We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience! One that I'll remember for a very long time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nathula

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gangtok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Nathula
Ranked #103 of 113 Hotels in Gangtok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience! One that I'll remember for a very long time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I read a couple of good reviews on TripAdvisor and I was not disappointed at all when I decided to stay at Nathula. If customer service is your priority, then Hotel Nathula is the place to be. Mr. Ajay Thapa, his family and the rest of the management treated us like we were a part of his family visiting him. Absolutely amazing service, great location as the Hotel is bang in the middle of MG Marg and we got some great package deals from Ajay as well for our travel to North Sikkim.

Stay at this place and you will not be disappointed with the flawless customer service (Ajay is more than willing to take any of your queries) and the oh-so-perfect location!

Thank you Ajay, I'll be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kushal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New delhi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We visited Hotel Nathula from 16th June to 18 june Mr and Mrs Ajoy Thapa gave us excellent services ,Mr Thapa he take care of our stay and sighseeing and Mrs Perila was a good cook and she served excellent food when we were there we visited as a group of 21 members all friends we enjoyed our stay at gangtok.Only Draw back for this hotel is staircase steep 49 stairs towards hotel old person in the family faced little difficulties in entering hotel.24 hours WiFi is a plus point which helped us to monitor our trip and seconly it is well located on MG road it is a plus point.

Room Tip: Take rooms at the second level to see best view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIVEKSHARMA63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuttack, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I am a retired professor.Had desired to visit Gangtok,Namchi ,Pelling n Darjeeling with my wife.Contracted Mr.Thapa.He did every thing for us...... hotel reservation at Gangtok,Namchi ,Pelling n Darjeeling.He provided us a taxi from NJP ,which moved with us during our tour n dropped us at NJP after the end of our 8 days long tour.What is more important about his organisational capabilities is his contact with different persons n agencies to facilitate our comfortable stay n journey for a very reasonable price. During our travel from Nimachi to Pelling ,we encountered a land slide n were stranded for about three hours.I contacted Mr.Thapa over phone n within half an hour I got a call from his brother Mr.Samir (statined at Darjeeling),requesting me to move to the other side on foot to find a waiting taxi for us to Pelling.This shows his contact n capability.People visiting Gangtok,Namchi,Pelling n Darjeeling should contact Mr.Thapa for a comfortable tour.
Professor (Dr.)D BISWAL

Room Tip: Hotel Nathula rooms facing Kanchanjunga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

the hotel is located on MG marg, next to a sewer! you will get views of it from the reception. The hotel location is terrible. The room was average with a dirty stained toilet. The view from the room is terrible overlooking a bus stand. you have to climb a lot of steep stairs to reach the hotel and from the hotel to reach the MG marg. The hotel room was very pricey too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELNATHULA, Owner at Hotel Nathula, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear MR. Joy Ghosh,
At the onset, we would like to know the following details:-
What date did you stay at our hotel?????
What was the room taken by you????
When was your C/in & C/out date????
Through whom had you booked the rooms?????

We guess you have submitted this review by mistake (in the wrong location) because we do not have any record of any guest with the name of JOY GHOSH since past 6 months..!!!

And for your kind information, please note the following importantly:-
1) OUR HOTEL IS PERHAPS, THE ONLY HOTEL IN M.G. MARG WITH SECLUDED BALCONIES & PROVIDES THE BEST VIEW OF THE HILLS / MT. KANCHENJUNGA - APPRECIATED BY ALL OUR GUESTS SO FAR..! OUR HOTEL NEVER OVERLOOKS A "BUS STAND" - YOU MUST HAVE MADE A BLUNDER THERE..........WE DOUBT IF YOU HAVE EVER BEEN TO OUR PROPERTY IN YOUR LIFETIME..!!
2) IF YOU HAD VISITED OUR HOTEL - YOU WOULD HAVE HAD THE IDEA ABOUT OUR ROOMS & THE PROPERTY ITSELF..!
3) REQUEST YOU TO KINDLY PROVIDE US AT LEAST 1 PROOF OF YOUR VISIT TO OUR HOTEL..!

And last but not the least, seems that you have problems with all the properties / places that you have visited in your lifetime........as I went through other reviews of yours, too!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gangtok hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Nathula in May 2013. The Hotel is located on the center of Gangtok. It is very good for shopping and roaming on MG Road at any time but you need to cross several steps to reach Hotel entrance.
Rooms are good ,neat and comfortable. Hotel staffs are very cooperative and friendly. Service is very good.
The owner of hotel Mr. Ajoy Thapa arranged my package tour to North Sikkim and Darjeeling. We got a reasonable price and good service. We had a very pleasent stay at the hotel . We highly recommend Hotel Nathula to anyone who is visiting sikkim .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarinya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Nathula in the first week of may which was the starting of the peak season for around 4 days . Ajoy Thapa who is the owner and also looks after itinerary planning and lostistics came across as a very friendly guy. As we had covered a couple of spots while coming to the hotel,he planned the other day for other exotic spots. He had planned our entire trip from bagdogra to kolkata. He was very flexible as he has the knowledge about the entire place at his fingertips. North sikkim is heavenly .We had to skip a few places due to health and time constraints but if you get a chance please do visit them. Ajoy's wife Perila (co-owner) who also looks after the restaurant and room service is a very hospitable person. I ought to mention here that she cooks amaaazing food :) It was delicious and we always looked forward to her yummy breakfasts ! These two are very warm and friendly people as I know them personally now .We had a very pleasent stay at the hotel . I highly recommend Hotel Nathula to anyone who is visiting sikkim ! Awesome place :D

Room Tip: Look for a room facing the magnificient kanchenjunga !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SudeepNarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel Nathula is an apt example of how superb customer service can make a difference. A staff always ready to help you in everything .. yes almost everything (which staff member brings you stuff from the nearest shop) . The Hotel is run by Mr Ajay Thapa who also runs a travel agency and arranges customized trips to all parts of north east specifically in Sikkim and Darjeeling.

I had a 1 week trip to all parts of Sikkim and Darjeeling . It was a memorable and excellent trip because of Mr Thapa's superb suggestions and planning. He had suggested a lot of changes in the itenary and got best value for my trip . I visited atleast 3 new places than what I had originally planned for. Thanks to Mr Thapa !!

The Hotel is located on the center of Gangtok which makes your evenings easy and helpful. After a long trip you can take a walk at M.G.Marg .. shop or just take a nice walk.

The View from the hotel itself is a treat and can make your mornings wonderful.

Cheers to Mr Thapa ! Cheers to the staff of Hotel Nathula !

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrajeev2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sagorika
Hotel Sagorika
#34 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok
#43 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tashi Delek
Hotel Tashi Delek
#78 of 113 in Gangtok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonam Delek
Hotel Sonam Delek
#4 of 113 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hill Resort Gangtok
0.8 mi away
Delight Hotels The Fortuna
Delight Hotels The Fortuna
#35 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nathula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nathula

Property: Hotel Nathula
Address: M G Marg, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 113 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located at the heart of Gangtok. 12 neat & hygienic spacious super deluxe rooms with private balconies viewing Mt. Kanchenjunga! In-house Restaurant / Travel Desk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Nathula Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing