We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tara Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tara Palace
Ranked #31 of 113 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Purulia, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

we stayed in a superior room for 4 nights and our experience was excellent, the rooms are neat and clean, rooms are big. the food quality is excellent and i can say among the best in gangtok.
even the staff are very friendly and co-operative. location is exact on mg. marg

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanishkjalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraPalaceGangtok, Owner at Tara Palace, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Mr.Jalan,

It is heartening to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Tara Palace. We also thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    37
    21
    6
    11
See reviews for
68
24
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bombay,India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Would recommend staying in Tara palace if ever in Gangtok.. Very close to MG road so one can stroll down whenever to grab a bit or just watch the world go by ?the breakfast is good and had quite a variety. The spread on all 3 morning was different .. Its a great experience to be sitting in the cafe drinking some hot coffee and looking at Kanchenjunga .. The restaurant is apparently well know for its Indian food .
The rooms are spacious and Comfortable with heaters , but it would have been better if there was carpeting on the floor . The hot water comes only till 9 am which we got to know only a day later .. The terrace was under construction ,but where done will offer a fabulous view .

Room Tip: The superior rooms have a view of the mountains. ,while the standard room look into another hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebackpacker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraPalaceGangtok, Owner at Tara Palace, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Madam,

We are pleased to know that you had a great stay at Tara Palace. We also thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are also glad to know that you appreciated our food quality & taste. Thank you once again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
421 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We arrived in the night , check in was efficient and room are very neat and comfortable. Food was good and the people are polite and nice. It is located near mall road a good shopping destination.
Worthy place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yesarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraPalaceGangtok, Owner at Tara Palace, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

Its great to know that you have appreciated our hospitality & services. It is also heartening, since you are an avid traveler & have experienced many hotels. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at Tara palace at the beginning of our 9 day trip to North Sikkim. There were no tripadvisor reviews then as the property was new and my travel facilitator insisted that it is a five star property we should consider. We reached at 8-9pm and no-body even outside the hotel had heard the name of the place- but that could have been because it was too new! We stayed the firs two days and the hotel was dealing with new property hiccups. The rooms were huge and am sure the balconies must have had great views- if only there was no fog! Food was okay but the best thing about the place is the proximity to the mall road(MG marg) which is just an awesome road lined with shops, restaurants and cafes. Its the best mall road in any hill station in India I have seen- and I have seen most of them! If you stay at Tara palace, please keep frequenting the MG Marg- for food, coffee or just a nice stroll!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadicexpedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraPalaceGangtok, Owner at Tara Palace, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate, that you stayed with us in April 2013, when we had just opened. As a new launch we had some teething issues at that time. Never the less we thank you for your sincere feedback & I hope we have been able to iron out all the issues. if you ever revisit Sikkim i would like you to stay with us.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

How can I praise this hotel enough. It really made my holiday a memorable one. We were there in between 19th - 25th December 2013. We took 3 rooms. All the rooms are big, spacious and extremely well planned and decorated. They all had balconies with mind blowing view anyone can ever imagine, the view of the Himalayas. The furniture in the room are immaculate with wonderful internal decoration. The beds are extremely comfortable and we all had very long and good nights sleep, woke up to the wonderful view of Kanchenjunga (only wished the weather to be slightly better). Considering the cold weather in Gangtok in this time of the year the temperature inside the rooms were nice and warm.
The staff working in the hotel were extremely helpful. The hospitality and respect they showed to us was of 5 star standard. The room service facilities was excellent.
The bar is really nice and cozy and we spent quite a lot of time there.
What do I say about the food. The Indian cuisine was the best I ever had. wonderful taste hence not spicy. Undoubtedly the best chef I came across. Mouth watering food.
I would recommend TARA PALACE to anyone and everyone. Best hotel in Gangtok.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but choose the rooms with view of Kanchenjunga
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiranjib G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraPalaceGangtok, Owner at Tara Palace, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Chiranjib,

We thank you for your lovely feedback & are glad that you had a memorable stay at Tara Palace. Our vision is to become the most demanded hotel in Gangtok & we are happy that we have been able to create delight for you. vacations are memorable times & our team fully understands the need to make each guest happy. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

first of all let me start with the person who let this lovely experience be comfortable and fabulous ..His name is " Partha" and he is from the management team.. his mobile number is 08017716055... Is comforting assurances were enough comforting in an unknown different language place for us.. He is very friendly and so any one can contact him..he is the perfect solution.
Now for the hotel...very friendly front office or restaurant or house keeping staff.. the hotel is neat and tidy.. any day worth a stay..The food too is excellent and mouth watering...
the view from the restaurant or the room is so lovely..that any one would just admire it for hours
The hotel is near to M.G. Marg which is a nice place to go to.. for shopping or just to sip a leisure drink..
I would highly recommend Tara Palace to stay in..if you are in Gangtok ..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanviKapai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraPalaceGangtok, Owner at Tara Palace, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Ms.Janvi,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We have delighted that you had a memorable stay at Tara Palace.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel boasts some of the best views of the valley and himalayas. Located less than 5 minutes away from Gangtoks city centre walking distance from restaurants and shopping. By far the nicest places to stay at in Gangtok.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rushd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraPalaceGangtok, Owner at Tara Palace, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that we could make your stay at Tara Palace memorable. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#3 of 113 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Keepsa Residency
The Keepsa Residency
#32 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
1.3 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#23 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Palace

Property: Tara Palace
Address: Nam Nang Road | Near Big Bazaar, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tara Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in April 2013, Tara Palace Hotel unleashes an ultra-modern hotel experience in Gangtok. Newly built and located next to top tourist, entertainment and business attractions, Tara Palace, Gangtok offers modern amenities and convenient services with a fashionable twist. Located one block from M.G.Marg, this hotel is walking distance to all this wonder city has to offer. Whether traveling for pleasure or business, everyone can have fun while staying with us. Gangtok's newest luxury hotel incorporates design elements of Himalayan-Buddhist architecture. The hotel boasts 37 extravagant rooms and suites, exquisite dining at Restaurant & Lounge and innovative meeting space for productive corporate functions and chic special events. The rooms are spacious and distinctively modern in style and arrangement. All our Superior, Studio & Suite rooms offer breathtaking views of Mount Kanchenjunga (Kanchendzonga) and the surrounding valley. The Deluxe rooms do not offer valley view. All the rooms are fitted out luxuriously. We also offer ample options for dining & entertainment with a Sports Bar 'Homeground' & Discotheque PLUR in our building complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tara Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Palace Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing