We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royals...”
Review of Tara Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tara Palace
Ranked #40 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was there with my friends. We did have our advance booking. Reception was excellent. Rooms and room service was above expectations. We really didn't expected AC in every rooms and that too in Gangtok. Location wise it is absolutely perfect, just a few minutes walk from M G Marg. I personally liked the bar and the restaurant, has got a perfect ambiance. The staff took care of us individually, as if we were Royals.
In addition to that there is free wifi connectivity.
I strongly recommend to stay at least one night over there, I am sure you will like it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Writ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Tara Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 142 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Excellent location-5 mins walk from M.G Marg. They have a warm and courteous staff offering a very good service. Perfect stay for family. It has a lovely bar with good ambience. The restaurant, bar , coffee shop and some of the rooms have an amazing view. Tasty food and a good buffet spread for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anant1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

One of the best hotels in Gangtok. Staff was super nice and the restaurant food was great. Rooms are pretty clean and new. The location is right next to the main market. Bartender know almost every single drink in world. We forgot our bag in one of the taxi's while touring. But they did lot of efforts and finally found it. Other plus point is they have free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Svdoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

hi;
i stayed for 3 night from 8th june to 11 th june-2013..i dont know why people are complaining about this hotel. before reaching there even i was in doubt about this hotel & their services..but i think people should visit with an open mind.TARA PALACE people always serve us with smile whenever we require. mr Partha Kundu is really helpful & well managed professional.other staffs,specially the manager is very helpful.room are spacious,clean with lovely view.toilets are as per with room size .i think its a value for money hotel as of now..most important its just 5 mns from MG MARG-the most happening place of GANGTOK

.i agree some teething problem are there as they are a new setup..but the hotel location,amenities,service,behavior of staff,food quality,service are excellent.
scope is there to upgrade food test for buffet breakfast/dinner & fast service..best of luck..i strongly recommend people to stay in this hotel,who are looking for value for money services

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mayukh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3days and the worst experience of my
1. No doubt the room was spacious but it was all occupied with smell of polish
2. The flooring was about to come out when we were told that it's a new hotel
3. When I asked for room spray empty bottle was send and the person was spraying as if it's nt empty on checking when we asked for another room spray Colin was send ....imagine a hotel does not know the difference between Colin and room spray and finally I was told mam sorry room spray nahi hai ... On fighting with them from the drawer the hotel staff was able to manage for a room spray
4.While checkin I was told that though on papers breakfast complimentary but if we want we can chose to have lunch instead of breakfast we specifically confirmed the same but lunch timings it was denied
5. Imagine a hotel operations manager on listening to ur concerns tell u that mam I was nt on shift I am nt responsible
6. Worst thing u can imagine. We in th night told them that because of room odour we will like to check other rooons. We were told that in the afternoon next day the manager will show us a different room and if we like we can shift we were okay... Imagine u go fr breakfast come back without ur permission hotel staff touches ur personal things and shift the luggage to a different room ...I believe a hotel should have cortesy to check with me whether I liked the room or not as promised plus none of the hotel people have the right to touch my luggage shift in a different room without asking me when in advance I paid fr the booking
5. There was only one gus thing about the hotel mr. Fernandez the manager Beacuse he was a sweet chap however because I did not get basic necrosis ties so would like to rate it -1

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soamya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three days. This is a good new hotel but is still not complete and that's why there are some problems in rooms. Although rooms are spacious and clean but has smell of paints and polish. we booked four rooms and initially one room given to us was not good and that room was changed next day. Hotel has both valley view and street view rooms which can be slected at the time of booking. We had three street facing rooms and one valley view room, but all rooms were good. Some of the finishing work in rooms is still pending. Staff is very courteous and room service is very prompt. We liked the restaurant and food here with delecious dishes. Service in restaurant is excellent with attention to every customer and staff attends each customer on table. Preferably book the hotel with breakfast and dinner to enjoy the complete food. Location of the hotel is excellent with all the important areas and MG road nearby. If finishing work is completed and small problems in rooms are taken care, this is a very good hotel to stay in Gangtok.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VKSaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked two rooms in the hotel in March 2013 for a 3 day stay commencing from 7th June 2013. I booked the rooms over email and telephonic talks with Mr Partho who assured us of the best rooms with valley view. After booking with 50% advance, we came across the mixed review of the Hotel here on this site. We didn't take it too seriously as the photographs of the Hotel on its site looked real luxury. BUT we got a rude shock on reaching the Hotel. We got street facing rooms. Smelly and soiled bathrooms greeted us after a tiring 5 hour journey from Darjeeling. The wooden flooring was all coming off, AC was leaking, bathroom was leaking, lift was non-functional, stairs were slippery with water leaking from above. The lobby had its roof leaking with water. After much requests and arguments and complaints, we got to change our rooms BUT STILL STREET FACING AS AGAINST THE PROMISED VALLEY FACING ROOMS. The bathrooms were clean but the wooden floor was coming off in these rooms as well. AC was poorly functional. Food - EXORBITANTLY priced. Nowhere in India I have come across any hotel - even star properties like Taj and all....where a single tawa roti costs 40 bucks. We were too shocked to see our food bill where 600 bucks was charged for 15 plain tawa roti !!!!!! While the rest of the dishes were decently priced. (on a higher side though with small serving portions) The staff were very co-operating in terms of services and all but looked like they had a shortage of experienced hands to manage the property. We've toured many destinations and stayed in all types of hotels, but never came across a hotel which boasts of 24 hr hot & cold running water and in actual offers hot water ONLY from 6-9 in the morning and 6-9 in the evening. Laundry sheet mentions normal delivery as clothes given before 10 am to be delivered same day by 7 pm and in actual, this is express delivery with 50% extra charge. Normal delivery (that too at exorbitant pricing) is next day in the evening as against promise of delivery the next morning by 10 am and that too after 5-6 calls to reception...!!!!

Overall, a very bad experience. I don't have any idea what kind of rooms they offer which are valley facing. A very good property and a very good location but very very poorly managed and very high priced in all aspect. The only plus point was food was very good (but very high priced) and the staff were very courteous and helpful. Otherwise, thumbs down. I would NEVER recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Can not give ANY tips on this Hotel as we were denied the promised rooms and flatly refused for an u...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajaysri_2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraPalaceGangtok, Owner at Tara Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Mr.Srivastava,

We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Tara Palace. At the onset, i apologise for the inconveniences faced during your stay. As per the booking records, you had made an enquiry from our website regarding the room choice & dates of travel. The offer was made on the same basis for the Deluxe Rooms. Our sincere apologies if there has been any miscommunication on the same.

We also offered you our MAP plan which included Dinner & is offered at a marginal extra on the room cost. The extra cost of the Dinner along with room rate is given at a huge discount by us only for guests staying with us.

We have also taken due note of your comments regarding the other areas and will surely attend to them. We once again thank you for your feedback, which will enable us to improve. We are determined & sincere in our vision to be the best hotel in Gangtok & look at your feedback as our stepping stones to our goal.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.8 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
0.3 mi away
Yangthang Heritage
Yangthang Heritage
#32 of 118 in Gangtok
96 reviews
1.2 mi away
WelcomHeritage Denzong Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 118 in Gangtok
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
#6 of 118 in Gangtok
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Palace

Address: Nam Nang Road | Near Big Bazaar, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range: $54 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tara Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in April 2013, Tara Palace Hotel unleashes an ultra-modern hotel experience in Gangtok. Newly built and located next to top tourist, entertainment and business attractions, Tara Palace, Gangtok offers modern amenities and convenient services with a fashionable twist. Located one block from M.G.Marg, this hotel is walking distance to all this wonder city has to offer. Whether traveling for pleasure or business, everyone can have fun while staying with us. Gangtok's newest luxury hotel incorporates design elements of Himalayan-Buddhist architecture. The hotel boasts 37 extravagant rooms and suites, exquisite dining at Restaurant & Lounge and innovative meeting space for productive corporate functions and chic special events. The rooms are spacious and distinctively modern in style and arrangement. All our Superior, Studio & Suite rooms offer breathtaking views of Mount Kanchenjunga (Kanchendzonga) and the surrounding valley. The Deluxe rooms do not offer valley view. All the rooms are fitted out luxuriously. We also offer ample options for dining & entertainment with a Sports Bar 'Homeground' & Discotheque PLUR in our building complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tara Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Palace Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing