We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Netuk House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Netuk House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 212 Gangtok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and satisfied with everything. Excellent and caring services, spacious and clean room plus good location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKongDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netukhouse, Manager at Netuk House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind feedback.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you
Netukhouse family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Netuk House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 111 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

The Netuk House classifies itself on TA as an Inn/ B&B and that is how it should be considered. I stayed here for three nights during October 2011. My room had twin single beds which were narrow [3 feet width] and hard. An additional mattress was willingly provided. The room is basic with no TV, kettle or other complimentaries; only water jugs.. Bathroom is adequate with - surprise,surprise - a sink-plug. Plenty of hot water. The Dining Room is in its own block where I was cared for by an attentive waiter. The food is good. Generous portions that are warm [hot]. Hotel is clean and has nice views from the annex balcony. Apart from the Manager, the other staff did not speak workable English. I doubt that, unless you know the Tibet Road, you would easily find the Netuk House because there is no hotel sign. It is situated up several steps off a drive way so a taxi would be ideal..

Room Tip: The annexe balcony will have the best views.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldcodgerLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netukhouse, Owner at Netuk House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Dear Guest
Greetings from Sikkim.
Thank you for your kind feedback on this forum. We are always open to guest suggestion and feedback as it helps us improve our service towards our esteemed travelers.
Netuk house was opened to travelers seeking something different from the run of the mill accommodation which one would find in the big cities. The idea was to offer an experience where guest would be spending and learning about Sikkim, its culture and heritage.
With the changing times and guest demand we were duty-bound to upgrade the rooms.
Just last year we finished refurbishing all the rooms. Now we have LED TV with telephone facility in all the room. We have free Wifi for our in house guest. The mattress have been upgraded to 8 inch ones so that our guest can be spoilt and have a pleasant good night sleep.
We now have a very visible and traditional signage engraved on the wall. So the property can be located easily. We also have our location on google maps so locating the area will not be a concern now.
Thank you again. Hope to see you again in the future.
Netukhouse family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Overall a very pleasant stay. Very well located on Tibet road, about a km from MG road and a km from Ridge road, all amenities at walking distance. Very helpful owner, you feel well looked after.
They serve Temi tea - the best tea in Sikkim. Breakfast is very good with best ingredients and served courteously in a nice dining room using royal cutlery. Wifi is available. Good travel advice from Sonam (young and energetic owner).
Minor improvements could be better insulation for rooms and thicker mattresses (as in star hotels).

Room Tip: Green room is nice with big bathroom and good room size with TV.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajesh0agrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netukhouse, Manager at Netuk House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Dear Guest
We are glad that you choose and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feed back.
We had recently refurbished our rooms. Now all the rooms have 8 inch soft mattress with LED TV and telephone. We provide extra blanket and hot water bags during winters for extra heating along with the heaters.
Thank you hope to see you again soon.
Netukhouse family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Excellent service, hospitality added with care and personal touch. The rooms are absolutely clean and well done up makes one very comfortable, the view is super one can see the hills close by and we were luck to see the Kanchenjunga Mountain early morning when the weather is clear. We were lucky!!!

The location is just perfect, few minutes walk to the main MG Market and to near by places of Interest--Palace, Handicraft Emporium.

Our trip was made as soon as we entered Netuk House, we had a fantastic time relaxing sitting on the balcony and seeing the lovey scenic beauty. Don't forget to try Sikkim's special Tea, called TIMMIE TEA.

We have already recommend to our friends and am sure after one stays here one can never forget the trip to Gangtok.

Wahi's

Room Tip: The six rooms facing the hills has good view.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajaywahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netukhouse, Owner at Netuk House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We still remember you had come from martam village resort that day. We had given you room 103. Hope Maam and your daughter are doing good.
Thank you for your kind words.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you
Netukhouse family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

There is no need of giving tips because netuk house hotel was in itself complete and the best.But if you expand your hotel,more people will get the opportunity to experience your management and then it will be knownworld wide.my best wishes to you and m sure you are gonna go a long way.Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munnirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netukhouse, Owner at Netuk House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Dear Guest
Hope you and your family are doing good.
Thank you for your kind words. Your opinion really means a lot to us.
Hope to see you in the future.
Best Wishes
Netukhouse family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Hidden off Tibet Rd, Netuk Hotel is a wonderful retreat away from the bustle of Gangtok. The entry of a lovely lush rock garden (filled with birds) opens to a patio with uninhibited views of Khangchendzonga and mountain range. I enjoyed many cups of tea while gazing at the view from my deck chair! The wonderful, attentive staff and owner family members strive to meet your every need. Their restaurant food is one of the best in town (I noticed other tour groups not staying in the hotel bringing their guests to enjoy the restaurant cuisine- Sikkimese/Tibetan). My twin bed room, was very large and had two bathrooms- oh, and beautiful fresh roses in a vase (note- their bed mattresses are Indian style)! They have free wireless internet service and a TV with DVD capability in the restaurant area. A very special place.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the 'Tibetan' annex
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earhart_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netukhouse, Owner at Netuk House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Dear Guest
Hope your doing fine. Thank you for your kind and generous feedback. It means a lot to us when our guest return happy. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We recently upgraded all the rooms, and now we have LED TV in all the rooms. The mattress have been upgraded to 8 inch European standards ones, So that our guest can have a good night sleep.
Thank you
and wish you all the best.
Netukhouse family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I had a marvellous stay in Netuk House (7 days in December). This hotel is the best place in gangtok if you want a traditional sikkimese hotel. Very nice room, very nice view on Kanghenjunga, very close to main street of Gangtok, perfect! Moreover the family who manage this hotel is very nice and very helpfull. Netuk House is a warm-hearted place where one feels good and peacefull. I Recommend it strongly. Note also that the restaurant of Netuk House is really exceptionnal with an incredible traditionnal and delicate food.

Un hotel génial pour les amoureux de la culture du Sikkim!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luigimobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netukhouse, Manager at Netuk House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you
Netukhouse family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonam Delek
Hotel Sonam Delek
#3 of 118 in Gangtok
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.3 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
0.7 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
WelcomHeritage Denzong Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netuk House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netuk House Hotel

Address: Tibet Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Gangtok
Price Range: $87 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Netuk House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ne meaning pilgrimage and tuk meaning child, Netuk house, nestled in the heart of Gangtok, is an exemplar of traditional Sikkimese hospitality. Built in the late fifties, it was the home of Gellong Netuk Lama, executive counsellor to the Chogyal and one of Sikkim's affluent and prominent politicians. The house continues to remain in the family, serving as a home for generations to come. However, during the early nineties an old family friend Mr Sherap Thendhuffla, better known as the proprietor of Windermere hotel in Darjeeling, suggested turning this family home into a heritage home..intrigued by this idea and keen on sharing the rich history the home had to offer ,a year later this suggestion materialized into "Netuk House" aptly named after Netuk Lama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Netuk House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netuk House Hotel Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing