We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting, far from town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
175 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, far from town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel is beautiful in a beautiful setting. Rooms are huge. It is far from town. Service is basic, not very friendly. Lot´s of stairs, ramps, etc. Not convenient for someone with difficulty moving. The meals served buffet-style with good quantity but quality and variety were not great. The spa was OK, nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoseDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your review of our resort and take note of the points you have mentioned.

As per our records, you stayed with us at the Suite 621 which is located one lift level up from the reception area after which there is a gently sloped pathway or an alternate stairway that leads you to your room. We do have golf carts which are available when guests request for them for any of our guests having a problem with the location of their room.

You would also be happy to note that since the last summer season this year, we have also kept a golf cart on stand by from 11am to 11pm to during our peak seasons to ensure the option of using the golf cart is instantly available.

Sir, your room was on the first floor but for guests having problems moving or requiring special assistance, we do have rooms on the ground level itself which are easily accessible as well as friendly for our differently abled guests. It is always helpful if specific requirements such as these / allergies, etc are mentioned at the time of booking so that the rooms can be appropriately allocated.

Since we have a buffet layout, we usually have to balance the cuisines as well as spice levels served . At the live kitchen that is the backdrop of the buffet area, our Chefs are always happy to customize a portion of the dish on the buffet to suit your palette.

Once, again, thank you for your review and honest feedback and we hope that Sikkim features in your holiday plans at least once more! Have a nice day!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    154
    35
    13
    16
See reviews for
265
156
8
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

So Gangtok doesnt have many resorts that one can call, resorts in the true sense. Mayfair is one of the very few resorts in the city. A little far off from the main "Mall" area, it can be a pain to get there if one doesnt have transport. The rooms are nice and clean. Food is great too. The resort offers some great views and is really blissful. Its tranquil and the rooms do have the air purifiers to bring some extra fresh air !

Room Tip: Villas seemed more spacious and luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer_absquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for reviewing our resort.
We appreciate the positive comments though I'm certain you would've seen, after visiting the Gangtok "Mall Road" area, creating a property such as ours would not have been possible. The silver lining is that you save at least half an hour on the day you arrive in Gangtok and another half an hour the day you are leaving Gangtok since we are 10 kms before the city and fortunately not close to the traffic jams exist closer to the main city area.

We hope to see you again soon so that you can enjoy the resort completely now that the sightseeing part has been done! :)

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The resort is good and pretty - seems like a miniature resort though. Has all facilities and lots of greenery. OVerlooks the hills but the views are not so great as there are trees right in front of the balconies of the rooms. The rooms themselves are pretty good. The staff was a bit uptight.

Didnt find it to be value for money

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RandomTravalOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest opinion in your review. We would appreciate some details on the experience you had so that we can taken appropriate measures to work on the issues. With regard to the rooms, however, in the Deluxe Category itself, rooms are in four different locations and hence views from each differ though the size, facilities and amenities are the same. We hope to get in touch with you and look forward to your detailed feedback.

We do hope that you come back to Sikkim and give us the opportunity to serve you better the next time around.

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was a bit skeptical about how good the resort would be when I booked. But after staying there for 2 days I have to say Mayfair was awesome. If you go to Gangtok, then you should stay here.
The service from the time we entered till we packed and left was very good, everyone was friendly and helpful.
The rooms are lovely, the view from the hotel in general is WoW. The food was very good. My mother who does not like eating restaurant food was really enjoying the food here.
The facilities are very good from the pool, to a badminton court and a casino. The weather did compliment our stay, given that it was drizzling or raining most of the time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanngy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Ma'am,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are happy that your experience with us was good and absolutely delighted that your mother also had a good time. We love seeing the family elders accompanying families on vacations as these memories will always be special.

We hope to see you and the family in the not so distant future!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Mayfair Gangtok - situated at Ranipul is a very very nice property - very clean and very comfortable rooms, each room equip with a dehumidifier for that extra clean air and freshness. We had been at mayfair for 3 days and I must admit it was truly a pleasure. The hotel staff are very very good and the best thing is that thay always have a smile on their face.

The morning breakfast buffet was very well spread offering both Vegetarian as well as Non vegetarian delights and the dinner was equally good. We preferred having snacks for lunch as our lunch timings were very off ; 4-5PM in the evening.

The neighbouring Casino in the same compound; is also very nice with live dance (some may find it vulture) but then what else do you expect at a casino...

Over all I would recommend anyone going to Gangtok to stay ONLY at May fair - staying anywhere else would be a complete waist of money.

The spa is annoying as they make a 8AM "wake up call" which pissed me off completely - no one who i know would go to the spa after being pulled out of bed soooo early. apart from the persistent calls from the spa - even the spa is good though a little steeply priced - but nice.

Room Tip: Delux room - we stayed at Room No: 121 and 124 - 121 has a very good veranda - do ask for rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ankitgoenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Goenka,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are indeed encouraged by your positive comments and have taken note of the the Spa call in the morning which has been addressed. We are, though, happy to know that you did like the experience at the Spa.

Hoping to see you again!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

An experience to cherished forever, living in lap of nature, we were on family vacation - it was wise decision to book our stay at Mayfair, the facilities are excellent, it takes care of adults and kids as well, the rooms cosy and clean , all minute details are taken care of , the buffet was lavish , with fruits , multi cuisine, the service was prompt and personnel ready to serve you what ever you ask for.
Kids and adults jumped and had great fun in the swimming pool, the attendant was ever willing to help and give his points on how to swim.
over all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBOLSEMAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mr. James,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are happy that you had a good family vacation with us and it was indeed a pleasure having you. We hope that the fond memories you have taken will bring you back here soon!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hey if Mayfair Darjeeling was a beautiful small Hamlet out of a fairy tale story Mayfair Gangtok was a huge modern setup...There was so much to explore...You need at least a day to spend just relaxing in the hotel....Kids had so much to do there....Staff was good ....Rooms were very well kept....All the amenities were well-provided for...All in all and awesome property!!!!

Room Tip: Go for Suites....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gguptaDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Ms. Gupta,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on this forum. We appreciate your comments and certainly look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
3.0 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
2.6 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
3.5 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Summit Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#22 of 110 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 110 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino

Property: Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino
Address: Lower Samdur Block | Ranipool, Gangtok 737135, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Business Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Spa Hotel in Gangtok
#3 Family Hotel in Gangtok
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of Himalayan Ranges and surrounded by green foliage, there lays a luxury sweet home with royal facilities and services in the capital city of Sikkim. Yes, MAYFAIR Spa Resort & Casino Gangtok or MAYFAIR Gangtok is a luxury home for those who come to explore the beauty of Mother Nature. Being a 5-star deluxe hotel surrounded by lush greenery, MAYFAIR Spa Resort & Casino is the pride of the city providing world-class accommodation to honeymooners, nature tour lovers and those who want to spend time in tranquility and luxury. The luxury hotel has total 68 rooms divided into executive rooms, cottages, suites and villas; while spa (award-winning spa facilities), multi-cuisine restaurant, bar facilities, indoor & outdoor games and above all casino make it an ideal destination to enjoy holidays in Gangtok, Sikkim; even entire North East. The home of India's First Five Star Deluxe Live On Shore Gaming Casino and a multiple award winning Spa, Mayfair Gangtok Spa Resort & Casino is a 48 acre large resort situated 10 km away from Sikkim’s capital city of Gangtok by a little known town of Ranipool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Gangtok Hotel Gangtok
Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing