We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view and good hospitality. will recommend this hotel”
Review of Hotel Sonam Delek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonam Delek
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had a great stay . Initially stayed in standard room for the first day and shifted to Suite for next two days.

Food was good and the service was great.Had a great candle light dinner with the view of mountains. Esp. Mr. Krishna, the Manager of the hotel was a great guy in providing service, even bec of him you can choose this hotel.

Enjoyed the gangtok with stay in this hotel. The room standard room was Ok, but the suite was great. Being we went in off season, most of the rooms are empty. Krishna provided with room with 35% discount.Had a great candle light dinner with the view of mountains.

In my next trip, I will choose this hotel.

Hope Krishna remembers us..

Room Tip: Try to get a room with view, u will enjoy it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellertopast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 405 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed at Sonam Delek in mid November for a couple of days. It was fairly easy to book over the internet (you need to pay in advance), people were responsive to queries on the phone and booking was without any fuss. This place is well known and easily accessible by road and taxi rides from anywhere in Gangtok to this place are reasonable. The views of Kanchenjunga from this hotel Balcony are fantastic (My room did not have a view and was therefore cheap). The staff was very responsive for any service requests - seeing some comments about non-english speakiing staff, I stuck to Hindi which seemed adequate with all staff. I think for the price (1200) / location (Gangtok), I was quite satisfied with the cleanliness of the place. Hot water and power was available at all times (which really seems like a premium in these areas). The bar was so so with few drink options, but cheap. I did not try the food - as the hotel was not crowded, the folks reuire guests to order in advance. Lots of good food is about 10 minutes away hence did not feel the need to order in house. Overall, I would go back again for this price, service and the fantastic view.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view cost about twice as much as ones without a view - depending on budget you could m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SriniGSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I highly recommend hotel sonam delek. Room with every requirement! room heater, tea/coffee maker, hi speed Wi-Fi connection in every corner of the hotel and I don't forget to mention you that the breath taking mountain view from room's balcony, its really enjoyable from the balcony with cup of tea/coffee. Very clean room and good service. All the staffs are very nice and polite, even they provided us hot water bags in our room at night. So, I will visit this hotel again!

Room Tip: super deluxe and suite rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumit p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Sonam Delek hotel in Gangtok, Sikkim

It has good views of the mountains on a clear day, it’s in the guide books, but it’s a hotel we came to dislike. The room was pricey, spacious and clean, yet the toilet seat was broken and totally loose, the glass shelf by the bathroom mirror was totally filthy when we arrived and was never cleaned (except, finally, by me) during our stay. There was no extra toilet paper, so when it ran out at night, we called the desk to ask for some. Said he’d send some up. It never came, so at least a half hour later we had to call again and very firmly repeat our request. We booked a taxi through the hotel for a day trip, and they got us the worst type of vehicle available for such trips on the local pitted roads, an older “box” vehicle with small tires (rougher ride), windows you couldn’t see out of without bending down constantly, etc. Other hotels on this trip all booked better cars. And, in virtually every transaction they did their best to squeeze a little more money out of you. Even laundry. Said it would be back same day. No mention of their policy that same day service has added costs, and their definition of same day is really more like 2 days. At first the desk guy pretended he couldn’t find the laundry cost chart, but when pressed simply printed one from his computer there at the desk. They overcharged on several items and had to refund money to us when we pointed it out. Just a poorly run place in our opinion, living on its past glory. We wouldn’t stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonamdelek, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonam Delek, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

dear sir,
we are so thankful for your review as it is a eyeopener for us.we do apologize for the dirty mirror shelf, loose toilet seat(but not broken) and delay in supplying additional TP. these are not pardonable and we have initiated a new system. we will improve and better ourself.
Regarding the taxi and the laundry, the reception only facilitates these services as we dont have in house laundry ,taxi service or travel desk. however, the laundry and the receptionist has been taken to task for there shoddy work.
we have been in hotel business since the last 22 years and we value our business. the location, the facilities and the price is just unbeatable and every year we improve to compete with the best.we value your reviews and keep a tab of it all. thank you once again and do come and visit us again and help us to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Unarguably one of the best hotels in this area with a gorgeous view, comfortable room and smiling, helpful staff. Being centrally located we could walk to MG Marg and other places close by. The Kanchenjungha was visible during day time from the rooms. Food was average. The only small trouble was that the geyser took an awfully long time to heat up.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrila12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonamdelek, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonam Delek, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

dear sir,
we thank you for the encouraging review. the water in the geyzer getting heated slowly is a problem in the hills during the winter due to the dip in temperature.this could be best avoided by spacing the the use of hot water between individuals. however if you come in summer, autumn or spring you will have no such problems. please do visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

we stayed at the hotel for 2 days[ 13-14th oct 2012 ]........really enjoyed the spectacular view of mt Kanchenjunga from the balcony......the rooms are spacious {it was comfortable even though we had an extra bed in room}....rooms have all the necessary amenities.....running hot water 24 hrs.....clean sheets..........gr8 room service.......plus the location of the hotel makes it a prime location to stay......just a walk away from the mall road........we took our breakfast at the hotel [European plan ].... the food was gud............
in all my family really enjoyed our stay at the hotel..........will definitely revisit the hotel in case i revisit Gangtok....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akansha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Sonam Delek from 9th to 12th November 2012. It is 5 minutes walk from M.G. Marg, so extremely centrally located. Since I am a person with a disability, I needed a hotel where I got the view yet did not have to navigate too many steps. Sonam Delek provided that with ease. The food was great. We especially enjoyed Sikkimese food and the daily breakfast of poori bhaji. Staff is good and very cooperative.The only thing that was a dampner, generally about Sikkim and not Sonam Delek in particularm was that everything shut down by 8.00 so if you had not had food before 8 or not ordered before 8.00 p.m, you had to mange without dinner. Otherwise a fantastic place. This was my second visit and would not mind going there the 3rd time:-)!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meenu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.4 mi away
The Sikkim Retreat
The Sikkim Retreat
#34 of 120 in Gangtok
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Namnang Courtyard & Spa
0.5 mi away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#22 of 120 in Gangtok
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Udaan Yashshree, Woodberry Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sterling Gangtok
Sterling Gangtok
#11 of 120 in Gangtok
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonam Delek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonam Delek

Address: Tibet Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Family Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range: $24 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two decades old and still the favorite in its category. Highly recommended hotel....The best location in Gangtok. Awarded the certificate of excellence thrice in a row ie from 2012,2013and 2014. Awarded the great destination by holiday IQ in 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonam Delek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonam Delek Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing