We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy that I choose this hotel”
Review of Hotel Sonam Delek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonam Delek
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy that I choose this hotel”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Hotel is very good, all the photos on the web are original. The room had a great view of Kanchenjunga from the private balcony. Rooms are clean and well maintained. 10 min walk from MG road. Food and breakfast is good. Prompt services. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vipulabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonamdelek, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sonam Delek, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
we not only thank you for such a good review but also for contributing such nice pics to our album.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    160
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
200
115
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel has by far the best view in Gangtok! It has rooms in 3 categories: 1100, 3000 and 4500. Both the latter rooms have great views. The Rooms are extremely clean with hot water etc and even the 3000 room is very huge. The service is great and surprisingly not very expensive!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obsessive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonamdelek, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sonam Delek, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
we thank you for highlighting our three key strengths ie location, value and service. we are ecstatic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hotel is situated from 5 to 10 min from MG road stand.From the view point I think this is one of the best hotel Gangtok.From the room/room facing balcony you will get a excellent view of Kanchenjunga.Hotel food quality is very good and upto the mark.Service wise they are very prompt.There is a flower garden in walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: You can pick room no 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itSandip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonamdelek, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sonam Delek, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
dear sir,
we thank you for your encouraging review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Gangtok was just a stopover for us during our recent trip to North Sikkim. Going by the reviews of the hotel in TripAdvisor we had chosen it for our short stay. The best thing that I liked about it was its location (with view of the mountains) and its service. It offers very good value for money and has all required modern facilities. Overall, the hotel offered me a very pleasant stay and I shall definitely like to stay in it whenever I visit Gangtok again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anidg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonamdelek, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sonam Delek, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
dear sir,
we are touched by the word excellent. we crave to have our guest experience the best from us.thank you sir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

First thing about this hotel is the view, it really nice. early morning you can see the mountains and the clouds going by.

The staff was very helpful and gentle. He helped with what ever information we wanted.

Food was delicious, that is the reason i didnt go out much to try other resturants.

The bed was not so comfortable and the room was damp. it was bcoz of the cloudy weather and countinous rain.

Room Tip: Try to take a suits with balcony view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohan_iiitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonamdelek, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sonam Delek, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
dear sir,
i think you stayed in the standard room. we hope to give you a more comfortable bed and a dry room in future. we thank you for your observation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Sonam Delek is an excellent hotel if you plan your trip (site seeings) wihout their help. They ruined my one day by providing a bad vehicle for an extremely dangerous road. Otherwise the view from hotel is excellent with a great service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srikanth_Aetukuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonamdelek, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonam Delek, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
dear sir,
for these reasons the management does not encourage any travel or tour operations from the hotel.we do help and facilitate our guest as and when we are requested to do so. In your case, I have found out that the hired vehicle had a technical snag and you had to return halfway to nathula pass.I believe you got refunded for the vehicle but not for the permit.
I have black listed the said travel agency and on behalf of the management i offer my sincere apologies for ruining your day.
I thank you for appreciating our hotel and at the same time cautioning us about the failing third party facilities provided by us. hope you come back again to stay with us and will let us serve you better in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here November, 2012 with my friends group. The location of the hotel is great, it is walking distance from crowded market place MG Road.

Hotel description:-
1) Food: Quality is very tasteful.
2) Service: Upto the mark. Staffs are always spontaneous and energetic.
3) Facility: With all modern facility.
4) Rooms & Bathroom: They have different category of rooms. Interior of each category of room is excellent and superb. Bathroom fittings are modern.
5) Staff: Active, Co-operative and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anirban1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonamdelek, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sonam Delek, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
dear sir,
we are overwhelmed with the choice of the two words MAGNIFICENT and SUPERB. we will strive to keep up with your review.thank you sir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 118 in Gangtok
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
0.1 mi away
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Bamboo Grove Retreat
#10 of 118 in Gangtok
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
#6 of 118 in Gangtok
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagorika
Hotel Sagorika
#40 of 118 in Gangtok
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonam Delek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonam Delek

Property: Hotel Sonam Delek
Address: Tibet Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Family Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two decades old and still the favorite in its category. Highly recommended hotel....The best location in Gangtok. Awarded the certificate of excellence thrice in a row ie from 2012,2013and 2014. Awarded the great destination by holiday IQ in 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonam Delek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonam Delek Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing