We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good One”
Review of Enchey Monastery

Enchey Monastery
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good One”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a good place to click some photographs.There is nothing to see in this monastery. Few priest living in this place & it looks nice. You can click few of the photos & come back. It is a beautiful monastery & not very far from Gangtok city.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nirvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    97
    43
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Looks nice. That's all.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

There's a lot of stuff behind glass panes.

Also, you need to pay to observe what I just said.

You get a postcard with the photo of the monastery. Such a nice touch ..not.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aroralihka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“HILLTOP MONASTERY”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

You could either go by taxi which will take 15 mins from Gangtok or take a leisurely walk up & admire the scenic beauty of Gangtok & feel the cool mountain air for 40-45 minutes. Enchey is one of the oldest monasteries in Gangtok & perched above the Chief minister's residence. It has a unique architecture, artifacts & beautiful surroundings from where one can admire the Gangtok town slooping downwards.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank udaim2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
3,608 reviews
2,045 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,580 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility in Sikkim”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A bit of a trek to get here, but worth the effort to see the old Buddhist monastery. Views over Gangtok on the way are impressive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modasa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nothing new in North east but if you love travel: go for it.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have visited it during the mid may. I co incidentally ended as driver forgot that we have not included in our itinerary. Its very old monastery as built in 1909. Most of the people goes to Rumtek which is larger and huge. But I had good time here with little monks and we reached there at prayer time so again Its my fav part to see all monks engaged in prayers specially little ones.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harshshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enchey Monastery also viewed

Gangtok, East Sikkim
Gangtok, East Sikkim
 
Gangtok, East Sikkim
Gangtok, East Sikkim
 

Been to Enchey Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing