We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$51
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suhim Portico(Gangtok)
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bamboo Grove Retreat(Gangtok)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Residency(Gangtok)(Great Value!)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveler rating
453
176
39
13
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
176
39
13
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolroyal villabadminton courthuge propertyamazing propertykids play areabuffet breakfast and dinnerin housemain gangtokrooms are largenatural beautyroom servicerumtek monasteryan amazing experiencef btravel deskhill station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 706 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Clearly you aren't someone who's okay with a strong couple of words. Time to elaborate.

Well here you go. Built across a sprawling 15 acres with massive amounts of flora around, Mayfair Gangtok is absolutely brilliant in each and every aspect that I was introduced to. Be it the location, the hotel design and layout, the staff, the expansive rooms or the endless buffet counter at meal time in the restaurant – Mayfair ensures that you've an out-worldly experience.

Plus the fact that we were coming from Mayfair Darjeeling – which in itself is a remarkable resort, we did sort of have huge boots for the Gangtok one to fill. And boy, did they not fail to disappoint.

I shall put it very simply, especially for the ones who hate reading and jumped to this section directly: If in Gangtok, look no further than Mayfair.

Hell, with the kind of experience I've had, if in a city with Mayfair, you know what to do.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aroralihka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to review our resort. We are indeed happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. It is really encouraging for our team and motivates us to perform even better to ensure your next visit is even better than the last!

Have a great day!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

After our plans were derailed for the day we decided that a day of pampering would make us feel better so we headed of to Mayfair to check out the spa & have lunch.
Firstly I have to say the spa is quite beautiful & the actual treatments were very very good.
Unfortunately everything else was a let down & we ended up leaving disappointed, angry & annoyed.
My friend was denied entry to the spa's pool because she would feel uncomfortable in her bikini. The swimming costume that apparently would have been appropriate was something from the 1920's. After a rather heated discussion she was allowed in on the condition she get out should anyone else arrive (no one did).
After my treatments I was whisked out into the lobby area where I was left alone to wait for my husband. No offer of tea/water etc it felt like the hospitality went out the window once my treatment was done. I then waited for an hour whilst my husband and friend waited on the relaxing balcony. An hour! No one mentioned to either party that the other was finished.
Finally we met up & went to pay to find the machine was down. This wasnt to much of a problem as we could pay at reception.
Arriving at reception (my friend 5mins behind us) my husband let the lady know to do our card first as our friend was still coming. To which he received a rather annoyed look & was ignored. The receptionist then asked my husband to key in his pin. Which he of course couldn't. 10mins later we had finally paid.
Having been so pissed off that I had waited for an hr for nothing we decided that we would have lunch elsewhere and asked about a cab back into town. We were told 10-15min wait. Deciding that a wonder down to the road was worth a look we discovered a taxi stand with at least 10 taxis.
I didn't stay here but from the experience we had I wouldn't want to!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MorganBrownRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Ma'am,

We appreciate the time you have taken to review our resort and have noted your grievances.

Based on your feedback, we have made it clear to the Spa management that Bikinis are allowed. There was apparently some confusion with regard to this as in the past a few complaints did come from other guests who possibly were from a more conservative background.

On the treatments and being alone at the reception area, we would like to state the following in order that you as well as other readers understand the situation.

As per our records, ma'am, you opted for the Thai massage (1 hr) and a Facial (1 hr).
The other lady accompanying you took our Cloud 9 (90 mins), followed by a steam and shower, then took a break and came back for the pedicure (45 mins) along with the gentleman accompanying you'll.
The gentleman took the Balinese massage (60mins), followed by a steam and shower and then was relaxing at our Yoga deck before accompanying your friend for the pedicure (45 mins).
Clearly, your treatments had finished well before theirs and hence you were at the reception alone.

However, we are happy that you did like the treatments and the lady accompanying you even returned the next day.

Having said this, we would not like any of our guests to leave disappointed and if you did feel so, we would like to extend our apologies and hope that we see you again to make it up to you.

Have a nice day.

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

MAYFAIR HOTEL – GANGTOK ( SIKKIM )
1. As a Captain with Pawan Hans Helicopters Limited on an assignment with Sikkim Tourism Development Corporation, I was based at Gangtok over a period of five years. This tenure gave me the opportunity to ferry passengers to and from Bagdogra Airport to Gangtok on a daily basis. During the short 30 minutes flight from Bagdogra we cross the Mahananda Wild life Sanctuary, then follow the Tista River Valley passing through the picturesque Kalimpong & get a birds eye view of the Kanchenjunga Range on a clear day. The Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino were opened in 2009 & we were also invited to the opening which was a grand affair. I was joined by my family in Oct 2011 & we stayed at Mayfair for a day
Located at the foothills in Gangtok one is taken aback by the picturesque paintings and statues among lotus ponds as soon as you enter the hotel. Our suite was spacious & exuded the real charm of Sikkim and generously gave way to the abundant natural beauty outside.The room was designed and planned for utmost comfort. In fact each room has it’s own natural unique ambience.
The restaurants also have different themes. We dined at the Orchid with very homely ambience & the food was excellent. At tea time we sat at the Rumtek verandah restaurant with a beautiful view of the famous Rumtek Monastery enjoying a cool evening. A favourite one we visited was based on a Safari called “ The Jungle Cafe” with numerous moulded animals placed among the trees. It is a favourite among the children. Being an open air restaurant it adds to its ambience. The finest of cuisine, plenty of activities for the kids, entertainment and relaxation for adults make this resort a perfect destination for the entire family.
Casino “MAHJONG” – full fledged onshore live casino, the first of its kind in India opens from 4 PM to 6 AM daily & is the hub of activity in Gangtok. The casino is equipped with all the regular table games. Supervisors & staff were very smart & courteous & always served us with a smile. Moreover, the casino is also equipped with a variety of slot machines in addition to a restaurant and stage for live performances. Mahjong assures high-end gaming and entertainment experience to all its guests.

Room Tip: Choose a room or cottage facing the valley preferably on the upper tiers
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udaim2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our resort. We are delighted to see that you had a great experience with us and it was a pleasure having you and the family with us as well. Many thanks for the beautiful pictures posted as well!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Its always good to gantok as it is close to my city Kolkata . I always loved being there . But this time when i went there i stayed at the Mayfair Spa Resorts & Casino , and i was just blown away by the Hospitality of the staffs. It was like i am in some foreign country. The main attraction of the hotel was the newly made Casino which took all my attention. Its was also very cheap . All drinks and dinner on the house with live performance . it was so wow. Now i hav decided when i will be in the mood to play , i will go gangtok instead of Goa . Please go there enjoy the hospitality.

Room Tip: Bunglows are the best
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mayankdidwania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Mr. Mayank,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience at our resort. We are happy that your expectations were met and we would like to thank you for the time taken to post your valuable review.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

"Elegant...exquisite..enticing....exotic.." adjectives fall short when it comes to describing this abode.
I have many memories attached to this resort ..".I got married here this January.."
Its not just the three days of the marriage ceremony that i took back from the hotel... its the cordiality and sincerity of the hotel staff before and after the ceremony.The most courteous and accommodating team of people who would do their best to serve your worth. Undoubtedly a beautiful property with gratifying amenities all that one could ask for in a holiday resort.
The food was specially prepared to meet our tastes and needs and it was appetizing.The entire experience seemed to be a bed of roses credits definitely to the hotel.Thanks a lot to the hotel and the staff for make the wedding "picture perfect"...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khushboo_Golyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Ms. Khushboo,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort and we would like to thank you for choosing us to be part of the new journey your husband and you embarked on.

Weddings are always especially nice to host since the entire resort is filled with so much fun, enthusiasm and spirituality which naturally reflects on our entire team here who ensure we go out of our way to make the occasion memorable and personal.

Our best wishes are always with you and your family and we are certain we will see you soon!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews