stayed in this hotel for couple days and this is what i felt :

Out look: was good and soothing

front office: people at front office were courteous and quick but lacked in proper communication with the guest. Calls made to reception for any problem were not handled quickly and I had remind them twice for everything.

room : rooms were good but looked dull as there was no proper lighting.

food: I took buffet and found food was good and tasty though lacked variety. Restaurant staff were helpful.
** Although twice they had billed me for someone else food and had to argue with them for 10 mins to convince them.

Not very exciting place to stay as i expected. Could have done better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muks4uChandigarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Located off the main road, this Hotel is lovely, friendly staff, great complimentary breakfast and a very basic make shift gym ensures some cardiac exercise is feasible. internet struggles but if someone is on a holiday, this is an ideal location.

Room Tip: I was given a room in the basement but am sure there are better rooms with valley view- mine had a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aylur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great trip to Darjeeling-Gangtok and this was our hotel in Gangtok. It was a away from main market and when the taxi was driving thru streets I felt that we might had made a mistake but when we entered the hotel the name said it all. Lobby and entrance was good and well maintained and even the staff was courteous enough. All the rooms that were offered to our group were good and spacious. Bathrooms were neat and clean. We had buffet in our package, the food was average for our tastes but otherwise offered good variety.

We requested for early breakfast as we had to leave the next day for excursion, it was available sharp on time and they asked what would we like. Overall it was a wonderful experience and yes the Casino was good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siddharth83Jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Being an ardent traveler in last 15 years , have experienced / rated hotels in almost all state of INDIA . The conflict started when a Owner think he is important as his money is at stake and the team managing it don't have much say and hence they loose interest towards regular improvement .
Go to this hotel with an average expectation and you feel not much disappointed .

what I felt badly is that this hotel don't communicate . They communicate as per info in Machine .
The Front office don't communicate to back up ... restaurant not to front office . Better remain aware of this and ensure that you have been listened and understood . Check out make take long time so reach at reception well in advance .

Dinner buffet was not at all justify the price . Better go for ala carte .

Ask for 1st floor Room .. they can't give this to all . So they must improve the view from other floor like 2 /3 /4 floor . My Room view Garbage block from window . Pathetic for a place which is famous for natural beauty / valley . Building structure can't be change and hence better to grow some flower outside window to cover garbage / syntex water tank etc . One can grow flower at plant at its ease in Sikkim.

I left MSG for GM - Mr Shabarwal - but it could not reach to him .
If this happen to me [ They are having important guest remarks against my booking as I am working for India biggest inbound Tour operator and part of Tourism industry in last 15 years .]
They should leave Chalta hai attitude just because they are able to sale it now

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank anand1sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
1.8 mi away
WelcomHeritage Denzong Regency
2.2 mi away
Suhim Portico
Suhim Portico
#13 of 118 in Gangtok
285 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mount Siniolchu
Hotel Mount Siniolchu
#29 of 118 in Gangtok
167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Summit Denzong Renaissance Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Bamboo Retreat Hotel
Bamboo Retreat Hotel
#5 of 118 in Gangtok
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Plaza

Address: Upper Syari, Deorali, Gangtok 737102, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gangtok
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range: $85 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst such lush green hilly terrains, a breathtaking topography and misty mountains, emerges The Royal Plaza [A Sarovar Hotel] at Gangtok, the Capital of Sikkim. This luxury hotel is ideally located and one of its kind in all of Sikkim and the North East. The Royal Plaza aptly complements the exotic locale. It provides a magnificent view of a valley with a tributary of the Teesta River and an extension of the Khanchendzonga Range from the guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Plaza Hotel Gangtok
The Royal Plaza Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing