We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sikkim Continental
Ranked #76 of 126 Hotels in Gangtok
Reviewed July 18, 2013

it was excellent stay and we enjoyed the stay alongwith our friends .Good food ,amenities to have a good weekend and Holidays. Enjoyed the everything and all markets very nearby for shopping. Had fun staying .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petersheppardnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayant_bh, Manager at The Sikkim Continental, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Dear Sir,
Namaste, Thank you for taking out your precious time and providing us with your kind feedback. We are pleased that you liked our hospitality. Hope you had a comfortable stay with us. We are looking forward to serve you again in near future. Hope to see you soon. Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 27 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had been booked here by the agent as there were not many other hotels available. The rooms left a lot to be desired. They did not have sufficient lights, no good night / all out available but just plain coil which is very bad for health. The rooms are of decent size but desperately need a makeover, so do the toilets. The best part about the place was their always ready to help staff and the food they provided. We had our breakfast and dinner included for all 4 nights and we got very good quality food which was freshly prepared and served hot to us always. With some improvements it could turn out to be very good place as its right on the main road and very near to MG Road.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms facing the opposite side of the road towards the valley, the view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayant_bh, Manager at The Sikkim Continental, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2017

Dear Sir/Mam,
Warm wishes we're sorry that you didn't have your comfortable stay with us and we couldn't satisfy you and strongly apologized for that. We have raise your concern with our team.Many changes had been made up like, renovated our hotels,connected of lights also done and in menu of food also , now we use the best quality of electric coil so that it cause any harm to health. As far as we always try to give our guest the best services in every possible way.Please visit us again and give us a chance to serve you in your next visit.
Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel was a part of the itineray...The location is awesome..becoz we could walk down to MG road...also the view from the rooms is excellent. But the rooms are poorly provided(only soap n shampoo) nothing else. As per the charges the hotel can upgrade housekeeping and room facilities. One special mention for the food...i found it extremely well made...infact the food only was the biggest USP!!! The hotel staff are cordial and polite...but a bit more proffesionalism can help them!!! All in all a fair experience!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the view of the hills...else u will be staring at busy roads all day!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayant_bh, Manager at The Sikkim Continental, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Dear Sir,
Namaste, Thank you for taking out your precious time and providing us with your kind feedback. We are pleased that you liked our hospitality. Hope you had a comfortable stay with us. Yes, sir we have upgrade our housekeeping and room facilities also. We were looking forward to serve you in near future again. Hope to see you soon.
Thanks and regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed at the Continental for one quick night whilst passing through.

I am not normally critical of hotels unless I have to be, but the standard of service here was sufficiently poor that it made for a bad stay. I was forced to wait an unreasonable amount of time for the most basic requirements like towels and soap, while the service times in the restaurant were unacceptable.

Aside from the saervice, this is a comfortable if unspectacular hotel, but I am afraid that unless the staff pick up their act this place will disappoint.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
Thank DevineInsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayant_bh, Manager at The Sikkim Continental, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Dear sir,
Thank you for your feedback. It is said that your stay with us was not comfortable. We raise your concern with the team and assure you we will provide best of the services and requirements as you said. We're sorry that we couldn't satisfy you and strongly apologized
if there was any mistake from our staff and will take measure to correct it. Please visit us again and give us a chance to serve you. Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is a smart hotel located in a very good place of Gangtok. The Hotel has sufficient parking space which sometimes become an issue when one travel to the hills. Good Value for money property. Neat and clean. Rooms are having very good views. Mr. Ashish Sharma the G.M is a smart chap and helpful too. As a Tour Operator i have stayed as well has sent my guests to the hotel. My guests were satisfied. Only issue is that the hotel is serving vegeterian dishes , but the Veg preparations are really tasty.

Room Tip: Always book rooms facing the valley and Kanchenjungha avoid putting yourself up on the highway facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bivash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayant_bh, Manager at The Sikkim Continental, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback, we were delighted you had a pleasant stay with us. We were happy to serve you and look forward to pleasure of your company once again in near future. As being Jain hotel we serve only veg food only. Thank and regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

GANGTOK june 2011 & stay @ sikkim continental after getting good feed back by our agent ...But once we reach the hotel we r very disappointed as rooms r not up to mark .Telephones in rooms r not working ,Every time we have to go to ground floor when we need some services ...staff was extremly rude & non cooperative .Similarly one guy belongs to management Mr.samir also misbehave with our group member .
we r realy unhappy with this hotel .seriously suggested other good hotel near by betterr than this & under lower cost .

Room Tip: just avoide it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kishore009890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayant_bh, Manager at The Sikkim Continental, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Dear Sir,
Warm wishes and thank you for your feedback,Hope you had not comfortable stay with us we're sorry for that we couldn't satisfy you and strongly apologized for that.We have taken you concern with team.Sir, we renovate our hotel and rooms also and you will get vast different. There was a problem on telephone while you were staying with us but i felt very disappoint on that matter because you have to come down again and again for the thing you needed on that matter i really apologized for that. Please visit again and give us a chance to serve you in near future again. Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

its located in the city with a nice view from the room from opp side of the road room
the rooms are nice and clean well sized nice and comfortable stay
all the connectivity place are very close by
not too many facility are available but the room are gud and the location is great
the food are okie

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitkr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayant_bh, Manager at The Sikkim Continental, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Dear Sir,
It is indeed a great pleasure that you loved your stay at our hotel. We were really happy to serve you and look forward to get a chance to serve you in near future again.Thanks and Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
1.5 mi away
Royal Orchid & Spa
Royal Orchid & Spa
#33 of 126 in Gangtok
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonam Palgye
Hotel Sonam Palgye
#41 of 126 in Gangtok
37 reviews
2.9 mi away
Udaan, Woodberry Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gangtok Drift Hotel
Gangtok Drift Hotel
#24 of 126 in Gangtok
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Golden Crest
The Golden Crest
#9 of 126 in Gangtok
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Potala
Hotel Potala
#38 of 203 in Gangtok
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sikkim Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sikkim Continental

Address: Near Tenzing & Tenzing | National Highway 31-A, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 126 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range: $18 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sikkim Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with 24 well furnished rooms with magnificent view of Mt. Kanchendzonga, hot& cold water, color TVs with satellite program, direct dialing, laundry service, in-house generator, all major credit card accepted, car parking, conference hall, pure vegetarian restaurant, travel desk, roof top seating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sikkim Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sikkim Continental Gangtok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing