We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience..!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greendale Residence
Ranked #14 of 208 Gangtok B&B and Inns
Mumbai
1 review
“great experience..!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

was there for a couple of nights at greendale...n i have only positives to say...big spacious rooms(mostly with great views)..excellent n not very costly veg food...n great service. .wd specially recommend for families. .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Sumit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale_Residence, Owner at Greendale Residence, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Positive reviews makes us more positive as it pushes us to keep up the standards intact.
That doesn't mean we don't appreciate negative ones, these keeps us on our toes.
We promise to keep our efforts for the best possible within our reach for a memorable stay in our small and passionately run property.
Thank you for your precious time making us feel great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    96
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
124
57
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siliguri, West Bengal, India
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our stay at greendale residency was very comfortable..The rooms are spacious and well maintained. The staff members are very very helpful and friendly. The view from terrace and rooms is breathtaking. It is also at walking distance from M.G Road. Also, a big thanks to Mr. Bhutia who was so very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RishavA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale_Residence, Owner at Greendale Residence, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Sir,
Thank you for your great review - encourages us to do even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siliguri, India
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

pros
1. good ambience
2. nice and friendly staff.
3. good food(quantity of food was less than expected).
4. clean rooms..well planned..bathrooms are well equipped.
5. spacious rooms with all essential furnitures and a good view of the hills..
6. centrally located ..walkable distance to all the main streets...

cons
1.no fans/ ac...... fan atleast is an essential in the rooms..particularly summer months of march - sep..

2. food to the costlier side and the quantity is very less...

sum it .....a great place to stay..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale_Residence, Owner at Greendale Residence, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your good review about our hotel.
Regarding your observations, please read the lines below:

This is the first time that Gangtok was so hot. For the comfort of our guests we have already installed fans in most of our rooms.

Regarding pricing of food and quantity, I will simply comment here that the pricing is definitely not at all expensive compared the our grade of hotels in Gangtok and similarly we are serving the standard quantity, but will see if anything can be done about this in future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Located in the hills, yet close to all the major attractions in the city, including MG Marg & shopping. On a sunny day, you can get some breathtaking views of "Kunchenjunga" , 2nd highest mountain in the World.
Rooms are spacious & comfortable. If you are a vegetarian, you will definitely like the food cooked in-house. Service staff are polite & friendly.
Good value for money..!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room on 1st floor facing the the "Kunchenjunga" mountain range...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHYLE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale_Residence, Owner at Greendale Residence, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hi,

I thank you from the core of my heart, your review naturally has a lot of weight as I can see you are a senior contributor to tripadvisor. Looks like you travel a lot.

I wish every satisfied traveller spend some time to share their views, as a lot of our guests don't write at all.

Thank you once again for sparing your valuable time.:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed there along with my wife for 3 nights and found the hotel very comfortable. The rooms are spacious, hospitality is good. Pure vegetarian food and nice preparation. View of the Himalayas is majestc. Its around 1 km from MG Road, the main market of Gangtok. I did not use the travel desk of the hotel so i could not comment on it but otherwise the Hotel is worth staying. Would prefer to stay there again on my next visit. Last but not least i booked this hotel on the basis of reviews on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: Rooms on top are best as you can go to rooftop just by walking few steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vvsoftin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale_Residence, Owner at Greendale Residence, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Sir,
Appreciate your efforts for sparing time writing review and that too a good one.
Just an observation, we are located not more than 600-700 meters away from M G Marg and do have both advantages and disadvantages.
I am really happy you have rated us excellent otherwise.
Thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed with my family in this hotel in the end of may 2013.the hotel staff is very good ,cooperative and always ready to help u.We had a superdeluxe room on the first floor(hotel has no lifts) and the view from the room was breathtaking.Food was good and the service is comparable to the best in the industry.Rooms were very spacious,clean and the bathroom was also very clean.Overall experience was very good and definately worth every penny

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritz677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale_Residence, Owner at Greendale Residence, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you Sir,
for writing such a nice review.
I wish you had given 5 out of 5 to all parameters, but then this is how we will always be on our toes.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Mr M.Agarwal is a passionate,dedicated hotelier and this shows evidently in Greendale residence.It is ideally located on NH31A and is only 5min walk to the famous central attractions of Gangtok, the M G Road,Lall market and the Denzong Cinema.The Rooms are spacious,clean and well kept.Do ask for the Mountian view rooms which present a spectacular view of the mountains.The corner rooms(Super Deluxe) is where I stayed and was huge with great view from two side.The Staff was extremely helpful and friendly which is a plus point in the Hospitality industry.They even took the pain to prepare breakfast and pack it nicely for our early morning departure.the Food is totally vegetarian and the menu choice is just great.The food does take time because everything is prepared fresh (not like some restaurants where the gravy is pre cooked).Taste of the food is also great.Holiday Milestone the tour organisers are also part of this hotel.Do not miss the roof top view.The only thing I would like would be a small fan in the rooms.Overall, i wud highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The Mountain facing rooms are great and ones on the higher floors are even better if you do not mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planetvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale_Residence, Owner at Greendale Residence, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi,
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
I have shared this with almost every staff of my hotel already.
The credit goes to all my staff who has made me feel proud because of their hard work.
Having passion & dedication only does not work if your staff fail to support.
Infact, in response to your excellent review, I take this opportunity to thank my great team.
Just praying that we keep getting such support from the almighty too.
A big thank you to you and my great team.:) I am proud of you all. Keep up the good work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.0 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
0.0 mi away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.0 mi away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#22 of 118 in Gangtok
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Bamboo Grove Retreat
#10 of 118 in Gangtok
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Hill Resort Gangtok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greendale Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greendale Residence

Property: Greendale Residence
Address: National Highway, Near Seesha Golai | Tenzing & Tenzing, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Greendale Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greendale Residence is a new deluxe hotel with 21 excellent rooms, (9 Super Deluxe & 12 Deluxe rooms). The property was inaugurated on 17th October 2012. Situated less than a kilometer away from M.G Marg of Gangtok - the most convenient and popular shopping and business hub. The hotel rooms are tastefully decorated, with all modern amenities. Each room is designed to meet the basic comfort & necessity of the guest. An in-house pure vegetarian restaurant 'Hara Bhara', with facility for Jain food on demand serves delicious Indian, Chinese and Continental food. Along with vegetarian food hotel does have an in-house bar 'Taatopaani' offering most of the usual beverages and our signature cocktails. For the convenience of the groups preferring non-vegetarian food, arrangements can be done with hotels opposite ours and nearby (few steps away). NON VEG. FOOD IS STRICTLY NOT ALLOWED INSIDE THE HOTEL AND THE MANAGEMENT IS VERY STRICT ABOUT THIS. A separate kitchen and a separate dining hall for around 50-60 pax is available for groups with their own cooking team, only pure veg cooking is allowed though. 'Aasmaa' a roof top sit out is an additional feature of this property offering 180 degree view of Mt. Khangchenzonga range and green valleys. The property is being managed by experienced professionals of the hospitality industry in the region. In case if you are not in an organized package tour of a travel agent and need last minute transport assistance, you may contact Mr. Suren Gurung for all your transport requirement. He is a reliable operator in the region. However, please note, your arrangements with him will be independent without Greendale's involvement. 'Laddoo Gopal' - Sweets, Snacks & Fast Food parlour (our sister concern) is ideally located for the convenience of the tourists travelling to & fro NJP or Bagdogra or Siliguri. Do visit for delicious food and high quality sweets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Greendale Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greendale Residence Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing