We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a Holiday !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent for a Holiday !”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I had the great pleasure of spending a week at the Summit group of hotels & resorts at Gangtok, Norling & Pelling in January for a holiday and must say that it was a first class experience atleast in Gangtok. Mr. Sushil Gour & Ms. Anusha Pradhan were the reservation’s manager who treated me and my group magnificently all the way through and handled our event beautifully.

We travelled as in 2 couples from 23rd to 28th January 2012 and stayed with Ttakshang Residency (Gangtok) for 2 nights, The Norling Resort & Spa (Gangtok) for 1 night and Summit Newa Regency (Pelling) for 2 nights. All of the above are part of Summit group.

In Ttakshang Residency, We booked a honeymoon package though we were not on honeymoon since it included some perks. We were fortunate to be upgraded to two of the luxury suites which were the best hotel accommodation. The service was proper and the staff went to great lengths to find us drinks (Bad they didn’t had any liquor on-board) on a dry day for us and also found me a pack of Classic Milds which was difficult in a tobacco banned state like Sikkim.

Initially I was very annoyed with Mr. Sushil Gour since he wouldn’t reply to my mails properly for booking rooms with them; but when we reached there I got to know that he was an amazing man who not only arranged us a nice & beautiful suite rooms along with 2 heaters (Which were required to keep the large suite room just warm) complimentary in the rooms took all care of our trip from discussing the places to visit to suggesting some of new and arranging vehicles for that. We thought that the Hotel vehicles would be costly but when enquired in the market we realised it was competitive.

To suggest an improvement would be their restaurant chefs as the food preparation was not so good also they need to change the exterior sign boards since most of the people in Gangtok doesn’t know much about the hotel so in case if you are lost there’s no one to guide you back to the hotel.

Readers also view the reviews for “The Norling Resort & Spa” and “Summit Newa Regency” reviews since the experience with those were bad.

Ttakshang Residency in all has been over our expectations and would definitely recommend it !

Room Tip: Suite rooms allow unrestricted view of Kachenjunga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurnenduBiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2015
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Summit Hotels and Resorts endeavors to make every guest comfortable and a memorable one. Compliments as generous as yours go a long way to encourage and to motivate us to work harder to achieve the ultimate goal of excellence.

We are delighted to have been of service to you and would await your next visit so that you can avail more of our services and have another such time to cherish!

Best Regards,
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    197
    94
    27
    26
See reviews for
239
179
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guwahati, India
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2012

i stayed in this hotel from 26/01/2012 till 29/01/2012 and stayed in the delux room. the room was excellent. the staff behaviour was also very good and polite. i will definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting gangtok. I went to the casino at around 8 in the evening and returned back at 3 in the morning, also then the night duty person was alert and i had no problem. Lookin forward to staying there again....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ak_kedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2015
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you so much for choosing Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that the overall stay with us was comfortable and the impression of our resort could win your heart.

We look forward to your return and to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I just came across this property during my exploration of travel sites . While i was convinced with the reviews , i wanted to check out personally by visiting the hotel!!!
I got a good deal in terms of the lodging charges . The room i opted for was a deluxe room and fairly big and clean . The staff was polite and the ever positive attitude of Mr. Sushil needs a special mention . While the ground floor rooms do not offer a good sight of the mountains , but i consoled my self as the fog obstructed the views even from the best rooms. The best part of the property is that it is a stone throw from the MG marg , the SPOT of the GANGTOK town.
However , i feel that the propoerty needs a serious overhauling of the chef , since the food is just not worth the price u pay for . Given a chance i would mark only 2 out of 10 for the taste . THE HOTEL NEEDS TO SERIOUSLY WORK ON THE TASTE OF THE FOOD THEY OFFER , AND MORE SO THE BREAKFAST SPREAD IS JUST NOT UPTO THE STANDARD .
While everything else i just fine , i will still recommend it as a value for money only if you decide not to eat there as they charge Rs 110/- for 2 small pcs of gulab jamun.....HAHAHA!!!!

Room Tip: Always opt for first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitpaulchowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2015
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Summit Hotels and Resorts. Your feedback will go a long way in improving our services and I can assure you that your generous comments will be a source of motivation for all to constantly strive for creating exceptional guest experiences.

Once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and we do hope you will not bench mark us with the shortcomings you had experienced and will give us an opportunity to serve you better.

It was a pleasure to have you stay at the Summit Hotels and Resorts, and we look forward to welcome you back in not so distant future.

Best Regards,
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Visited Gangtok from 21 Jan 2012 till 24 Jan 2012 and stayed at this hotel. The hotel is in good condition. Rooms are good and Toilet/Bathroom is clean. Anytime hot water (Geysers installed in the bathroom, so you can get it anytime). Staff is very very polite and helpful (This is were the hotel scores more). Food and room service is also good. Only one disappointing fact is about the room heaters. We were asked to pay INR 200 extra per night per heater and that too is didn't warm the room. We had to sleep very close to the heater to get the warmth. Very thick double blankets kept in the room were very effective. Also it is 5 mins walk to M.G. Road (But the roads in Gangtok are steep, so you need to actually climb the road when you come back from M.G. road to this hotel (Can't help it, all roads in Gangtok are same :D )

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abhishek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2015
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you so much for choosing Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that the overall stay with us was comfortable and the impression of our resort could win your heart.

We look forward to your return and to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

worst hotel ever seen. such arrogant,unfriendly and over smart staff. very bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 the rooms rates were high but quality ...... not at all deserving! awwwwwhhhh! worst thing was they were trying to be very over smart ! there r 26 rooms and they got a 26 rooms deal from a south Indian party. we were the the only family to stay on 2nd jan 2012-there check in date. to remove us they made an excuse that they r shifting us to a grt hotel.my papa refused as there was only 1 day left and the hotel was also 4 km from the city.after the decision we went for sight seeing.when we were returning , driver told us that manager has ordered him to drop us at the new hotel and the hotel has packed our open luggage which was including everything - cash, jewelry,clothes etc.we were frustrated .how dare they touch our luggage?we went to the old hotel and shouted at them. they committed their fault but shifted us at that hotel.but whatever the fight maybe. food was muaahhhhhh!

Room Tip: suites have a good scene
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank priya_anu27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2015
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your valuable feedback.

It is really disappointing to note that we could not meet your expectations during your visit. I can assure you that it is absolutely uncharacteristic of our hotel and I sincerely regret that this has happened. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse.

Request you to kindly allow us the privilege of having you at The Summit once more and hence give us another opportunity to exhibit the changes and improvements post your feedback.

Looking forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Visited Gangtok between November 18-20th, 2011. Took a sheer chance by selecting this hotel, as I had no clear idea abt the place. On the website all hotels look compelling. The risk paid off.

The hotel offers a great view of the Kanchendzonga. The food was awesome, very well cooked, tasty & the services were quick. Plus, they offered a lot of variety, ala carte or buffet. The best experience weas dealing with their staff. Extremely courteous & warm. Special mention of Mr Bikram Shreshta (Head of Operations of the Hotel) who ensured that each & every guest is taken care of.

Look forward to staying with them again Soon.

Room Tip: Travelers are advised to ask for the Suites, a lil expensive but canm beat quite a few star rated ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Guest Relations Manager at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2015
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Summit Hotels and Resorts endeavors to make every guest comfortable and a memorable one. Compliments as generous as yours go a long way to encourage and to motivate us to work harder to achieve the ultimate goal of excellence.

We are delighted to have been of service to you and would await your next visit so that you can avail more of our services and have another such time to cherish!

Best Regards,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We drove from Bagdogra airport after spending few days in Darjeeling in June, 2011. We enjoyed our stay in the hotel. Room were comfortable & food was good. We had breakfast and buffet dinner included in our pre-paid package. Guests are usually required to take local taxi for sight seeing which are registered in Sikkim and not in West Bengal in which we drove in to Gangtok from Bagdogra airport. Visitors must be careful with local taxi drivers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumitMitruka, Director of Sales at LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay with us. We’re so pleased to hear that you find great value in our accommodations and that our central location is perfectly set near restaurants and entertainment to make your stay with us convenient as well. We hope to have earned your repeat business on any future travels to this region.

Summit Mitruka
Director
Summit Hotels and Resorts
summit@summithotels.in
+91-9933422500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.9 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#22 of 118 in Gangtok
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 118 in Gangtok
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa

Property: LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa
Address: Kazi Road | Near M.G. Marg, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Gangtok
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#9 Family Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high up in the lap of the Himalayas, Summit Ttakshang Residency welcomes you for an unparalleled experience of a pristine holiday in the capital city of Sikkim - Gangtok. Ttakshang residency offers an exceptional blend of modern amenities with a taste of warm Sikkimese hospitality to make your stay comfortable and memorable in this mountain state. Situated right in the heart of the city, a walk to the city center is only a few minutes, thereby enabling our guests to visit the local markets at their own leisure or stay away from the bustling town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LA Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing