We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Food...and Terrible Service”
Review of The Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Promenade
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I have been to Podicherry several times and have stayed at the Promenade before, which I quite liked. However this year I traveled with my family during the Christmas vacations and i have to say that the hotel has taken a turn for the worse. The service is extremely poor and the food at the roof top restaurant was the worst food I have ever had in a very long top. To add injury to the salt the food was overpriced, stale and it took 4 phone calls to get the manager to come and talk to us. In the end we asked the restaurant to wrap the food and we gave it to the dogs.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rnandi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2009

Really its a very good place to stay in Pondicherry. Its in the French colony & has an excellent sea view.Rooms are very classy with all modern facilities(AC,Mini Bar,LCD TV...).Have dinner in the roof top in the hotel,it's breezy & has en excellent view of the sea.Food is also good.If you want to stay in the best hotel in Pondicherry then go for it but the tariff is also very high.Now I think its 7500Rs/Night.Try to get Sea view room.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravellingLife_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Great experience. Family loved the stay and enjoyed the vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank joymumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

great place and good food.. perfect for a holiday in Pondi..

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank buddyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We had two rooms, one overlooking the pool the other overlooking the street, both had great views to the sea.
We loved the location, right on the Promenade. The rooms were great, the staff were so helpful. We would definately stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

This is my 4th time to pondy and 1st time at Promenade.The hotel staff are very friendly.If at all there was any problem they would attend to it in a jiffy....definetly felt very pampered....very nice hotel....the best location....centrally located to evrything....a must stay...and the presidential suite is worth a mention ....the deluxe rooms are pretty good too....!!!!i would recomend it to family and friends....dont give it a miss!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramdarira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

It was a awesome stay for my friends and myself.at first we all were so confused that where to stay at the southern side, we have gone through so many hotel websites but wanted something different this time,then we came to know about this hotel and through website of this group.
it is really a Incredible Promenade Hotel having a luxrious rooms.
we took three rooms all sea facing rooma on the first floor.rooms are really spacious and the amenities are just more than you expect,they have everything in the rooms,and the one which they dont have it in the rooms i got that within a seconds of time,unbelievable,excellent service they provide.
after having a heavy breakfast we all friends went back to the rooms again,gossip and watched movie,slept,took out our whole years stress on those days only.really peacefull.had lunch in the room itself,and the evening time gone outside for the promenade and did lots n lots of shopping.shopping in pondicherry is just like changing anyone's upset mind in this whole world.the clothing,the taste,anticpieces,furniture and what not everything you will get.
after buying the whole world again back to the luxurious time,went into the pool,not much big but very clean and safe too,the pool attendent was very helpful.
then at the bar drinks were expensive but really move you out of this world.
enjoyed alot.
KUDOS TO EVERYONE OUT THERE.
Cheers.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yuvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
517 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#20 of 82 in Pondicherry
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
508 reviews
2.0 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#17 of 82 in Pondicherry
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Promenade

Address: 23 Goubert Avenue | opp. Gandhi Statue on Beach Road, Pondicherry 605001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range: $98 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Promenade is a luxury boutique hotel on the ocean front of one of India's most beautiful and romantic towns. Most of the rooms overlook the shimmering waters of the Bay of Bengal. Stylishly designed rooms with wooden flooring, specially designed luxury bedding, LCD TV, work desk, Wi-Fi, tea-coffee maker, fully loaded mini bar & electronic safe. DVD player and movies on demand service. All rooms are accented with exquisitely crafted pure leather accessories & an inspiring leather head board. All baths come with a hand dryer, bath tub, magnifying mirror and international 'Bodyshop' toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing