We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay - good hotel, courteous staff. Recommended!”
Review of The Sunway Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sunway Manor
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay - good hotel, courteous staff. Recommended!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for a night and an extended 2nd day, had booked two rooms.

It was a family visit (with our son and parents) and throughout we enjoyed our stay very much.

They have two swimming pools (part of the same pool area) with one for toddlers so our son had a great time. Water was clean and we enjoyed jacuzzi, steam and a complimentary foot message at the spa. The Spa services costing are a little on the higher side though.

They have a small but decent gym as well.

The breakfast was complimentary and good, the staff courteous and well trained making our stay very good overall.

They do not have travel services but the front office desk can provide you with travel info and there is an auto stand diagonally opposite the hotel in you want to enjoy Pondicherry by an auto.

Located centrally, its near to the station, Promenade and even Chunnambar (Paradise) beach.

We got a good deal on Expedia offering good savings so it was value for money,

They have smoking and non-smoking rooms on different floors so you could make a request accordingly.

Only one suggestion for only some of the rooms:
The disadvantage to some of the rooms is when it is too sunny the curtains are not thick enough to block the sunlight and the room may be too bright even when they are drawn.

Easy to fix this issue - The hotel could use thicker curtains and some good sun screen on the windows to help against the hot sun.

Recommended for families - do look up the various hotel sites for a good deal as several hotels are competing by offering attractive prices to direct the flow of the customers and the prices for the same hotel could vary considerably!

Room Tip: They have smoking and non-smoking rooms on different floors so you could make a request accordingly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rommelsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for staying with us. Your valuable feedback are useful to all tripadvisor users and also motivation to our team. Have noted your suggestions. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More" . Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    269
    82
    13
    4
See reviews for
281
137
10
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were a family of 3 (2 Adults and 1 kid). The Rooms are very clean and spacious and most of the site seeing locations are just 10 to 15 minutes drive from the hotel. The hotel has a very good gym with all modern equipment's and a must visit for all fitness enthusiast.Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npb235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for staying with us also suggesting to others. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Your feedback would motivate our team to do more. Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Our tour group stayed here and all were pleased. Clean and comfortable. Beds are firm and room was quiet - made for a good night's sleep! Free WiFi. Breakfast buffet had all the basics and service is good. But don't plan on walking the neighborhood - it's in a commercial portion of the city with no interesting shops, restaurants, etc. that would appeal to a traveler.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DebrainDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for staying with us with your group. Your feedback will be very helpful to all tripadvisor readers and also motivating to our team. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit our GRT properties with your group to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids) staying for 3 nights. Good clean, comfortable and spacious room with all the promised in-room facilities. Good swimming pool with clean water and a swimming coach. They sell swimming costumes at decent rates. Kids loved the pool.
The breakfast buffet had good variety, but you need to be on time to get all of them - it gets over during the later stages. The Al-Carte restaurant was not great and can be avoided.
Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deep0033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for staying with us and your feedback as well. Shall pass on your positive sentiments to my team who will be enthused and motivated. We at GRT always strive hard to live up to the expectation as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit our GRT hotels to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

GRT is a great place to stay but quite expensive. If you don't mind the money so much it's the place to be in on your next trip to Pondicherry. We only stayed for one night, but found the room to be great, and satisfactory for our needs. Kids loved the hotel atmosphere.

Room Tip: Negotiate with management if you can..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braveknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for choosing the GRT group to stay with us and thank you very much for your kind feedback which will be helpful to tripadvisor users and also a motivation to our entire team. Will pass on your positive sentiments to our entire team who will be enthused. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit our properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regars
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We are family of four, yet we were not given 'No Smoking' room, as a result room smelled. Room and bath are run down and needs refurbishment. The bed linen looked as if not washed properly or being reused- it definitely did not look invitingly clean. The ala carte service at restaurant was horrible. We waited for almost an hour for just Dal and bread basket and had to return back for taking wrong order. Yet, the person taking insisted that we have waited for just 15 minutes, indirectly indicating we were lying. The breads served were literally burnt and non palatable.

On the positive side, buffet breakfast served was good and had variety. Gym was spacious and quite well equipped. Pool is clean and large. Steam/ Sauna had good service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PradeepPaliwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for your feedback. We will take your suggestion and get this corrected in your forthcoming visits. Please do let us know your next schedule to make your stay very comfortable.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We chose this hotel since we wanted a comfortable and reliable stay. The hotel staff was always courteous and provided quick service. The rooms are neat and clean. We called up room service for an extra towel and they brought 2 of them in no time at all! We were were impressed with their prompt service. The breakfast spread is very good. The coffee is a refreshing delight for the mornings! A must-have. They offer complimentary fruits in your room, we were happy about it on day 1, but it was missing from day 2. Same goes for the hand towels, not sure why they didn't replenish them.

The mini-bar is well stocked. There are enough hangers in the closet, pretty rare in hotels. Hot water all the time. Free high speed wifi. (I mean it, and I am posting using the same !!) Very comfortable beds and extra pillows.

Excellent, excellent food. We preferred to eat at the hotel than outside even though Pondy boasts of a number of eateries. The food was delicious and we fell in love with the Tuscan Tomato Soup served at Gardenia. (Ordered 3 times in 3 days!!) South-Indian, North-Indian food everything is of real good quality, I hope they retain the Chef who is key to their success!
It might be a little too pricey, but then we know what we'll get! Room service was excellent and it literally turned our humble room to a restaurant with attention to all details including salt-pepper, tissues, etc., and the food was delivered piping hot to the rooms as well! We were simply awed and could enjoy the privacy.

Only disadvantage is that, if you don't have your own vehicle, then it can be a pain commuting to the City center. If you're here just to relax and have fun, then you are at the right place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTravellerInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Mr Subbu,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for using our hotel and giving us a thorough feedback about our hotel which will help all the tripadvisor users and a motivation to our entire team. Your feedback are very helpful to correct ourselves in the grey areas. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Our team team definitely will be enthused to read your positive sentiments and will be a boost for the team. Please do visit our GRT group of hotels to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 9003010137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.1 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 81 in Pondicherry
1,110 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
1.7 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#16 of 81 in Pondicherry
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#28 of 81 in Pondicherry
375 reviews
11.3 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#19 of 81 in Pondicherry
765 reviews
3.4 mi away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#43 of 81 in Pondicherry
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunway Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunway Manor

Property: The Sunway Manor
Address: 100 Feet Road | Mudaliarpet, Pondicherry 605004, India (Formerly The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry)
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#2 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#7 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunway Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUNWAY MANOR - IT'S A LOT MORE THAN JUST A PLACE TO STAY. It features a contemporary ambience that is blended with traditional South Indian hospitality. Located in the city center, it presents 61 aesthetically designed spacious rooms, OPEN HOUSE - 24 Hour Restaurant, GARDENIA - Multi Cuisine Restaurant, LE VERANDA - Open Sky, DELICE - Cake Shop, ASTA - Bar, Spacious Banquet Halls, PALI - Spa & Fitness Studio, RA - swimming pool, kids' play area, biggest parking, etc., which suit your leisure and business requirements. Opulent in decor and detailed in needs ensure an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sunway Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunway Grt Grand Pondicherry Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing