We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review by Rishi shukla (Kanpur)”
Review of Suhim Portico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suhim Portico
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Kanpur
1 review
“Review by Rishi shukla (Kanpur)”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

One of the best and amazing experience staying out of home. I stayed for 6 nights at Suhim and it was one of the best feeling. the staff was really supportive and guys were really nice especially Emanuel and Mondeep. The food quality which generally does not tempts your taste buds once you are away from home but the cooking staff was really awesome as the food served was of great taste and that too with great hospitality.

I would like to say the experience and stay was marvelous.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RishiKanpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    110
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
145
100
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at Suhim Portico and let me tell you, it was one of the best experience I ever had staying away from Home.

Clean rooms / bathroom, nice interior, Fresh food, supportive staff, fabulous complementary breakfast.

Manager - Emmanuel, who is one of the founding members of Suhim Portico was a down to earth person and even helped over phone while myself and my wife was on the way to Darjeeling.

Staff at Suhim Portico are not Hotel Management grads but they know how to treat their customers very well. Emmanuel and his staff members are professional in providing all the facilities to their clients but with a HUMAN TOUCH, which generally lacks in bigger hotels.

All the very best to the Hotel Manager-Emmanuel and his Staff. God Bless you all.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite - 104 which was having Valley View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamAmi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in suhim portico for 3 nights n the entire stay was superb. Managers Emanuell and Tashi were highly cooperative and informative. The hoteltaxi and drivers(Uttam and Kalyan) were quite helpful as well. The hotel took care of us in all matters be it planning itinerary, rooms, food, taxi, sightseeing, booking hotels in others places of sikkim etc.

Overall, this hotel is definitely worth the stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RecentCraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Courteous staff. Good Hotel. Rooms are well thoughtout. Slightly away from the town at Gangtok. So reaching there at night after shopping is slightly uncomfortable. But I am sure they need to be more socially and environmentally responsible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raofca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was here for my Honey Moon and stayed at two properties namely Suhim Portico and May Fair Resort and trust me the service at Suhim Portico here is exceptionally good. Emmanuel (Manager at this hotel) and Raju Waiter, makes sure guests enjoy their stay, goes out of the way to guide the tourist on what is good that they do every bit they can do to make your stay comfortable . Rooms are good/spacious, food is good, ambiance is excellent and overall a very good hotel. The next best thing in Gangtok ,Hotel Mayfair (very expensive) but Luxury at its Best you can really consider both the properties...Very Great Value for Money and I had the Best Time of My Life!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDEEPMENKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

It may not be 5-Star rated hotel, but the service you get here is exceptionally good.

We got into a friendly relationship with Mr. Emmanuel (Manager at this hotel), he is gem of a person and makes sure guests enjoy their stay, goes out of the way to guide the tourist on what is good and valuably for them.

Rooms are good/spacious, food is good, ambiance is excellent and overall a very good hotel. The next best thing in Gangtok to Hotel Mayfair (very expensive) is definitely Suhim Portico, don't even think of staying elsewhere in Gangtok!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartbuddy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here from 2/01/2013 till 4/01/2013.Right from my first point of contact with the hotel for the bookings via email the experience has been excellent.Their managers Emmanuel and Tashi have helped me in whatever way they could on email and over the phone as well.We had planned a 3 days trip but as out train was late we had to cut the same to 2 days and our advance was adjusted against the same.Check in was personally taken care by Emmanuel.We had 3 rooms and he asked us our choice of rooms.We had initial problems in the 1st room but it was taken care of very smoothly.Food was excellent and we were given personal preference and hot home made tawa rotis.Must say they have an amazing service and dedicated staff as well.Only issue is that it is far off from M.G road market for which we need to take a taxi for Rs 100-150.This should be a complimentary drop and pick up by the hotel.When we checked out on 4th due to our stupid mistake we left one of our bags in the taxi when the taxi dropped us off at NJP station and Emmanuel was a big help in finding the same till be got the bag back.The experience after check out has also been excellent.Keep up the standards
!And hats off to your service and honesty of Gangtok people.

Room Tip: Just go by what Emmanuel tells you ....you can blindly trust him.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bindas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
1.0 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
0.9 mi away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sonam Delek
Hotel Sonam Delek
#3 of 118 in Gangtok
401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 118 in Gangtok
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suhim Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suhim Portico

Property: Suhim Portico
Address: Helipad Road | Near District Administrative Centre, Gangtok, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#4 Business Hotel in Gangtok
#7 Family Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suhim Portico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suhim Portico is ideally located, a new landmark in the hospitality sector in Sikkim. A three star classified luxury hotel. Besides the aesthetic architectural structure, the hotel edifice is indeed a fusion of Sikkimese & modern craftsmanship a rarity in the hills. Suhim Portico is known for its simple Sikkimese hospitality. We have different categories of luxury rooms to cater to different tastes and blends. The rooms have been divided into superior deluxe rooms, premier deluxe rooms, portico suites & presidential suite. We have also Honeymoon Suites to regale the newlyweds. A multi-cuisine restaurant, conference hall with all its gadgetry has a seating capacity of 100 people. It has been ornately created with a vision to host business symposium, seminars, weddings and all other activities of human interest. The property has a boutique with well stocked Sikkimese handmade material on sale. The approach road is free of bottlenecks & open to free vehicular movements at all times. Helipad is only two kms away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Suhim Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suhim Portico Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing