We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable and enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

After few busy months, this was a planned holiday with my wife and we chose Mayfair Gangtok for 3 night stay in luxury cottage. My trip was planned last minute and I was quite skeptical of getting this room considering Mayfair one of very few luxury options in and around Gangtok, but being an off season my travel agent did manage my booking. And the best part it was upgraded to suit once I reached there. The quality f room and amenities were superb. As I wanted to relax more and was not keen on anything outside property, I lived the property to fullest.

Day1: We went for couple spa which indeed was fabulous and completely worth the money. It did help me relax and sooth my senses. We enjoyed pool and gym and also the game room. The hotel looked pretty deserted which I was not expecting. Games room has a pool table, carrom, chess and tennis. We enjoyed playing pool. One problem here, there were no attendent to help us and we took a while to figure things out. Swimming pool was excellent and so was the weather.

Day 2: We hired a car with the Mayfair itself and went for 5 point tour, and quite frankly, except for gangtok city's MG Mall Road, everything was quite boring (but these stuff depends, I am not too fond pseudo man made nature watching) this made our day quite tiring but yet all right after a dip in the pool. Same night we went to casino Majhong and it was again a fabulous experience. Casino is highly recommended for all the visitors going to Gangtok.

Day 3: We did not intend to go out for any excursion, so went to their DVD library which had brilliant collection of hollywoods and bollywoods. We hired 3 DVDs and rest of the day was sorted.

We had all the meals in property itself and was quite pleased with the quality of food offered. Only one complaint here- quality and variety in deserts were not enough and did not really match up to the standard of the hotel.

So overall a brilliant experience, a serious burn in pocket but given the quality and standard completely worth it. Would definately look forward to stay in more Mayfair properties

Room Tip: I experience two suits Rm# 113 and 611, later is far better so given an option u must choose the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agarwaals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Agarwal,

Thank you for your elaborate, detailed review of your stay with us. We'd also like to thank you for the few points of constructive criticism where we we will be working on to ensure your next stay with us is nothing short of absolutely perfect! Have a great day!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 637 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at the Mayfair resort in Gangtok for 2 days during a friend's wedding. The rooms are big, neat and clean and the view from the rooms is excellent. It's a great place to relax and have a good time in Gangtok. It is located outside the main city center and you need to take a cab to get to the city. The resort is beautiful and if you've come to relax there is no need to go to the city! Even though you are in a resort your privacy is not compromised. Book an appointment at the spa and get a pedicure while enjoying the wonderful scenery or just take a long walk. Great for an idyllic and luxurious vacation :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geetanjali85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Ma'am ,

Thank you for your positive review of our resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed the resort and we look forward to having you with us again.

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Mayfair Gangtok has been so far the best resort I have ever stayed in. The hotel has not tried to hold themselves back on anything. Their rooms are very spacious, they have almost all facilities, the staff is super courteous and food was the best.

There are few things one must take into consideration. Gangtok itself does not have too many good places. The real attractions are Nathuala pass and Changu Lake which are very far from the resort. When travelling over 20 kms it is a good idea to take the resort transport and especially a large car like Innova or Bolero. For local visits such as MG Road please prefer the normal cabs which stand right outside the resort.

Also try Thongba a local alcoholic beverage. (It takes time to make it hence tell the bartender in advance).

The SPA,

The spa has very good infrastructure and it is spotlessly clean. The staff is very knowledgeable and very caring to your personal needs. I did not like the massage but may be thats because it was my first experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akshar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Akshar,

Thank you for your positive review about our resort. Yes, we are about 20 to 30 minutes away from the main Gangtok town but thats what gives our guests the peaceful, easy feeling you enjoy at our resort. Moreover finding 48 acres of lush tropical and semi Himalayan forest closer to Gangtok was a little difficult. And the best way to look at it is that you definitely reach your destination whether coming or going much faster. It was a pleasure having you with us and once again thank you for the review!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

No less was expected from Mayfair at their resort in Gangtok. The group has spared no expense in creating this luxury destination for the discerning traveller, one to which no other hotel in Sikkim comes anywhere close. I have experienced the Mayfair touches at their other resorts too, notably in Puri, but here in Gangtok, they have excelled beyond their own standards. I need not dwell on details, which have been rightly pointed out by other reviewers. But with its stunning hillside location, views across to Rumtek, greenery, a world class spa, luxurious rooms and toilets, this property is an impressive one. Definitely adds a new dimension to Gangtok, which was short of resort quality of this standard.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher levels probably have better views.. there are minor variations in size and layou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ajay04_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Ajay,

Thank you for taking time out to review us and score us a perfect 5/5 in all aspects. We're glad you had a great time with us and look forward to having you with us again!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Although the whole memories of the stay at the property were amazing but just one expensive stolen belt and the memories go in vain. I would definitely recommend the property for staying as everything is in-house (casino, spa etc.) but make sure you keep everything in the electronic safe (including ur undies!). Buffet breakfast sucks big time. Needs a change of chef or something!

Room Tip: book the suites if they suite ur budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VineetDassani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Dassani,

You would be aware that you had checked out at 1pm on the day of your departure and subsequently called us at 4pm to inform us of a belt you were missing. Having cleaned the room within an hour of your departure, we found no belt but still sent our Housekeeping supervisor along with our Accommodation Manager to re check the room. Having further gone through our process for recovery of missing items claimed by guests we have been unable to trace the location of the belt you claim that has been left back.

However, we do appreciate that your stay otherwise was pleasant as also mentioned by your colleague in our visitor's book.

We would like to assure you and other guests that our resort staff or management gains nothing by "stealing" guests' belongings and you can rest assured that we would not tolerate such incidents with the security and checking processes we follow in relation to our Human Resource management at the resort.

We do hope you recover your misplaced belt and look forward to seeing you again at our resorts.

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A 48 acre property with a fantastic resort, yet you feel that you are inside nature or forest.....surprising isn't it? This is Mayfair...Gangtok. A visit to Gangtok, maybe even from Siliguri, the nearest big town of West Bengal, remains incomplete if you do not munch some fantastic grilled sandwiches at Orchid and a Cappuchino !! Time and again this place can be so close to your heart..The employees are smiling and helpful. Hope such resorts can be a guide for some enterpreneurs who make odd resorts and fleece visitors. Kudos to Mayfair Group !!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mountainpicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for the time taken to review our resort. Since you are just at Siliguri we hope to see you even more often! Have a great day!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

May Fair resort and spa Gangtok is a property that would appeal to all and is a punter's delight. Though it is located at Ranipool about 11 kms before Gangtok its Location and approach is very good. In fact its a blessing in disguise that you are away from the crowd and one with nature. Its a huge property and enough words have been used to describe in all previous reviews. I would rather provide info which would be of some small help.
We were on the Monsoon Package so our transfers were very efficient and the check in process very smooth. A tour of the resort followed in the Golf carts but the locations are very easy to find.Rooms are of decent size and furniture usual, but the bathrooms are worth mentioning its sheer size with a tub , seperate shower . The breakfast Lunch and Dinner are excellent in terms of the decor,ambience, Staff and ofcourse the taste.Tasty mention on the Live pasta counters is imperative , but lassagne on that day was indifferent. May be the chef's mood was a bit tangy. Last but not least the Casino where excitement begins 7.00 pm and goes upto 1.00 am is the place to be esp when the wife is asleep.
Some Tips. Try to reach early (Mountain roads unpredicable) and try motoring on SUVs. Check the place out incl the Libarary, plan ur sightseeing and try and make it half a day so that u spend more time in the resort and the pool. buy ur liquor in sikkim its cheap but consume it, u will not be allowed to put it even in the check in Baggage citing security reasons or thirsty security?order ur snacks from Room service and chill out. Try the spa and write a review!

Finally Kudos to Mr. Dilip Ray for creating such a Precision Team machine which just keeps churning quality and satisfaction day in and day out.
Disclaimer. All my food reviews are for that hardened vegetarian or a carnivore who’s willing to forgo the meat for at least one meal.

Room Tip: room 421 is a good place with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ravishankarMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Shankar,

We are delighted to have read your review and learn that you had a great time with us. Looking forward to your next visit.


Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
3.0 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
3.6 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
WelcomHeritage Denzong Regency
2.6 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
0.0 mi away
Saramsa Resort
Saramsa Resort
#21 of 118 in Gangtok
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino

Address: Lower Samdur Block | Ranipool, Gangtok 737135, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Spa Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
#3 Family Hotel in Gangtok
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range: $151 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of Himalayan Ranges and surrounded by green foliage, there lays a luxury sweet home with royal facilities and services in the capital city of Sikkim. Yes, MAYFAIR Spa Resort & Casino Gangtok or MAYFAIR Gangtok is a luxury home for those who come to explore the beauty of Mother Nature. Being a 5-star deluxe hotel surrounded by lush greenery, MAYFAIR Spa Resort & Casino is the pride of the city providing world-class accommodation to honeymooners, nature tour lovers and those who want to spend time in tranquility and luxury. The luxury hotel has total 68 rooms divided into executive rooms, cottages, suites and villas; while spa (award-winning spa facilities), multi-cuisine restaurant, bar facilities, indoor & outdoor games and above all casino make it an ideal destination to enjoy holidays in Gangtok, Sikkim; even entire North East. The home of India's First Five Star Deluxe Live On Shore Gaming Casino and a multiple award winning Spa, Mayfair Gangtok Spa Resort & Casino is a 48 acre large resort situated 10 km away from Sikkim’s capital city of Gangtok by a little known town of Ranipool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Gangtok Hotel Gangtok
Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing