We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nathula Pass

Nathula Pass
Ranked #1 of 58 things to do in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must see Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice place to visit. There we will see Our Brave Men Guarding the Posts with great vigour and courage.The road to reach is bad but provides lot of Scenic beauty to enjoy

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rahul86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    881
    243
    45
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cochin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must vist place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Nathula Pass is location 55Kms from Gangtok. It is a must vist place for every Indians. There we will see Our Brave Men Guarding the Posts with great vigour and courage. We visited during the 1st week of Sep. The road to reach is bad but provides lot of Scenic beauty to enjoy.. We have our Army engineers busy construction roads.

We should see how fast the Army constructs roads. The roads in Sikkim maintained by Border Roads Organisation. Even during heavy showers/snowfall they are vigil.
One must the hardship and the difficulty with which they protect our Borders.
Our Indian people should go and see it especially like Tatas and Ambanis who are nation builders ie corporate India.

Hence I recommend this place as must visit place along with Guru Harbajan Singh Temple.

Jai Jawan Jai Kisan


Please note since the roads are note well developed there are chances of landslides. hence travellers are advised to be cautious when travelling to Sikkim. Please note people having breathing troubles will have difficulty to travel as the oxygen is low and the temperature can go upto <9degree.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank keepsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing. Out of the world !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Atop 14k feet, you might well feel you have conquered the world. Freezing cold, guarded by Indian Army, the view of the landscape from the top will take your breath away. My friend had visited Alps, Europe, but he admitted this place is better than it. Take woolen clothes in excess, avoid rainy season and peak winter season as the roads leading to Nathu-La might be blocked by snow. Dont miss the Cafe 14000. Cabs to Nath-La need to be booked via booking office at M.G Road, Gangtok. They do not allow private cars, other cabs to Tsongmo Lake - Nathu-La. Carry your PAN cards, DL for ID/Residence proof.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Souvik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“I didnt see the Nathula at its best....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hi, just came back from Nathula a week back. we were off season visitors. I seriously recommend travellers not to visit it from jun to mid oct.

It was chilly at 14000 ft with mild rain and winds, it was difficult to bear it even for 20 minutes. So wear woolen jackets.

Even without snow, the way to nathula was beautiful (whenever it was not obscured by fog). Beautiful Tsogmo lake is on way, but its real beauty lies when its covered with snow covered mountains, otherwise its a normal clear lake.

A Scorpio hire will take you 3000 in off season and upto 4000 otherwise.
You need to carry Id& address proof and photographs to get necessary permits.

Try starting early as 7-8 am and you will be back only by

Ok here's the brownie of this review that on the way back from Nathula, just 100 metres from the main gate, there's a non CSD canteen, open to civilians, where you can get really cheap Chinese and good stuff.

We bought jackets (ladies and Kids, north face) for Rs 300, whose exact replica at MG Road, Gangtok was close to Rs 2000. Men's Summit series were available in Rs 1500, which were around 8000 in Gangtok market. There were other chinese stuff, gift items, souvenirs, which were quite half priced or lesser. we shopped for around 10K there and were really satisfied. MUST SHOP THERE.


Regards
Bharat

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Bharat_Aquarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nathula pass - a must see in Sikkim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

After a tedious jeep ride it was worth viewing. This is a must see for any visitor to Sikkim. Awsome view, Though very cold.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BikashCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nathula Pass also viewed

 

Been to Nathula Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing