We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Tashi Yang

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gangtok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tashi Yang
Ranked #108 of 117 Hotels in Gangtok
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NIce budget hotel”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Our first impression of the hotel was bad as the approach and the facade were bad. But then to our relief we found that the rooms were pretty decent and well maintained. Even the bath rooms were neat and clean. Responsiveness of the staff was good. Food was decent though they were taking a long time to serve the order. The downside of the hotel is the approach and the look of the hotel and also steps to climb to reach the main road and also there is no lift. On the positive side we have neat and clean rooms and a helpful manager.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soma63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
11
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our trip to Sikkim unfortunately started with this hotel. We booked five rooms through a travel portal as well as direct booking with Hotel Owner - Mr Gupta.

Here is the rundown - they offered a dormitory in place of a suite room, bathrooms were dirty and had empty paint buckets in place of water buckets, room floors were dirty and stingy. The approach to Hotel is bad, you have to climb up 50 stairs to get to the main road (Kazi road) and the stairs are a bit dangerous for kids.

Instead of providing us the exclusive view side rooms that we booked, they made available to us the lesser category of rooms. When we started challenging them, the person on the front desk made an exit and never came back. Moreover, the manager and owner showed no concern towards our complains. Finally we had to take help of local police to get our money back.

We had to waste 3-4 hours in this entire episode and getting rooms at other hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qwerewq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gangtok hotels

kolkata
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

It is located at about 5 minutes walking distance from Mahatma Gandhi Marg in a calm and peaceful surrounding.. we had to climb up on returning from M.G. Marg, so may be stressful for aged people.
rooms are clean and cozy, water heater is available in bathroom.
mountain view from the view room is excellent,
food is good and you have to order early especially for dinner (we had to order dinner within 7 p.m.).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skolkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2012

As its near to the M G Marg (Market Place) and also quite friendly staff especially the Manager - Deep... we got to know the place more. The prices are quite reasonable and the rooms are neat and tidy with ample facilities. Only problem is with the aged people who will have to climb down or up some stairs to get to the main road...!!! Otherwise its the best hotel... i would suggest and would love to be back there....!!! All arrangements were made by the manager for local sight seeing and other attractions. Please contact Deep - Manager or Gupta Ji - Owner..!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sekhar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The location of the hotel was good and near to the main market .

The hotel was good we were able to see the mount kanchanjunga form our room .

The rooms were neat and the food was excellent.

Gupta ji had arranged us the trip to lachung and yangthang valley .

He also gave us the some discount . thanku you Gupta ji

This hotel good for couple who who want to visit gangtok

we will come back agani.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank akash31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The hotel was new and was located just near to the main market but had to climb up about 2 min .

the view from the hotel was also great .

food was great and the owner was very helpful .

He arranged for our trip for just Rs 15000/-( 4nights ) for two room and and also drop us to siliguri in that rate, and Yangthang valley , cahngu lake and local site seen .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank PatnaSatish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Hotel was recommendate by a Local friend (Owner was the friend of my friend) it was ok ....... Owner tried to take advantage of relation of and said not to worry about charges he will give us best price. But on the day of settelement he charged the regular printed price and said gave us approx 10% discount. Rates of the same hotel other wise was 25-35% lower than the printed price, which we came to know from local agent.

Also he teid to sale other Hotels (Lachung / LAchen / Dargeeling) with very litel discount on the pretext that we may not get Rooms and Veg. Food in other hotels.

Actually we got Better Hotel / Veg Food and Best price (1/3rd the price offered by him)

On our last Night he changed our 1 room which was without Toilet (Non functional) since it was late in the night and also last night we did not fight.

Overall it was OK Hotel ...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Rumtek Dzong
Hotel Rumtek Dzong
#105 of 117 in Gangtok
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Bamboo Grove Retreat
#9 of 117 in Gangtok
286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok
#47 of 117 in Gangtok
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Hill Resort Gangtok
0.3 mi away
Hotel ReNam
Hotel ReNam
#33 of 117 in Gangtok
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tashi Thendup Hotel
Tashi Thendup Hotel
#6 of 206 in Gangtok
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tashi Yang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tashi Yang

Property: Hotel Tashi Yang
Address: Kazi Road | Near Power Secreatariat, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 117 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Tashi Yang 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tashi Yang is centrally located, providing the best hospitality and management. Rooms are fully furnished with exotic view of Himalayas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Tashi Yang Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing