We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Suhim Portico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suhim Portico
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in December'12. It is indeed a very good hotel and has got very helpful and courteous staff. Amazing service.
The food was also very good.
The hotel is situated little bit away from market area but don't think it was problem for us since taxis are easily available and if you wish stay away from hustle and bustle of the market then it is a best choice.
In the second half of my tour i stayed in one four star hotel and i must say suhim portico scores above that hotel.
Would love to visit the place once again and this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnirudhaMurdio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    110
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
145
100
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We visited Suhim Portico hotel in August 2011. Since it was supposedly the Off season ,the occupancy was very low .The hotel staff went out of way to make our stay comfortable. Infact they upgraded us to the best suites in the hotel at no extra cost.
The valley view from the rooms & dining room is spectacular . We would love to visit this place again !!!!

Room Tip: Please ask for a room with a Valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maithilim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We visited the hotel at the end of Nov'12. It was a very good choice for every traveler. Every staffs were very helpful and we enjoyed our meal as well. The food quality and quantity was excellent. It was a memorable journey for us. Best wishes from Priyanka and Sagar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyanka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel scores because of the courtesy and dedication of the staff. They will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The food is excellent and even if there are only 4 rooms occupied, the variety in the fixed menu meals is outstanding. It is located a few miles away from the Mall but a taxi ride costs only Rs. 100 each way. The rooms on the first floor are probably the best.

Room Tip: First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeev-on-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I selected Suhim as an option for my trip to Gangtok based on the TripAdvisor reviews. Infact, I wanted to book Mayfair because of some suggestions given by my friends, however Mayfair was completely booked and also super expensive...

I booked Suhim through Agoda.com and was able to get a Deluxe Room.. Gangtok was the second leg of my trip and I was coming from Yuksam in West Sikkim... Suhim gave a warm welcome to us.. The Room was not ready when we reached, but they were kind enough to give us another room to freshen up from a long drive and some hot tea..

Then we were shifted from that room to 106... This is suppose to be the best room as per a lot of reviews and I would agree to that.. The views from this room were nice and they were overlooking the valley. Emmanuel, the hotel manager was very helpful and spent a lot of time with us by helping us with things in and around Gangtok.

Room - The room was nice and spacious. There were a few issues with water but the staff was helpful in getting us water to our room when needed... The bed was comfortable and the washroom was neat and clean.

Food - Heard good reviews about Suhim's restaurant from a lot of people around the hotel and I agree to them. The food was really nice.. 2 out of 3 nights we ate at Suhim and the food was amazing. Chicken Momos were awesome. The staff helped us with ordering the best so they get a A++ for that. Breakfast buffet was not widespread but good.

The hotel is not near to the market (MG Marg).. It's around 3KM from the location of the hotel. Use a local cab for a trip to market, it will be fun.

Overall an enjoyable stay...

Room Tip: Try and get a Room with help from Emmanuel.. He will give you the best.. We took 106 and it was Nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyDua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a really nice stay in the Suhim Portico. The room has been awesome and everything very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff has been very friendly and helpful, e.g. just offered us a ride if they drove by us on the road to the hotel (it's some walk to the "city center").

We had a perfect stay and can absolutely recommend the Suhim Portico.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jochen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel offers a great view of the valley....excellent rooms...and wonderful service...the hotel staff is very cordial and helpful...
wonderful stay....would recommend the hotel to anyone travelling to Gangtok and looking for a peaceful hotel with a great view.

Room Tip: if you are a couple ...ask for the room with view on both sides....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
1.0 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
0.9 mi away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sonam Delek
Hotel Sonam Delek
#3 of 118 in Gangtok
401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 118 in Gangtok
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suhim Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suhim Portico

Property: Suhim Portico
Address: Helipad Road | Near District Administrative Centre, Gangtok, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#4 Business Hotel in Gangtok
#7 Family Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suhim Portico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suhim Portico is ideally located, a new landmark in the hospitality sector in Sikkim. A three star classified luxury hotel. Besides the aesthetic architectural structure, the hotel edifice is indeed a fusion of Sikkimese & modern craftsmanship a rarity in the hills. Suhim Portico is known for its simple Sikkimese hospitality. We have different categories of luxury rooms to cater to different tastes and blends. The rooms have been divided into superior deluxe rooms, premier deluxe rooms, portico suites & presidential suite. We have also Honeymoon Suites to regale the newlyweds. A multi-cuisine restaurant, conference hall with all its gadgetry has a seating capacity of 100 people. It has been ornately created with a vision to host business symposium, seminars, weddings and all other activities of human interest. The property has a boutique with well stocked Sikkimese handmade material on sale. The approach road is free of bottlenecks & open to free vehicular movements at all times. Helipad is only two kms away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Suhim Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suhim Portico Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing