We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family memories to be cherished!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sonam Delek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonam Delek
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Family memories to be cherished!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our 1st outing with the entire family and we have to thank the management and staff of Hotel Sonam Delek, Gangtok for making it an absolutely memorable trip. The rooms (302,303) were excellently appointed with great views from the balcony while the largish clean bathrooms were supplied with continuous hot water. For us, with a small kid and old parents, it was a real boon. The food was always warm, tasty, generously portioned and served on time. Try their complimentary breakfast its truly princely (both Indian and Continental). My daughter had a great time and so did all of us! Even the guide and driver, appointed by the hotel reception for our sight seeing for two days, (Tarzan bhai) was a thorough gentleman! But, as a mother, I must thank the two youn gentlemen who got up from their sleep late at night to provide some warm milk for my little daughter who was having tummy ache! They didn't even bill it to us! We love Gangtok as it was also the honeymoon site for us, we're sure to go back in some time soon; and when we do we are sure to call on Mr. Krishna at this hotel for our bookings. We had got information of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Any room on the reception floor or above is just fine. the suites are very cozy and tastefullly done...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aparajita_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    150
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
186
109
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We travelled from Darjeeling to Gangtok via Kalimpong sight seeing. We reached Gangtok, MG Road around 6PM. Sonam Delek is 8-10 Min drive from MG Road"Mall". Private Car takes 60/- for one way. In case you want to avoid paying to Cabs ,You can walk/climb down through uneven stairs all through the slope of the mountain from backyard of the Hotel to MG Road through the Govt Hospital. But not advisable for senior citizens if they might not be accustomed to. Staying at Sonam Delek is an experience. View is awesome. Rate is awesome too but breakfast they serve is value for money which comes complimentary. One room service attendant is from Siliguri and he is really caring. Entire range of hospitality is having a professional touch. Nice stay. Rooms are really comfortable with extended balcony . Complimentary tea from balcony onlooking sunrise you would cherish for years.

Room Tip: Ask for attick rooms in 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kaushik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I for the first time visited Sikkim in the month of June. It was the great experience we ever had. We stayed in the Super Deluxe rooms. We planned to visit North Sikkim. The manager of the Hotel suggested me to stay in the sister concern of the Hotel Sonam Delek, Hotel The Planter’s Home in Mangan in my returning way to Gangtok from Lachung. We stayed there for one night which was the great value. The Hotels is 3 star category but quite affordable in room and food rates. After breakfast, having the local sight seeing around the Mangan we returned to the Hotel Sonam Delek. After the whole day journey we had the complementary Tea/coffee which was waiting in the room for us. We stayed for total 3 nights in this Hotel. The Hotel is on the good height and the mountain views are very good and clear from the room. Rooms are big and quite neat and clean. BIG size bed which is suitable for the visitor with family. Tasty food and very good service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manishsingh304554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonamdelek, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sonam Delek, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
thank you sir for your kind and encouraging feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bareilly, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have jst made a check in at 8.30 pm today (14th June '2013) in super delux category. extremly poor services.
hotel offers only 2 tea bags a day as complimentry - if u want strong tea/ extra tea / or u have extra guest in room, be prepared to shell out 100 +TAXES more to get a set of 2 tea bags, sugar and milk , AND every time u want.

At 9 pm hotel asks to rush for dinner as this the closing time for kitchen ( amazing as this is tourist destination)
well, we asked for kulchas with vegetable of their choice as written on menu card. Answer - only rotis r available at this moment. vegetable and daal both surved without salt and when a protest was made, the answer is - what is the big issue abt salt - we will provide u and u can add yorself.
( not to mention that food was served without onions - was provided only on repeated request.

Bed size in SUITE category is small - the width is not even 5 feet 6" - family visitors to be care full on this point

I made a booking of this hotel based on trip advisor rating. extremly disappointed.
I am planning to check out of this hotel tomorrow morning - u for sure cannot spoil your trip

The point of having the best scenicview hardly matters if u are not satisfied with room service

Room Tip: Super deluxe category rooms are not as spacious as one may think - esp family travellers as the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shashank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonamdelek, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sonam Delek, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
dear sir,
we thank you for your review and the feed back. we offer 2 tea bags and 2 coffee sachets, 4 milk sachets and 4 sugar sachets as complimentary in the super deluxe and suite rooms. we charge Rs100 for the second batch of the same package. this charge of Rs100 is to discourage repeat replenishment for free.
the 9pm last dinner order is done in all seasonal hill destination.we are extremely sorry for the saltless food served to you. i have also reprimanded my cook and the waiter for there sloppiness.we have queen size bed double beds(6'.6" x 5' )with six inches thick mattress and we have always been appreciated for our high quality mattress. we will install king size bed when we renovate next.
we hope we will be able to cater to you in the near future with the best of our ability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel Sonam Delek is a nice quiet hotel in the midst of gangtok within walking distance of the bustling M.G. Road with lots of shopping options. our room was big and very well furnished with a nice gallery with nice view of kanchendzonga ranges.It was a beautiful experience to have a cup of tea in the morning at 6 a.m. with this nice view.Was there in a tour package with kitchen caravan with gem tours so couldn't sample the hotel food but otherwise the hotel is good , quiet and had a enjoyable stay of 3 nights there in May 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snehal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonamdelek, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sonam Delek, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
dear sir,
we are so pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. we hope to serve you better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Sonam Delek for two nights during May, 2013. The property is constructed well. The rooms, restaurant, common area balcony were all neat and clean. We found the staff very kind, especially those of local origin. The food served in the restaurant was tasty and properly priced.

The front of the hotel lies right on the Tibet Road with no free space. But, the rooms are all located on the rear looking over the valley. From the room balcony, or the common area, one can catch a glimpse of the mighty Khangchendzonga in the early morning when the clouds are less and the sunlight falls on the peak. We were lucky to get a glance on one of the mornings which was relatively sunny.

The hotel is located in silent zone surrounded by the High Court, Legislature, etc. So, the surrounding areas have good roads with good footpaths and nice trees. It was a pleasure walking along the roads and enjoy the greenery.

It is also at a walking distance from the main shopping area of Gangtok, the Mahatma Gandhi Marg. Don't miss to check out the Lal Bazaar roads for a good bargain in shopping.

On the whole, we believe that the hotel offers great value for money.

Room Tip: Choose the room with a balcony for a view of the Khangchendzonga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arun_Murthy_65a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonamdelek, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sonam Delek, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
dear sir,
we are quite amazed with your spot on description of our hotel location. we thank you for your reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coimbatore
Level Contributor
176 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

When we visited gangtok,weather was a bit wet.and it was mist all over.there was not a chance of going to tshangu lake.but when mist cleared now and then,the mighty snow mountains were visible from the hotel itself.
The restaurant served excellent thukpa.staff were very helpful.
The cot was thin.but clean.so was the room.good but not great supply of hot water in the bathroom.
Overall , a nice place to stay,and within our budget too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sivaglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#3 of 113 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Bamboo Grove Retreat
#9 of 113 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagorika
Hotel Sagorika
#34 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
#6 of 113 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Hill Resort Gangtok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonam Delek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonam Delek

Property: Hotel Sonam Delek
Address: Tibet Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Family Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two decades old and still the favorite in its category. Highly recommended hotel....The best location in Gangtok. Awarded the certificate of excellence thrice in a row ie from 2012,2013and 2014. Awarded the great destination by holiday IQ in 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonam Delek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonam Delek Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing