We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two thumbs up ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Krishnagiri, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up ...”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in Gangtok (in 2 chunks) all at the Bamboo Grove Retreat. Purna & Raju Rai are excellent hosts - very helpful, receptive/sensitive, friendly, informed and informal. We were 2 adults with a 5 year old and our friends took another room next door - 2 adults with two seven-year olds. The rooms are clean, spacious, immaculately house-kept each day (even our daughter's soft toys were creatively arranged to welcome her back each evening; such a remarkable detail for our part of the world) and we had views of the Kanchenjunga from our windows.

I wouldn't call the hotel rates very cheap (but that may be because we are used to slummin' it in the plains !) - and their rates seem in-line with most in this class in the region. We were glad we picked Bamboo Grove Retreat and I don't believe we would have been as comfortable, relaxed & at home anywhere else. Purna helped us plan our trips in Sikkim with much attention to stay places we would like and in/around Gangtok and this was very helpful with all the dynamics of traveling with kids and in a new place.

Thanks to Purna & Raju we also got to sample fantastic regional food at the Culture Cafe nearby and got to know Dushyant and Anupama - the terrific folks behind CC.

Two thumbs up for the Bamboo Grove Retreat !

Room Tip: The attic rooms can make the 2nd floor noisy ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderer_at_heart_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    79
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
143
62
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Our family (with two small kids) as well as friends of ours (who also had kids) stayed at this hotel in April/May. We found the rooms clean, the staff very friendly and helpful and the views of Kachendzonga awesome. The location is excellent being quite close to M G Road, but still slightly removed from the hustle and bustle. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and our kids particularly enjoyed interacting with them. Our deal included breakfasts, but apart from that we did not eat much in the hotel. The breakfasts and the one dinner we had were quite fine. The hotel staff also very efficiently organized transport and stays at other places in Sikkim. Their choices for home stays worked particularly well for us in Lachung and Ravangla. Overall I really enjoyed our stay and interaction with the staff and their responsiveness to our needs and requests.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chengalur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellore, India
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We were very glad that we chose to stay at this hotel. To start with, we were able to speak to the manager, Mr. Purna Rai, by phone even at 10 o'clock at night and our booking email was responded to promptly with all our queries answered, including a breakdown of the costs.
We were given two connecting rooms which was very convenient, especially as our two children, though young, are tall, so we each had enough space to sleep confortably and got two bathrooms, an added advantage. The price for this arrangement was very reasonable.
Throughout our stay, the manager and his staff were very helpful and friendly and were able to arrange all our trips and other needs.
The restaurant service was good though the food was the usual. There was Sikkimese food available but it needed advance notice. The manager personally took us to a nearby cafe specializing in local cuisine when we said we hadn't come to Sikkim to eat chicken butter masala!
This hotel, which has a charming traditional exterior, is just walking distance from MG Marg and Tibet road, where most of the cafes and hangouts are so you have the choice of going out in the evenings without having to rely on taxis. It is located down a slope about 50m off the road, making it very quiet and peaceful. They have a narrow lawn where you can sit and enjoy the view of Kanchenjunga early in the morning.
The only disadvantage was that we found the quilts to be a little inadequate to keep us warm on the first night when we had not yet got used to the cold. The geysers, being large, took some time to heat up but the water was nice and hot.
On the whole, we enjoyed our stay and felt that we were staying with old friends rather than at a hotel in a new city.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drurmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Bamboo Groove Retreat , Gangtok.
Check In Date - 21stApril 2011
Check Out Date - 25th April 2011

We booked our hotel from make my trip for our 4 days trip and it turned out to be the good decision.
I booked two rooms as we were 4 people, one was super deluxe valley view room and other one was standard valley view room, it was fine view from the window(provided we have clear sky outside), the hotel staff was nice and quite helpful as I have a 18 months kid and I wanted all benefit, security from them, which they provided in well manner. They even boiled water and bottles for my kid as and when required.

Bamboo Retreat location is fine and its on walking distance from MG Marg(with 97 stairs) shortcut path. The food quality was not at all good in the hotel and can be skipped, hotel staff was good and they even arranged for our city tour and Nathula pass trip without any hiccups.

Room Tip: First floor valley view rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veenukumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Hi All,

I went to Gangtok and Darjeeling for sight seeing this April 2011, the way i was greeted and service provided by the Hotel managment was terrific. Room are pretty spacious and have clean bed and toilet. You will get North Indian, Some south Indian dishes to eat whichs tastes good. For those who visit gangtok for the first time, this hotel is the idle place to land in because the management will help, arrange and assist you beyond your expectations. Unfortunately I could not take a snap of this hotel. Overall I recommend this hotel for others if asked :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venkatexps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Bamboo Groove Retreat is a very nice hotel with excellent staff and room service. The environment is very hospitable and you will be helped in every manner possible by the management.
Rooms are clean, toilets are sanitized, food is good.
View from rooms is average but that is what you'll get from most hotels. Its only unfavorable point is for those who want to roam on MG Marg more often as covering the distance back will take minimum 10-15 mins on foot.
All in all its a very good Budget Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bairathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I was there for my honeymoon and the hotel is simply outstanding. The rooms are very good, the hotel staff are very friendly and the service is outstanding. We took a 10day package from these guys and all went well except for the last 2 days of our visit.

There was a strike in the last 2 days of our trip which was beyond their control and they have advised us before about the the strike. In spite of the strike we had no problems except for not being able to do shopping and all.

The person who runs the hotel is Raju Rai and is a very friendly chap. I would strongly recommend this hotel for people who plan to go to Gangtok. The rates are reasonable and said to be same all throughout the year unlike the commercial hotels who charge exorbitant rates during the season.

This hotel is situated almost on the top most point of Gangtok and you have a direct view of Kanchenjunga.

While I was searching for hotels in Gangtok, I have contacted all the major hotels via email and none of them responded till date, except this guy.

Room Tip: Deluxe Valley View Room (103)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srkkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonam Delek
Hotel Sonam Delek
#3 of 115 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hill Resort Gangtok
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
#7 of 115 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#5 of 115 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bamboo Retreat Hotel
Bamboo Retreat Hotel
#4 of 115 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Ninamma Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Grove Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Grove Retreat

Property: Bamboo Grove Retreat
Address: Gyatseling | Kazi Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gangtok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#5 Best Value Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bamboo Grove Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city and still maintaining its sanctity, the hotel has been aesthetically designed to blend with the environment and reflects the rich Sikkimese culture. The boutique hotel is just two floors and an attic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bamboo Grove Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Grove Retreat Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing