We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Mahindra Gangtok, Royal Demazong
Ranked #13 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Destination”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This place is a Honeymoon destination. Away from the city (it will cost Rs. 300/- one way to reach this place) this place gives a very cosy destination for couples. Good in outward loction, rooms are execellent, good hospitality. Food is a issue since the resturant is costly and we do not have any thing near by to consume. Rooms are provided with DVD's. But no internet facility in the hotel. If you plan to away from work and relax, this the place....But for shopping, you need to come to the town.

Not suitable if you are travelling with senior citizen

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Writetorangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    158
    48
    12
    2
See reviews for
212
83
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Fanstastic location right in the midst of the mountains. Almost 16Kms away from the city. You feel as if you would touch the mountains from your window. If you are adventurous then you can walk further down the road and actually climb down or climb up the mountains. since this is now managed by Club mahindra, there is no question about the ambience, room service, food or the staff or activities. Its all just excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumbaiIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The hotel was a nightmare for us...The worst part of our trip to the east!...This is the worst property of Club Mahindra by far...The rooms are quite big and roomy but that did not help much to change our impression of the hotel...the worst part of the hotel is its location...it is quite close to Enchey monastery and on the way to changu lake...but the approach is very poor...I would not recommend the hotel especially for elders since the you need to take quite a flight of stairs to reach the rooms from the reception...though there is another road that takes the car directly to the rooms but the road is so elevated that most cars cannot take the load and the passengers have to get off mid way anyway to shed some load off the car!... very poor layout!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nishitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The moment i checked into the hotel with my friends i felt like a big fool.....a question that made rounds into my mind was " Where is my girlfriend......?". Situated on the outskirts of the city and with a beautiful situs(location).......this hotel is a perfect honeymoon destination. Gangtok is a stopover or base for those planning to visit Tsongu lake and Lachung. However to visit Tsongu lake depends on lady luck. 30km away from Gangtok, the road is prone to landslides. Destiny din support us and we came back to `The Royal Demaxong` - Disappointed of a day being wasted. But `The Royal Demazong` made it for the lost day. Be it the location, hospitability, service all were top-notch. The cottages have bath tubs, dvd player, a refrigerator (filled with beer, wine and whisky) which adds to the beautiful wooden finish furniture. excellent food and snooker table made our day. Not to forget the hilly areas right from the balcony of cottages makes u feel on cloud 9. Overall the hotel only loses on two counts....necessity of a hot water jacuzzi for couples and space....ie. absence of garden, lawns or playingf area. But is value for your money for sure.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahil_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2010

The Hotel was too good.it has a pool table which is the best thing.Secondly.it has the location which is above the world.Thirdly, the cottages which they have are amazingly made carved out.
The worst part is that it is far away from the town which makes it costly to commute.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalu_jogani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

It's a nice hotel to stay at in Gangtok. The location atop the hill is something to experience. Hotels interiors are based on traditional sikkimese culture. Room service and value for money are o.k. Only thing is that it is located a bit away from the market and the hotel does not offer the pick up and drop service to the market. so, it upto you to manage.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemang4482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We had a good experience at Royal Demazong. They had made special arrangements for us on our Anniversary and made our stay memorable.

Pros:
Great Location.
Awesome view from the room.
Good wooden architecture and traditional feel inside.
Local flavour has been maintained.
Cheerful and friendly staff.

Cons:
A bit away from the city center.
Food quality below average.
Transport avenues poor and expensive.
Below average bedding.

  • Liked — The breathtaking views
  • Disliked — Food quality
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
2.4 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
2.6 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
2.3 mi away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 118 in Gangtok
234 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bamboo Retreat Hotel
Bamboo Retreat Hotel
#5 of 118 in Gangtok
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Gangtok, Royal Demazong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Gangtok, Royal Demazong

Property: Club Mahindra Gangtok, Royal Demazong
Address: Grba Road | P.O. Raj Bhawan, Gangtok 737103, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Mahindra Gangtok, Royal Demazong 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Mahindra Gangtok, Royal Demazong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Gangtok, Royal Demazong Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing