We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Sea view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ajantha Sea View Hotel
Ranked #28 of 179 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel has 4 rooms - 2 standard and 2 deluxe all with sea view. I would say that the only advantage of this hotel. Rest all is ok. The room were of different sizes based on what you choose. Even the standard one were having different dimensions. Deluxe one were much larger.

I believe the management is basically concentrating on the restaurants in ground and roof top; there seems to less hospitality provided for people who stayed there. We had a tough time negotiating with the hotel staff - almost for everything. Check in / check out is 12 noon, which causes lot of difficulty.

Room Tip: Choose this if you want a good view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prabhu_Kumar_BLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 63 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

dont expect room service, food, or things etc..... only book this for a great sea view for room only on high floors (2 or 3ed floor)..... booked one and had amazing view , specially in the morning....felt as if we are in a ship ....couldnt see roads/people ..only sea :).....

room had fridge and was spacious enough.....

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank RaghavBhardwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We shifted to the Ajantha Sea View Hotel after two days at a guest house in the center of tourist Pondicherry. We had checked out several hotels and guest houses and found ocean front Ajantha a very good value. It bills itself as a “business hotel” and while it’s not a four star hotel it was quite satisfactory on all counts including price. Be advised that the Ajantha is part of what seems to be a complex of three hotels (we checked out each one) in the same building but with different entrances and very different accommodations. The entrance to the Ajantha is directly from Goubert Avenue the road that adjoins the Indian Ocean. Our room on the second (third) floor fronted the ocean and had large glass doors on two sides that opened onto separate balconies. The room was very large, with a refrigerator, television, two sofas, a wooden storage unit with plenty of space for our belongings and a large bathroom with a good supply of hot water. There was a room service menu (we did not use) and service was good. In fact the young ladies who cleaned were quite accommodating. There is a restaurant on the premises and a bar as.

The hotel is located near the southern end of Avenue Goubert but we found this an attraction since at 6:30PM each evening the avenue is closed to traffic and becomes a promenade for pedestrians with no roaring motorcycles and blaring horns. Although located at the edge of the Old French Quarter everything is within easy walking distance and falling asleep to the sound of the waves across the road and awaking to the sun rising over the sea outside was well worth the trade-off.

Room Tip: The corner ocean front rooms are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottInIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

...but not very good value. Spent a couple of nights here while attending a wedding in the town. Great location on the sea-front but the palce is very tired and lacks charisma. It didn't help that I had spent 4 nights at Fishermans Cove in Chennai which was just perfect. Looking around town there looked like lots of better hotels for similar money, tho without the sea view.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights in October. We had booked two standard doubles, but both were of different sizes - one quite tiny. But the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were reasonably clean. Towels were changed everyday. The view was great and as far as I know as all rooms are sea-facing. It is located in the French quarters and very centrally placed. I would definitely stay there again. However, the service in the cafeteria is extremely slow and frustrating. Best avoided. We lost lot of time waiting for breakfast to be served. One morning we had to wait for over an hour as someone had gone to get the bread!! Better to eat out, specially breakfast when you are raring to go and explore the place. Food at the restaurants (one on the first floor plus another on the rooftop) was good, though it took a while to come. Basically they are understaffed. Also, we saw tiny cockroaches in one of the rooms. So sleeping on the floor on a rollaway mattress for an extra person, is out of the question. Overall it was a pleasant stay and the view,the access to the promenade and the location made up for the deficiencies.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderworld13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The best part about this place is that it is right at the center of the town and near the sea facing road. The rooms though are average and finding a parking for your vehicle can get difficult. We chose this place mainly because we were on a tight budget and also this was the only place at the location that had rooms available at the last minute.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChennaiChinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hi, After a lot of comments i been there for one day but this is not a toll hotel,its dharamshala. No cleness, very small room, no maintaince. The only advantage is you can see the sea view.....Otherwise it does not deserve 3500 INR for one day. I find Ginger Hotel is best one, stay there and take auto it will take 60-80 INR to sea and Just chill..

Room Tip: Try Ginger..... the best hotel and value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.4 mi away
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
#43 of 85 in Pondicherry
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
0.1 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 85 in Pondicherry
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anantha Heritage Hotel
Anantha Heritage Hotel
#11 of 85 in Pondicherry
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#16 of 85 in Pondicherry
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajantha Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajantha Sea View Hotel

Address: 50 Goubert Avenue, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range: $47 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing