We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #19 of 126 Hotels in Gangtok
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We stay from 21st may to today checking out, I thought it would be great for every one to get our feed back
The hotel is at remarkable location just 2 to 3 min to M G MARG.
The staff were helful and joyful persons trying to help every moment. Our special tkanks to AMARNATH , DEPASH AND MARK Who made our stay memorabke which we cannot forget.
Thanks everyone and goodbye see u all soon

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank PANKAJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2015

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your review on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to be at your service and thank you once again for your support. What can be better when our guest promises to be back in future. We are waiting for that opportunity to knock and extend our services to you again.

Looking forward to hear from you soon.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 536 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

Amazing experience at Summit Ttakshang - we loved the stay there, d location was great, but d people made all d difference.

While the Summit staff, especially Vivek, were very very accommodative of the numerous changes we made to our itinerary, the Ttakshang staff will always remain in our hearts. Very warm, resourceful, smiling, extremely hospitable were Sudan, Chum Sang, Amar, Vignan n everybody there.

We enjoyed the spa as well.

What worked best is the proximity to d most important MG marg n Lal bazaar.

For my wife n I, after travelling a bit, found Ttakshang to have one of the warmest n best in class hospitality, which we feel is most important while on vacation.

We highly recommend Ttakshang to all tourists visiting gangtok.

Thanks guys,

Divya n Santosh

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sango_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2015

Dear Guest,

Namaste!


Thank you for choosing Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your lovely review on this forum.

We are truly satisfied that the overall stay with us was marked with Exceptional Value. Exceptional Services. Your are indeed so true the location of our hotel is very convenient.

I have taken a pride to share your review with the entire team and everyone thanked you for highlighting their names.

We would love to be at your service and look forward to your stay.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We reached late at the Hotel and got the room without the view but with the cooperation of manager Amar Nath we got room upgrade to suite at very nominal rate.. The view form the suite was just perfect for our anniversary celebration. The staff was courteous and food tasty.
The hotel location adds to its advantage with stairs directly opening near MG Road.

Overall we stayed for 3 nights and it was memorable stay with the beautiful mountain view from room. This Hotel is highly recommended.
One suggestion to Hotel is to provide some more options in buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with the Hill view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshutoshJalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2015

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for your review and for your stay.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in the suite room and loved the view from there. Mr Amar is really delighted to receive your acknowledgement and thanked you whole-heatedly.

Thank you for your recommendation and we love to be at your service for another time. Looking forward to your stay.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I had booked rooms in this hotel through an online travel portal (makemytrip). When I called up the hotel in the evening of the check in day to be guided about its address, I was informed that I was upgraded to another hotel (Casa Bella) since the Summit hotel was facing water shortage. The hotel didn't think it was their responsibility to inform us about the change in accommodation. I also wondered how was the hotel catering to rest of its house full of guest in midst of this water shortage.

Upon visiting Casa Bella, we found it to be much below the standards of Hotel Summit. Casa Bella's room are much smaller. I found insects crawling on the room floor. The window pane in bathroom was missing. It was replaced by newspaper. A quick search on Internet informed us that it was not the first instance when a guest with a booked room in Summit Hotel was shifted to a below par property. (http://www.tripadvisor.in/ShowUserReviews-g659796-d2157562-r188988844-Hotel_Bella_Casa-Gangtok_Sikkim.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT)

Incidentally, Summit have three properties in Gangtok. However, the management expressed their inability to have us accommodated in rest two properties on the day.

We had a very lengthy discussion with Summit's management. Now, we were informed that our room was ready but due to some miscommunication we were erroneously told by the hotel executive that we have been upgraded to another hotel due to water shortage.

We refused to be accommodated anywhere else other than a Summit property and asked Summit management to find a solution. Finally, the hotel agreed to accommodate us in the room we had booked.

One would hope this would be the end of the ordeal. But more was to follow. The room service was absolutely pathetic. The hotel staff cannot remember order for two people. They find it difficult to repeat the order given over telephone and take there own sweet time to deliver what you have ordered which of course will not be exactly what you have ordered. Sometime you may get a call that your order is on the way to your room which may keep you perplexed as you have ordered nothing.

Saving grace was that the rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piesumt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2015

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

It is really disappointing to note that we could not meet your expectations during your recent stay and we apologies for the lapse. We have taken a note of the areas of concerns as highlighted in your feedback and assure to take prompt measures and improvise on all our services.

I want to personally assure you that your feedback would go a long way in improving our services.

The entire team at The Summit joins me in requesting you to experience our hotel just one more time and allow us to exhibit how feedback from valued guests like you help us improve our services and eventually guest experience.

Looking forward to your visit.

Best Regards,
Guest Relation Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Its an average budget hotel. Even if your booking a deluxe room, there's nothing deluxe in it. The floor is tiled, ceiling is falling down. Its more of a lodge. The buffet breakfast does not have much variety and has more of boring food. Had planned a candler light dinner for my wife but was disappointed. The food was cold, cake ordered looked like 2 days old and even the servie was not good. Better not book it if your going with your wife. Even the rooms location was not appropriate, could easily hear whats happening in the other room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piyush_7991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2015

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for staying in Summit Hotels and Resorts and writing a review on us in this forum.

Every feedback of our esteemed guest is valuable and we have taken each and every comments positively. But this is not what Summit symbolize for. You would be really happy to know the outcomes of your feedback and if you visit us again in the near future you will certainly feel the change.

Can i ask for an opportunity to welcome you again for creating a memorable stay with us? I assure you will have quality time with your loved ones.

Please feel free to drop your queries in the following mail ID:

deepshikha@summithotels.in

Looking forward to hear from you soon.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

It seems its the budget hotel of Summit group. Its a 2.5 star hotel.

Pros:
1. Located very close to MG Road
2. Very value for money if you are just looking for a place to sleep at night after full day sight seeings.
3. Friendly and helpful staff.
4. Comfortable, clean room and bathroom.
5. Good view from the room.

Cons:
1. Room sizes are small.

We had booked 4 rooms for 2 nights and 1 night separately with 1 night in between planned for stay in Lachung. Due to inclement weather, we cancelled our trip to Lachung and requested reception staff for extension of our stay so as to make it a continuous 4 day stay. Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked for the day we wanted extension.

They 'extended' our booking at the same discounted tariff that we had booked. And then shifted us to Summit Norling Resort for both the remaining days!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5Patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2015

Dear Guest,

Namaste!


Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I really hope that on your next visit you get to visit Lachung, which is indeed a very beautiful place. The perfect time to visit is in the month of March, April and May.

Please feel free to put your queries in the following mail ID:

deepshikha@summithotels.in

I look forward to hear from you.


Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We where in April 2014 at this hotel.We booked 5 rooms.Rooms are to small like budget hotel.
Bathrooms are to small.Food is average.Room services is to poor.We feel like cheated by hotel.
Rooms are differ then pictures shown on web.If you want to book twice...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Umesh1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2015

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We value your feedback and you would be happy to know that, we have renovated our hotel and we have the best professionals working with us now. I apologize for the inconvenience you had to face during your stay with us.

As Summit Ttakshang Residency is located in the heart of the city, we assure you have a comfortable stay with us and give an opportunity to serve you better.

For booking please feel free to contact the following:

deepshikha@summithotels,.in


We look forward to hear from you.


Best Regards,

Guest relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.1 mi away
Summit Namnang Courtyard & Spa
0.9 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Summit Denzong Renaissance Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#20 of 126 in Gangtok
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sterling Gangtok
Sterling Gangtok
#11 of 126 in Gangtok
260 reviews
2.2 mi away
Udaan, Woodberry Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa

Address: Kazi Road | Near M.G. Marg, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#8 Spa Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range: $38 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high up in the lap of the Himalayas, Summit Ttakshang Residency welcomes you for an unparalleled experience of a pristine holiday in the capital city of Sikkim - Gangtok. Ttakshang residency offers an exceptional blend of modern amenities with a taste of warm Sikkimese hospitality to make your stay comfortable and memorable in this mountain state. Situated right in the heart of the city, a walk to the city center is only a few minutes, thereby enabling our guests to visit the local markets at their own leisure or stay away from the bustling town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing