We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”
Review of Hotel Du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Du Parc
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A neat and clean hotel, right in the middle of the white town. All the attractions are right around this place. Though situated on a main road it is very quite place to relax. The restaurant has awesome sea food too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drsidharth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 462 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

A group of boisterous Iyer cousins meeting after a long time creates decibels, re-builds nostalgia and is generally considered memorable.
We chose Du Parc based on a recommendation and found it to be a serene place with an old world charm. Neat and clean room and toilets done up in the Portuguese heritage style with a combination of pastel and bright shades was something I loved. Good room service and a fantastic location within Pondy makes it addictive for us. Food is decent and the linen is good. But if you are expecting a 4 or 5 star level of ambiance, this isn't for you.
Whatever said, we loved it immensely and the manager Ravi at check out politely requested if we could write a review on trip advisor. :)

Room Tip: The suite on the ground floor is very nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhanurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It's a lovely place, Hotel Du Parc, the rooms are beautiful and the staff are lovely; when the aircon in our original big, stylish, comfy room broke down on our second day, they moved us into an even bigger one. The guys at the front desk were incredibly helpful in pointing us in the right directions for shopping and cooking lessons and they lent us an electricity adapter, telling us we could hang on to it even after we'd left the hotel (we stayed in two other places in Pondi, and we gave it back to them before we moved on to Madurai. Bear in mind that a lot of the leccy fittings in Pondi are French, and don't fit your Asian adapter!).

The one drawback is the food; we didn't eat dinner there, but the breakfast wasn't up to much, consisting of tired toast, overdone scrambled eggs and watery tea.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pxyzyzygy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The staff is really hospitable and available round the clock , the rooms are very comfortable and definitely makes you feel your on a vacation, also gives you that feel of staying in a colonial home. The food is excellent, the midnight biriyani we had was simply out of this world and the complementary breakfast is truly wholesome in all sense. The location of the hotel is apt as well as it is close to the beach as well as to the shopping centre. It was truly a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishruta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had 4 rooms here with a group of friends (25-35 years old).

Good
-Hotel staff are great- especially at the front desk.
-Across the road is a temple with an elephant you can feed (remember the elephant area is part of the temple so dont smoke here).
-clean rooms
-AC is good
-Hot water shower
- nice roof top place to chill and eat
- good dosa breakfast
-hotel staff can organise scooters
-walking distance to shops and sea front

bad
-shower and toilet have no bounderies so after shower all the bathroom floor is wet.

all in all a very good stay.

Room Tip: bring slippers for bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mistry86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our stay at Du Parc was not very pleasant.The structure itself & the rooms are quite mesmerizing but it wasn't very well kept.The bathroom was pathetic.The door was literally falling off & there were cobwebs all over the place.We visited this place in Jan 2012 for our anniversary.
The website boasts of really good food but the food served at the restaurant was no where close to descent.This was a real turn off.We ate at the restaurant only once & for the rest of our stay we ate at Promenade.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swarnima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. Our arrival was dealt with quickly and efficiently. The room was spacious, clean and cool. The bathroom and loo were separate rooms which was a pleasant change. As much hot water as you want. A large and comfortable bed, good fast internet in the room combined with pleasant staff all resulted in a good stay. The food in the restaurant was good value was the whole stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 85 in Pondicherry
1,193 reviews
1.8 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#17 of 85 in Pondicherry
658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 85 in Pondicherry
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#18 of 85 in Pondicherry
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 85 in Pondicherry
530 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#27 of 85 in Pondicherry
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Parc

Address: 5 Jawaharlal Nehru Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: $54 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Villa Selvom - restored as Hotel du Parc with close proximity to the beach and the Auroindo ashram, was built in the early 17th Century and was a part of Villa Aurome. It has served in the past as the residence of many French Governors including Dupleix. The Villa has been remodeled as a reflection of the colonial times. Nestled ingeniously between the mango and coconut trees, the hotel offers two exquisite Multi-cuisine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing