We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Maplewood Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$180
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Suhim Portico(Gangtok)
$90
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$96
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok(Gangtok)(Great Value!)
$28
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$90
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$98
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sonam Delek(Gangtok)(Great Value!)
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$78
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
48
26
10
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
26
10
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain citytraditional menuindian chinesepeaceful staytashi view pointgreat hospitalityspecial thanksmg margcentral locationhomely foodbooked this hotelpeaceful placeplace to stayfirst floornice experiencetaximountains
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 101 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel is very good... and the staff members are very supportive... thanks to all for making my trip memorable and because of your support most of time we are feeling grateful.
One best thing about this hotel is Food. I like it very much. As a vegetarian this is very difficult to find a good food in hilly area but here we find good food or varieties of food

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaibhavkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Themaplewoodresort1, Owner at The Maplewood Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Glad to know you we the Maplewood Team were able to make your trip a memorable one.
My chef is delighted to know that you enjoyed the food.
Your reviews encourage us to serve you better .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hi everyone,
I m happy to inform everyone that i have stayed in Maple wood resort for 4 days and i will guarantee you that u will not find better stay than maple wood resort in comparison to hotel, its facilities and its staff. Maple wood staff are very helpful and gentle. Food is also very good here. you will find 24hrs hot water. The only drawback is it is far from gangtok market. it is about 5 km from main market of gangtok. But believe me i forgot all that drawbacks in comparison with the room and their staff behavior. I want to inform you guys one more thing that any body going on tour please dont book your trip from Sikkim tourism or any tourism office. They are bloody Thieves, they will promise that they will provide this and that but when it comes to execution they will do nothing. Believe me if will book your trip then you will in hell. its better go to hotel and talk to local drivers they will book you in minimum charges. and Please dont book you tour from sikkim tourism. I have booked it from sikkim tourism and i have regreted it whole my trip so please dont make this mistake.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Ranjeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Themaplewoodresort1, Owner at The Maplewood Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for your taking time to review us.
We are delighted to know that you had comfortable stay with us. Our resort is located 5 kms from the city which is 10 mins drive from Mg Marg. Therefore, we have taxis readily available to facilitate our guests to go to the market. The regular charges would be Rs 150 /- one way during the day and Rs 250/- at night .
We have a travel desk to arrange your local tours anytime.
We hope to have you and your references in our resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed for 4 nights at Maple Wood. The owner and the stuffs were extremely helpful, the room was cheap, clean and nice. Really nicely decorated interior and the view from terrace of the landscape is second to none. Chilling on the terrace led on the comfy beds/loungers after a long day walking around the road itself was perfect. Only for the place, the views and the environment, worth its money. But this is not the only thing valuable at this hotel. The owner, is it's best achievement. Absolutely honest, energetic and cheerful. The hostel itself is awesome! All warm and welcoming staffs Specially Ms Anusha, Bimal Tamang I never felt far from home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skasish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Themaplewoodresort1, Owner at The Maplewood Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking your time to review us on tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay at The Maplewood Resort.
Thank you for your kind words to us. As, much as you had good times here,We too equally enjoyed your company all the 4 days and we really miss you Please do send us the pictures you have taken. The staff are eagerly waiting to see them. And Our real achievement is you, the guest who stay in Maplewood Resort and are happy with the services and value we provide.
Please visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel is very good , Services and food is excellent . The hotel is also very cost effective . But the only problem is that it is almost 6km from the market which made a problem for us. But if you have a private hired car than this hotel is a must stay one . I would rate it as much a 5 star hotel when compared to its cost. Must visit if going to gangtok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnishAgrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Themaplewoodresort1, Owner at The Maplewood Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking your valuable time to review us.We are delighted to know that you like the food and services and have rated us 5 star. It is indeed a great achievement for us.
Also, we know that the resort is 5 kms away from the main city but have started providing complementary drop to the Market once a day for the convenience of our guests. We do not want the distance to be a factor for our guests to stay in our resort.Hope this makes it better.
We look forward to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Well..all i can say about this resort is very " At Home" ..With all warm and welcoming staffs I never felt far from home. Our visit to Sikkim was very unplanned and with very less knowledge of the place i thought we would wander off streets for good place to stay. But for our luck and a little help from a friend of mine we got to know this resort..And then It was all easy as it could be to have a fun time in Sikkim. The service they provide is excellent, Nice clean cozy rooms, comfy beds, grate cuisine especially the Local food they serve are delicious. (From which I learnt to make one, Churpi). I loved the fireplace by the bar.The location is also quite convenient. They even planned all the sightseeing around capital and other parts of the state and all this things in a very reasonable cost for which we added a few more days of stay.
Thumbs Up! from my fren aswell.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genny_bee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Themaplewoodresort1, Owner at The Maplewood Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are overwhelmed to know that you experienced a very homely stay in our resort. We at the Maplewood Resort are focussed at providing personalised services which makes the guest feel comfortable and at home.
Our chef also prepares the local cuisines, like the Nepali bhoj, Momos and Thukpas and soup noodles and radish kimchi which the guest love to try.I think you tried the Churpi ko achar.
Hopefully, you liked it all.
We welcome you back to your second home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews