We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Sunway Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sunway Manor
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
norway
Level Contributor
89 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed June 6, 2010

This is would be a five star hotel if it had a swimming pool and a spa. The service is excellent, the rooms are great, the food is great. The wifi is complimentary, and the hotel is very reasonably priced for what you get. very good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glukos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    264
    81
    13
    4
See reviews for
273
135
10
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2010

I have wonderfull experience in this hotel. Rooms were spacious neat and clean. The buffet breakfast was excellent. The lounge bar was brilliant. The location is close to market.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

The buffet was really nice and it was arranged excelently.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepalJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Service from the waiting staff could do with updating. More training required. Too many managers, too few waiters. More staff required in the bar. One serving the customers is not enough.
I don't need a waiter to spoon my rice etc onto my plate.
Was there for three weeks ~ never knew there was a swimming pool, as they advertise!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingWillie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

This hotel is clean, but service and comfort were lacking. The beds are hard foam 'mattresses' which are painful to sleep on -- not something Westerners are used to. There's free wi-fi in the lobby, but no signal in my room. I had breakfast in Gardenia restaurant, and though there were only 3 tables occupied in the whole restaurant, it took way too long to get things like water and coffee. The waitstaff could use a little more training about service.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stayed for two days during March 2010. A place frequented by Foreign residents the hotel is neat and clean. Complimentary Buffet available at round Floor resuaurant which seemed to be cramped with too small tables.

Overall a vlaue for money proposition and adeal for families and people on leisure and business trips.

Recommend this hotel.

RAMACHANDRAN

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdrnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

I visited this place during the last week of dec...when it is fully booked out. I had booked through a travel agent and due to some confusion the booking was confirmed even after it was fully booked. Due to this confusion, when I finally reached there, I got a twin room instead of the double room. Other than that glitch, the place was awesome.

The room was very good, with a mini bar (charged) and all other facilities one would expect in a luxury hotel. The restaurant at the basement was decent....had very good ambience....the food was also okay. The complementary indian/continental breakfast was really good. The room service was also good.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koolkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.1 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
1.7 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#17 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
7.8 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#18 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
2.1 mi away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunway Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunway Manor

Property: The Sunway Manor
Address: 100 Feet Road | Mudaliarpet, Pondicherry 605004, India (Formerly The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry)
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#2 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#7 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunway Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUNWAY MANOR - IT'S A LOT MORE THAN JUST A PLACE TO STAY. It features a contemporary ambience that is blended with traditional South Indian hospitality. Located in the city center, it presents 61 aesthetically designed spacious rooms, OPEN HOUSE - 24 Hour Restaurant, GARDENIA - Multi Cuisine Restaurant, LE VERANDA - Open Sky, DELICE - Cake Shop, ASTA - Bar, Spacious Banquet Halls, PALI - Spa & Fitness Studio, RA - swimming pool, kids' play area, biggest parking, etc., which suit your leisure and business requirements. Opulent in decor and detailed in needs ensure an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sunway Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunway Grt Grand Pondicherry Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing