We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to rest in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After a long and tiring jeep trip from Shiliguri to Darjeeling to Gangtok we found a nice clean peaceful oldstylish but well repaired good hotell. Nice and stylish. Good vue over the city and valley, from the pleasent little garden. Very nice and helpful staaf. And just 10min walk to the market place. And the food, more than ok for an non-indian. But you can probably look fore some more exciting reastaurants in the city. As my summery - if you have traveled so far, stay for some days in this oasis!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazze51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 387 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent a night here on way to North Sikkim, the place is very tastefully done and the experience right from welcome drink to the time we left next morning was classy.
Small open garden facing the stadium was good for a nice stroll after dinner or breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vkbrpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We reached the hotel at around 7.30 pm all tired due to our long journey from Bagdogra to Gangtok. We were welcomed by the staff in a traditional manner and were provided with a shot of brandy to keep ourselves warm. The hotel rooms are clean and tidy. Location could not have been any better. Just 10 mins walk from the market area yet very peaceful. Food served was very good. All in all a great place to stay at Gangtok.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeyurAjmera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the NorKhill for two nights. I was happy to see that it was well maintained. It has an old-style Raj feel. Rooms were comfortable (actually my wife thought the beds too hard) with updated plumbing. There is no AC but there is an overhead fan. This wasn't a problem as it is much cooler here than in most of India. They had WIFI in the lobby but it was sometimes fast and often slow; best times are in the morning and later evening.

The restaurant was a surprise. We had full board which had a fixed dinner menu. We had two multi-course dinners, one Indian and one with Sikkim specialties. The food was excellent. They took a lot of care in preparing and presenting the food. As there were only two or three parties staying at the hotel, everything as made and served by the numerous staff.

My one complaint was that we were woken up at 6:30 on the second day by a loud exercise class that was being given at the stadium right below the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpal32489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

It is a good hotel to stay. The food was good and the staff was nice and polite.The chef would take keen interest to ensure we like the food prepared.

Only some rooms in the hotel have a mountain side facing view and one needs to be careful when getting the booking done. Two days is good enough here. If you negotiale well you will get a good deal.Though expensive but an ideal place for family

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DilipBhargav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lovely clean room with traditional Sikkim style furnishings. Picturesque sitting room and dining hall. View is over colorful stadium but this does not detract from view of hills across way. Can walk to center of town. Ample breakfast and dinner in charming dining hall with nice variety of well cooked dishes.

Only downsides are musty smell in room, although this may be norm for Gangtok, and slightly stained linens.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkofBurbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Elgin norkhill is a very classy heritage property with royal touch. Rooms are very nice spacious and decor is very well conceived. Food is great. Best part is the location, just 5 mins drive from M G road. Loved the Evening drinks/ dinner at the lawn which offers splendid view of mountains, and clouds. Service is also very good, with courteaus staff. Bar is well stocked view from some rooms are not very great but this should not be of much concern given that most part of day one is out. Although we got rooms in 3rd floor which has good view. Overall a perfect place to holiday.

Room Tip: Wrooms in 3rd floor of new bldg
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjeevsaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gangtok
0.1 mi away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
WelcomHeritage Denzong Regency
0.5 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#22 of 118 in Gangtok
301 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok

Address: Paljore Stadium Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
#1 Spa Hotel in Gangtok
#1 Business Hotel in Gangtok
#5 Family Hotel in Gangtok
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range: $180 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Nor-Khill ("the house of jewels")is known for its tradition and ethnic Sikkimese ambiance. It is now a luxury heritage property. The Kanchan garden affords a rich view of the hills with the Mount Kanchenjungha in the background, which inspired the Chogyal (King) of Sikkim to paint for hours. The Elgin Nor-Khill was built by the King of Sikkim in 1932 and is the oldest heritage property in Gangtok, the property has played host to numerous celebrity guests such as his holiness The Dalai Lama, Hollywood stars Sir Richard Gere, Michael Douglas and Shirley Maclaine, the US Ambassador to India His Excellency John Galbraith and many more. The lobby is resplendent in the bright folk Sikkimese art with design motifs depicting dragons and flame symbols to thankas and ornate Sikkimese furniture (bachu, chocsue) and traditional jewelry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Nor-Khill Gangtok Hotel Gangtok
Nor Khill Gangtok
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing