We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our stay at Ttakshang Residency, Gangtok, was indeed a memorable stay. We stayed in a suite room reserved for us by Ms. Anusha, who was prompt in all her replies. Mr. Gyan and his team looked after us very well. We were made to feel special. Every minute detail of service and requests were complied with meticulous care. It was a service of love. We felt, in fact, bad to leave the place. It was hospitality at its best. I strongly recommend this hotel to those who visit Gangtok.

Room Tip: i would recommend the suite room
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cephasrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for the five star comments on your stay here at the Summit Hotels and Resorts. The team have already received your positive feedback and were very grateful for the review.

We strive to provide Exceptional Value. Exceptional services to all our esteemed guest and it brings much happiness in us when it is being recognized.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Relation Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
There are newer reviews for LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 532 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

I booked this hotel 2 days prior to my travel to gangtok when mayfair and other big resorts were sold out. And the review that i saw on trip advisor calling their rooms dungeons to be honest scared me. It was a pleasant surprise to land at the hotel. Well there are 2 sets of rooms, one with windows and and one set without any windows or natural light or ventilation. But come on you cant expect luxury for the price that they are charging. Their buffet breakfast is nice. The staff is simply superb, very very understanding and friendly. There is no power back up in this hotel, so be ready to use candles in the evening for an hour. This may not be luxurious, but one thing you need to give to these guys are they are honest, they were very clear that they do not have view rooms or power back up. They'd charge you for electric heater. They did not over promise. We got what we saw, so if you are not looking for luxury and only gonna spend the nights here, well its worth the price they charge!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the MG road if you want ventilation, the rooms on the other side do not have wi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaurav19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your valuable feedback.

It is really disappointing to note that we could not meet your expectations during your visit. I can assure you that it is absolutely uncharacteristic of our hotel and I sincerely regret that this has happened. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse.

Request you to kindly allow us the privilege of having you at The Summit once more and hence give us another opportunity to exhibit the changes and improvements post your feedback.

Looking forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We felt the rooms were over priced. The ambiance wasnt that great either. They charged extra for the heater, which was a shock for us, since we took a delux room and thought a heater should be part of the package. Good part was the proximity to MG Marg (5 mins walk) from the back of the hotel. The food was also good and the staff was helping. But

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_Kim_mit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We apologies for the inconvenience you had to face and we regret for the lapse. If you plan to visit this region in the near future we assure a comfortable stay with us.

We look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Guest Relation Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

First the Hotel location is at a very good point. Just above the main MG marg. It takes just 5 mins to go to the market from the hotel.

The room are neat and clean and the housekeeping people do their job very promptly. The Staff is very helpful and polite.
There is a thing about sikkim, people are generally very polite and helpful and always try to help you to the best of their capacity. I enjoyed talking to everyone their. From the manager, to the security everyone helped us in every bit.

The only issue is faced was credit cards were not accepted, but thats an issue in gangtok with connectivity.

Overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anindo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you so much for choosing Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that the overall stay with us was comfortable and the impression of our resort could win your heart.

We look forward to your return and to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you wish to taste a dignified jail life I suggest you to go to Ttakshang Residency hotel and spa. The hotel rooms are just like dungeons with no natural lighting or air. At least the one we stayed does not have any. The only window to the room opens to a narrow lane and to the backside of an old house. One can smell the bathroom stink of the neighbour’s as both the buildings are so close. When we asked about the lack of ventilation, the manager told us that the suites on the upper floor have good ventilation. Their meaning is if we book cheaper rooms we will not have ventilation. The road on which the hotel is located is very narrow and difficult for a vehicle to pass. The major drawback to this hotel is its entrance. Since the hotel is situated behind a private residence, one has to get down at least 20 to 25 steep stairs to reach the reception area. Being aged 50 + and with health problems we felt it is extremely difficult to stay here. We heard even persons of younger age complaining about this. The rooms are still further down and one needs lot of energy to stay in this hotel, going up and down to get out or come in to the hotel. No lift in the hotel and the Parking is horrible. Even the treatment of the staff is not very good. The front desk staff is very slow and is not very cooperative with the guests. We ordered the food to room service; even after 3 hrs they failed to supply the food. When we went to the dining room and asked about our order we were told to eat the dinner buffet available in there. In the website it is mentioned that Wi-Fi is available on payment, but during our 4 days stay we were always told that it is not working. We felt we were not been provided deliberately. The hotel staff is reluctant to even answer regarding this and kept on saying it is not working. Only positive about this hotel is the Breakfast which is good though there are not many choices. They claim that hotel is close to MG marg, but it is not walkable distance, it is climbable distance. We have to go through lot of deep steps to reach the MG marg. On the whole hotel is very bad and I do not advice anybody to go to this hotel. I repented booking this hotel, since I had paid the amount in advance and do not have the time to shift to another hotel I was forced to stay here for 4 days.

Room Tip: Only rooms on the top floor have some ventilation.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Usha65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your valuable feedback.

It is really disappointing to note that we could not meet your expectations during your visit. I can assure you that it is absolutely uncharacteristic of our hotel and I sincerely regret that this has happened. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse.

Request you to kindly allow us the privilege of having you at The Summit once more and hence give us another opportunity to exhibit the changes and improvements post your feedback.

Looking forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

A great place to stay with your family and friends. I stayed at the Ttakshang Residency for a few days and I was overwhelmed by the hospitality I got there at this small hotel. After an amazing stay at the ITC Sonar Bangla in Kolkata, I was expecting the least from a 3 star hotel. It took me some time to find the hotel as the driver drove in circles, finally we were there and were greeted by the front desk in a very traditional way. The room was spotless, geyser for a hot baths, good food and a very friendly environment...what else could you ask for. I checked out the suites and they were amazing, you get a balcony too. Yumthang and Lacchung tours were fantastic, local sightseeing was fun....the only spoilsport was the rain :(...)climate change I think ;).. Overall a very good experience at this hotel, give it a try. Cheers!!!

Room Tip: The rooms opposite to the restaurants are excellent.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manoj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for staying at the Summit Hotels and Resorts and for sharing a feedback of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. And, that our overall service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our team is committed to exceeding our guest’s expectations, and your feedback motivates the team to strive harder.

We look forward to your return and to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I would suggest just don't go by the reviews coz I did the same n got nothing but disappointment. They commit so many things and give nothing in return. Let us go by their positive points and negative points. ( Am writing this review in this detail coz I don't want others being fooled like I was. )

Positive points :
1. Good ambiance
2. Near to Market place (MG road)
3. Rooms are good.

Negative Points:
1. This place is damn costly. Not value for money at all.

2. Once they give you a room they won't even turn up for drinking water arrangements, or even to check whether u need something, unless u call them all the way.

3. Food is very very costly....and not worth.

4. Room service is poorest of poorest. They take at least half an hour to appear before you when u call...and another half an hour to get you the thing you asked for.

5. There are repeated power cuts and they don't have stand by arrangement. The rooms become too dark to see anything, even at the day time. The windows open into a wall so there's just no chance for light.

6 There is hardly any co-ordination between staff. There is lack of....no ...absence of communication between the staff. The messages are not conveyed at all.

7. You make booking with one person (who commits you kangchenjunga view), when you check-in the concerned person has no idea about what had been committed to you...and upon argument you learn that the person who made the booking for you doesn't actually work there. WOW! Fantastic!!

8. If breakfast is included in your plan then be prepared to fast when you have to move earlier coz it is never ready on time. The staff is incapable to handle crowds (and they are not interested in serving just one or two!!! )

9. Spa is just for the namesake. You will actually find nobody there ever.

10. They charge a lot for local sight seeing. It is better to hire taxi on your own.

11. You try to sleep at night and suddenly the intercom starts buzzing for no reason, you answer it, nobody has actually called, you put it down and it rings continuously again...and you realize that there is some problem with EPBX (yes at 1.00 am) put the phone off and try to sleep again.

12. The staff appears to comprise just trainees. They are always so very confused.

Apart from all these...if the travel desk suggests you to make a trip to Darjeeling and stay at their resort coz it is worth staying...just drop the idea. You may choose to go to Drajeeling but never ever stay at their resort. It is not at all as they portray it. I would prefer to write its separate account on its page.


DO THINK TWICE BEFORE BOOKING YOUR ROOM HERE.YOU MAY CHOOSE TO IGNORE ME IF YOU LIKE ADVENTURES....WELL PAID ADVENTURES I MAY SAY!

Room Tip: See the room personally first then choose.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shwets08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your valuable feedback.

It is really disappointing to note that we could not meet your expectations during your visit. I can assure you that it is absolutely uncharacteristic of our hotel and I sincerely regret that this has happened. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse.

Request you to kindly allow us the privilege of having you at The Summit once more and hence give us another opportunity to exhibit the changes and improvements post your feedback.

Looking forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Guest Relation Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.1 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
0.9 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonam Delek
Hotel Sonam Delek
#3 of 118 in Gangtok
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#22 of 118 in Gangtok
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa

Address: Kazi Road | Near M.G. Marg, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Gangtok
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#9 Family Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range: $34 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high up in the lap of the Himalayas, Summit Ttakshang Residency welcomes you for an unparalleled experience of a pristine holiday in the capital city of Sikkim - Gangtok. Ttakshang residency offers an exceptional blend of modern amenities with a taste of warm Sikkimese hospitality to make your stay comfortable and memorable in this mountain state. Situated right in the heart of the city, a walk to the city center is only a few minutes, thereby enabling our guests to visit the local markets at their own leisure or stay away from the bustling town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing