We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely city views ...”
Review of Teen Taley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Teen Taley Resort
Ranked #16 of 212 Gangtok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

A homestay in a beautiful property. We got a wonderful warm room ( end to end carpeting with no drafts at all !!! ) which had a view of the lights of Gangtok in the night. The hotel grounds are beautiful and we can see their farm too. They have sarson ( mustard ), potatoes, squash, tomatoes, many flowers , cows etc.

Heater for the room is charged extra but not the hot water bags. The service was very good and the food is made from the freshest ingredients right from the farm. Wonderful. On our request they lit a fire in the TV Room and it was cozy. Definitely a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vdy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Teen Taley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 88 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lovely cottages on a hillside with well furnished and well equipped rooms. Great view of Gangtok and friendly and hospitable staff. The food was made with lots of love and tasted accordingly.
Overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boemertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Resort is in a beutiful location we enjoyed stay and food, hospitality was excellent and food is very tasty here. they prepare everything fresh. People are excellent and very helpfull, vegetables used are grown in their own farm, Service is excellent.
i strongly recomend this resort

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subrahmanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

we two couple visited and stayed for four days. Owner Shares aunty, Manager Sherpa and cook Mohan all are vary nice. all other staff members are also vary helpful.
can't compare with any seven star hotel too. awesome location,food,hospitality. vary calm place in outskirts of Gangtok. beautiful view of Gangtok in night. Sharma aunty provided vary good information of Sikkim.
Sherpa arranged taxi @ vary cheap rate.
Ritesh owner of foot print nephew of Sharma aunty has provided vary good package for other places of Gangtok. Thanks to Sherpa. only thing we had vary bad experience with Driver Hujur. he doesn't know how to treat tourist.
Mohan is vary fantastic cook. ask him what u eat and cook as per your recipe. ask for local breakfast Veg.Phalley.

Don't make any confusion, visit without any worries. feels like an own home.
Thanks to teen taley to make our tour vary memorable.

chirag Patel. vadodara,Gujarat.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chiragpatel1328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our stay at Gangtok had been made all the more enjoyable by the stay at this hotel. we stayed for 02 nights at the Hidden forest Retreat in the city and for the third night we put up at Teen taley. Madam was too good and she took great care of us. we took the cottage. though it was a little small in size the best part of it was the ambience.

Besides Rumtek was jut a walking distance.
It was a great experience to vie gangtok from such a high altitude. The city below looked lit up at night

Room Tip: Stay at this hotel if you want to be away from the din and bustle of the city and of MG Marg
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We visited the Resort in April 2012. Owner's nephew Ritesh Chettri of Footprint Holidays arranged our package. The travel arrangments, welcome, rooms, surroundings, food, hopitality were excellent. Owner Mrs Sharma personally took care of every aspect of our stay. The planning and upkeep of resort on a sloppy terrain is excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, build in pairs.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HariPSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Me and my wife visited this resort in month of may 2012, we stayed there for 2days 3 nights,we were picked by our travel agent Mr Ritez Chettri (he is the nephew of the owner) he personally came to receive us, It was a really nice gesture on behalf of him. we reached the resort at around 2.30 pm, we were greeted by heavy rainfall by the time we reached the resort it had become dark & it had started raining, I was surprised it was raining in month of may. I love rains so was very happy, My wife hates rains and she was a bit frustrated,by the time we settled in our honeymoon suite I had ordered some wine & food for both of us, we sat in the porch attached to our suite and were njoying the rains & to our surprise suddenly the rains receded, sun started shining brightly we could see gangtok city on the opposite side of the mountain on top of it snow covered peaks & to our surprise a rainbow was formed in front of us over the valley, the view of rainbow & the snow clad peaks, the green valley, we both were just mesmerized by the beauty of the place, felt blessed by mother nature, It was a perfect start for our honeymoon, my wifey was really happy for selecting this place, i have attached the rainbow pics.
The place is managed by Mrs Sharma & her husband, I was really impressed by Mrs. Sharma's personal attention regarding our food & every minute details of our comfort.The cook Mr Manoj or mohan Oops I forgot his name, anyways he is a really amazing cook, in our very first meet, he asked me what I would like to eat & I told him to serve us only local dishes no punjabi no south indian,
Every morning manoj cooked for us some local tibetian dish called falle one day it was served with honey & other day itwas stuffed with vegetables, the breakfast these guys serve is so heavy that dont need to have food in afternoon. we were really very satisfied by the food quality of food served. I feel after having food at teentaley one really feels very happy by default{specially thier breakfast & you have to ask for it as, thier standard breakfast has bread jam butter & a fruit bsaket which is also very yummy}.
Talking about the view I think honeymoon suite gives you the best view. after coming back from north sikkim tour we shifted to a cottage which is also very nice, I was a bit disappointed when I was given a cottage with not a very clear view of the valley as all the other cottages were full, but its ok, I think things should not be perfect all the time.We were not able to see thier organic farms due to time limitation & sleeping after having delicious food.
The resort also has very cute rabbit, It roams freely in the resort, the only thing it did was it ate & ate & ate, It has become so fat staying in the resort that it cant run if u want to catch him you can easily catch him, My wife really like it & was planning to take him home, but it was too heavy ;)
Talking about the near by places, gangtok is 20-25 mins drive from Rumtek, Rumtek is famous for the Monastery, its almost 1 km away from the resort hidden in the trees, the monastery is facing directly a huge snow clad peak which can be seen above gangtok, there may be some realation about the snow cald peaks & monasteries as the lachen manastery also faces a huge snow cald peak. its really very beautyful place, we went there walking thrice,the morning walk to monastery is really very pleasant & serene. in the night its a bit scary as the roads are empty & the trees are really very huge & high. I m not fond of unkown dark roads, but luckly we were accompanied by three good monks from the monastery till our resort.
So buddies I feel Rumtek is a jewel of India & teen taley is the jewel of sikkim, over all this is a perfect getaway destination to relax chill & rejuvinate. Thanks to Mr Ritez Chettri (footprintholidays.com)& Ashish Roy (Trip advisor)
Happy Travelling buddies njoy the journey rather than the destination. its never about the destination......Njoy...
Regards Pankaj.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeflipflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.6 mi away
Bamboo Retreat Hotel
Bamboo Retreat Hotel
#5 of 118 in Gangtok
148 reviews
4.6 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Saramsa Resort
Saramsa Resort
#21 of 118 in Gangtok
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
3.7 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
4.0 mi away
Central Ninamma Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teen Taley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teen Taley Resort

Address: Rumtek | East Sikkim, Gangtok 737135, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Gangtok
Price Range: $53 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit to Sikkim is a visit for rejuvenating your mind, body and soul. Located at Eastern Himalayas, its lush green landscape, cool Himalayan breeze, the chirping of the birds, the aroma of delicious local gourmet and the smell of fresh grass are bound to touch all your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Teen Taley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teen Taley Resort Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing