We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but beautiful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gangtok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Nettle and Fern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 220 Gangtok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Its a small boutique hotel quite close to MG Road. You can get the shared taxi easily as soon as you come out of the hotel. Rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. We booked super deluxe with Valley view which was big enough for a family of 3. Room heaters were provided since we went in Dec end. Hot water was availiable 24 * 7 as they provide individual geyser. Service is good. Food is good. Its not a luxury hotel but provides you with all basic amenities. Overall we enjoyed our stay. Only problem is bathroom is bit small but I think that can be ignored.

Room Tip: Super deluxe with valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monal_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 436 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

I found it very neat and clean. Good hospitality. hotel provided room heater as it was very cold day. Staff was very friendly. breakfast was very good but you have to ask it only after 8.30. Recommended

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Vijay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

As clear trip shown the ratings of 3 star but it was general hotel. Rooms are very small and not up to the mark. Toilets are too small and quality of breakfast was very general. Overall services are not pleasing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Ashraf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naresh S, Owner at The Nettle and Fern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Sir,

Sorry that you had to rate us as terrible !

We have clearly mentioned in our website and facebook page that we are a small budget boutique hotel with 2 star facilities and we have never ever claimed to be a 3 star hotel as seen by you on Cleartrip from where you booked online. We were not aware of it and we have written to cleartrip to correct the mistake and they have done the needful and apologized to us.

I have also called you personally and you have apologized. Strangely, you informed us that the terrible review was actually meant for for cleartrip.com and not the hotel concerned!!!

3 star hotels in Gangtok are much more expensive than budget boutique hotels with 2 star facilities like ours and they cost anywhere stating from Rs 4000 onwards in this part of the world. You had booked the basic deluxe room on discount at Rs 2000 (CP).

I hope you will appreciate the fact that on your request we upgraded you the Valley View Super Deluxe Suite Room which costs Rs 3800 plus tax without charging any extra money and totally free of cost.

We are hurt with your ratings as its the first time someone has rated us as terrible which we believe we are not!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the month of December 2013. Excellent property to stay. To add to it it has got an awesome team of staff. Hats off to them, they will make you feel absolutely comfortable, even the trip which they planned and organized was a delight. The distance from hotel to MG Road is approx 10 mins by walking. But taxi stand is just opposite to the hotel. We would surely like to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Prateek_ava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was my first experience in staying in the hotel, and from the beginning, when I searched for places to stay in Gangtok on Trip Advisor, to the last day, when I left the hotel, I received only warmth from the hotel staff. The Owner is very pro active, and immediately wrote to me, confirming my booking, without any mandatory advance. Perfect gentleman! The staff was also very helpful.
We had stayed on the top floor, where you get a lovely view of the mountains from the balcony. The food was also very good, and the staff, climbingup those stairs, were sprightly and ever smiling. recommend this hotel, whole heartedly. The rooms, bathrooms, all were pristine clean.

Room Tip: Choose the top storied rooms. You get an excellent view of the mountains, on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbsgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from Oct 24 , 2013 to Oct 29 2013.. It is a good hotel situated near to m G road (walk-able). Rooms are neat and clean ..Mountain view rooms are preferable .. food is good though service was little slow.. Hotel has a bar too with good ambiance. Staff is quite helpful specially Avinash. You just go there and then he can plan out full trip in good and efficient way.
Overall very good hotel to stay

Room Tip: mountain view rooms are good. rooms on third floor starting 302..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aashu_Mitttal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed in Nettle and Fern Hotel with my wife for three days from 24th November to 26th November. Hotel staffs were highly efficient and accommodative. The hotel's restro-bar is of high class. The ambience is very moody and contemporary. Quality of food is great. The rooms were quite spacious and adequately furnished.

Special thanks to Naresh, Avinash and his crew for taking special care to make sure our honeymoon was safe and comfortable.

Room Tip: Always opt for room with the view of Kanchenjunga. Preferably 3rd or 4th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adi2d2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.2 mi away
Sterling Gangtok
Sterling Gangtok
#10 of 127 in Gangtok
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#15 of 127 in Gangtok
340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Udaan, Woodberry Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Summit Namnang Courtyard & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Sikkim Retreat
The Sikkim Retreat
#34 of 127 in Gangtok
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nettle and Fern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nettle and Fern Hotel

Address: Before Sangram Bhawan, Jiwan Theeng Marg | Development Area, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Gangtok
Price Range: $25 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Nettle and Fern Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nettle & Fern Hotel is situated in the heart of Gangtok within a kilometer from the central M.G Road. It has 17 modern cozy rooms and the view rooms offer spectacular views of Gangtok, Rumtek Hill and the mountain peaks. It has an in-house restaurant and bar offering modern international, Indian and local cuisine. The Hotel is conveniently located, with a modern convenience/souvenir store and an ATM (State Bank of India) housed in the same building. The area taxi stop/stand is located just a stone's throw away from the Hotel. Walking to the center of the town takes about 10 minutes. We believe in offering good value for money, budget accommodation with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Nettle And Fern Hotel Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing