We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”
Review of The Sunway Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sunway Manor
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We are family of four, yet we were not given 'No Smoking' room, as a result room smelled. Room and bath are run down and needs refurbishment. The bed linen looked as if not washed properly or being reused- it definitely did not look invitingly clean. The ala carte service at restaurant was horrible. We waited for almost an hour for just Dal and bread basket and had to return back for taking wrong order. Yet, the person taking insisted that we have waited for just 15 minutes, indirectly indicating we were lying. The breads served were literally burnt and non palatable.

On the positive side, buffet breakfast served was good and had variety. Gym was spacious and quite well equipped. Pool is clean and large. Steam/ Sauna had good service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PradeepPaliwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for your feedback. We will take your suggestion and get this corrected in your forthcoming visits. Please do let us know your next schedule to make your stay very comfortable.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 627 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We chose this hotel since we wanted a comfortable and reliable stay. The hotel staff was always courteous and provided quick service. The rooms are neat and clean. We called up room service for an extra towel and they brought 2 of them in no time at all! We were were impressed with their prompt service. The breakfast spread is very good. The coffee is a refreshing delight for the mornings! A must-have. They offer complimentary fruits in your room, we were happy about it on day 1, but it was missing from day 2. Same goes for the hand towels, not sure why they didn't replenish them.

The mini-bar is well stocked. There are enough hangers in the closet, pretty rare in hotels. Hot water all the time. Free high speed wifi. (I mean it, and I am posting using the same !!) Very comfortable beds and extra pillows.

Excellent, excellent food. We preferred to eat at the hotel than outside even though Pondy boasts of a number of eateries. The food was delicious and we fell in love with the Tuscan Tomato Soup served at Gardenia. (Ordered 3 times in 3 days!!) South-Indian, North-Indian food everything is of real good quality, I hope they retain the Chef who is key to their success!
It might be a little too pricey, but then we know what we'll get! Room service was excellent and it literally turned our humble room to a restaurant with attention to all details including salt-pepper, tissues, etc., and the food was delivered piping hot to the rooms as well! We were simply awed and could enjoy the privacy.

Only disadvantage is that, if you don't have your own vehicle, then it can be a pain commuting to the City center. If you're here just to relax and have fun, then you are at the right place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalTravellerInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Mr Subbu,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for using our hotel and giving us a thorough feedback about our hotel which will help all the tripadvisor users and a motivation to our entire team. Your feedback are very helpful to correct ourselves in the grey areas. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Our team team definitely will be enthused to read your positive sentiments and will be a boost for the team. Please do visit our GRT group of hotels to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 9003010137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in Sunway GRT for two nights. Chose this hotel as the tripadvisor review recommended this for a family stay (had a kid and an elderly person with us).
Pros -
1) Good Location...short driving distance to Promenade, Boat trip to Paradise beach...
2) Swimming pool and Spa are well maintained.
3) There is a small playing area for kids.
4) Polite staff

Cons-
1) Food was average (both the breakfast and dinner buffet). Specifically the breakfast buffet served in the restaurant downstairs during our first day was cold. The service was poor as well..not sure if it was due to lack of enough staff...as we had to keep asking for everything (from water to spoon).
2) One of the rooms had leakages in the bathroom fittings...got resolved after multiple calls to the reception...it took more than a day to fix them.
3) Effeciency of service needs attention...The person in the reception could do well with a smile.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnandANair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Mr Nair,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand,

Thank you for your feedback which will be helpful to all trip advisor users and motivation to our team. Have noted your suggestions and will implement the same. Please let us know during your next visit to take care of your needs.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel. The hotel is very impressive. The staff is friendly and professional.

Pro's:
1. Swimming pool, jacuzzi etc.
2. The food is simply great.
3. A well stocked mini bar.
4. They have a 24 hour coffee shop.
5. The spa is excellent.
6. The rooms are spacious and done up well.
7. They have covered car park

Con's:
1. The only one i can think of is that it is away from the Heritage Town and Pondi Beach so if you are not driving then commuting can get painful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank askmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand!

Thank you very much for your precious feedback which will be helpful for all the trip advisor users and also a motivation to our entire team. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan :The promise of More". Please do visit our properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Overall decent stay experience. The experience of easy and swift internet booking made me book GRT most of the places in Tamilnadu. They deliver what they show and offer on internet. Also, they give special rate when you book from internet. Restaurant food is good and tasty. Go for it rather trying anything anywhere. Clean room, helpful and trained staff. Wi-fi is the only weak point. Some urgent work and I have to go to their business center but no help. Anyway, it happens sometime when you need some service very urgently, nothing works. But they tried to do everything they could.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikasDutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Mr Dutt,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback which are helpful to trip advisor users and also motivation to our entire team. Shall pass on your positive sentiments to my team who will be enthused. We at GRT always strive hard as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit our properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Having stayed in most of the hotels and some resorts in Pondy, while taking short breaks, away from the maddening Chennai crowd, we wanted to check out the GRT at Pondy and we were not disappointed. It is surely up there with the best in Pondy. They seem to always have a special package rate with goodies ( free foot massage, discount on other massages in their well maintained Spa, discount on food bills, etc ) thrown in. Right from check in to Check out, the service is very good. Quite centrally placed, the hotel is just a few kms away from the beach,shopping areas and well known restaurants A minimum 2 night stay is a must .

Room Tip: Ask for their special package rates. Swimming pool facing rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Mr Anand Simon,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand,

Thank you very much for sparing your precious time with positive feedback which will be helpful to all trip advisor users and certainly this will motivate our team. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit GRT hotels to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Chose the hotel basis TA reviews and not disappointed vis a vis expectations. Good location (easily locatable and touristic French quarter is anyway at a 15 min drive distance). Rooms were decent. Food was very good with both breakfast and lunch buffets having good choice and delicious. Restaurant one level below also served us a very nice Thali. Ambience here however very dull. Absence of local tourist info at the reception is a negative, with basic info also not available with the staff. Some inputs/training to them would help. Overall service good with friendly staff. We forgot one bag when we left Pondicherry. One of the staff members, Shankar, contacted us by a process of elimination and informed us about the bag, while the security manager, Shivan, went out of his way to coordinate with us and make sure the bag was delivered to us. This will always leave positive memories with us.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Venkatesht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Mr Venkatesh,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for your positive feedback which will motivate our team and also helpful to tripadvisor users. Have noted your suggestion and will do the needful for the same. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Our team is dedicated to their work to make every guest's stay a memorable one. Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
1.7 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#15 of 83 in Pondicherry
637 reviews
11.3 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#20 of 83 in Pondicherry
801 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#24 of 83 in Pondicherry
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
3.4 mi away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#38 of 83 in Pondicherry
49 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 83 in Pondicherry
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunway Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunway Manor

Address: 100 Feet Road | Mudaliarpet, Pondicherry 605004, India (Formerly The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry)
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#1 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#7 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range: $50 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunway Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUNWAY MANOR - IT'S A LOT MORE THAN JUST A PLACE TO STAY. It features a contemporary ambience that is blended with traditional South Indian hospitality. Located in the city center, it presents 61 aesthetically designed spacious rooms, OPEN HOUSE - 24 Hour Restaurant, GARDENIA - Multi Cuisine Restaurant, LE VERANDA - Open Sky, DELICE - Cake Shop, ASTA - Bar, Spacious Banquet Halls, PALI - Spa & Fitness Studio, RA - swimming pool, kids' play area, biggest parking, etc., which suit your leisure and business requirements. Opulent in decor and detailed in needs ensure an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sunway Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunway Grt Grand Pondicherry Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing