We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Promenade
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2008

We stayed at The Promenade for 3 days. A lot of people had advised us to stay at one of the charming villas in the french quarter, but we wanted the anonymity and comfort of a regular hotel.
The best part about the hotel was its location. We had a sea facing room and (although the window was small and there was no balcony) the view was awesome. Food was good, service prompt.
The bad parts..the rooms are getting old, wood is creaky, rooms are smaller than they look in the photos. We also had a series of unfortunate events..there were no towels (apparently the towels hadnt come back from the laundry, so we had no towels.....the entire day!!!!), the electricity in our room kept going off ( some fault in the AC, because when the power came on, the AC had conked off), the TV didnt work (had to be replaced!!). It just all happened to us!
Still, the hotel is nice, the staff is good (specially at the reception) and everything is walking distance. A word of advice when booking, though. I looked at all the travel websites, and the hotel's own website..the rates for the room were 10,000 rupees per night. When I called the hotel office(sarovar group) directly, I was given some weekend package (no mention of this on their site), which gave me 2 nights for 10,000! Half of what I would have paid normally.
All the trouble was worth the early-morning walk at the beach, sitting on the rocks and watching the waves. So if you want the comfort and familiarity of a regular hotel while exploring the french quarter and creole cuisine, The Promenade is the est choice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Maintenance
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKumarsInDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    380
    144
    62
    34
See reviews for
335
303
51
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2008

We stayed in December 2008, and were unfortunately very disappointed. The room was pleasantly decorated, unfortunately at noght they use a generator to power the air conditioning, and this was right below room. The staff were disinterested, blaming the noise on a building across the road. I had to visit reception at 4.a.m. to take the receptionist outside to show, and listen to the unit in action. It was turned off fpr around 30 minutes, then restarted. I was advised that I had to make a choice between a/c, or sleep!
Not a good experience. definitely not recommended.

  • Liked — well appointed
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank oonajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

My family stayed here for the Christmas holiday 2007. It had been recommended to us by a friend living in India. We had a good experience overall, so no regrets. Its quite expensive but deserves its 4* tag. Its worth noting that its a modern hotel, so if you want to get a taste for Pondicherry's historical side, then look somewhere else like the Oriental. The Promenade has a great location on the seafront and many rooms have great views over the impressive promenade. Its probably the most stylish and chic hotel in Pondicherry with good attention to detail in the rooms and public areas. The swimming pool is very small and looks like a tokenistic afterthought. Don't stay here if you like to hand out by the pool. The bedrooms are very nice, but a bit on the small side.

  • Liked — good location and stylish decor
  • Disliked — the tiny swimming pool is a joke
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JBALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

The hotel is really very good. It is located in the best area of Pondicherry , the French Quarter.The staff at the hotel are very polite and courteous. The buffet at their restaurant is really very good and comprises of excellent variety.The rates are also very reasonable.
A must visit !!

  • Liked — Grat food with great prices
  • Disliked — The swimming Pool is very small
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ssab_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

Date - August 19th, 2008
Writer - Rupak Bhattacharya (a recent guest at The Promenade)
Contact : rupak.bhattacharya@gmail.com

The property is a splendour to see, both from inside and outside. The first thing that greets you is the guy at the front door, welcoming guests.. I assure you he goes way beyond "doing his job".

The reception goes out of their way to help out their guests.. Specially with directions to places worth seeing, etc.

The bar is awesome, and so is the ground floor restaurant. Be aware of the Egg Station during breakfast though - sometimes it takes about 40 minutes to have an omlette served! So, place your eggs to order first!

The issues are basically with Room Service - They are so eager to get you off the phone..Sometimes it takes a while to decide what you want to eat when you are on a vacation :-) A patient listening is all that a vacationing guest needs..
Though LISTENING has always been a training need for the entire service industry

The major issue that we faced, was when we booked a table for dinner at the Lighthouse rooftop restaurant -

The service team out there defied all possible rules of engagement with a customer...

We were at our table for appx 30-40 minutes waiting for someone to come and help us.. For that entire period, not for a single minute did someone lay our table mats, served us water, etc...

Sometime after 30 minutes, our order was noted...

20 mins later, came our main course first!! WHAT HAPPENED TO OUR STARTERS???

Anyway, the Captain apologized, and put the starters "On The House"... Well, Thank You Cap'n.. We appreciate your reaction to this issue.. The question is, at INR ~5K per night, why did that blunder happen in the first place??

Anyway, Check In, Check Out, and general interaction is good..

Overall, I would score it:

7 out of 10 for property
9 out of 10 for Front Desk, Bell Desk and welcome
4 out of 10 for Room Service
7 out of 10 for the Ground Floor Restaurant
3 out of 10 for the Lighthouse Restaurant
8 out of 10 for Housekeeping

Overall 6 out of 10

  • Liked — The location, sea facing
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rupakbhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
209 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

The view from our room was perfect. We could see the beach, the promenade's constant stream of strollers, exercisers, vendors, and all sorts of people ranging from those covered from head to toe in black to young people wearing very modern dress (but never too revealing.) The huge room itself was well outfitted with good media, sitting area, excellent bed, good linens, many wonderful windows, desk and table, good reading light, well equipped bathroom, sufficient toiletries and towels, and attractive decor. The breakfast buffet was huge and the staff helpful.

The only problem we encountered was that the free wireless internet in the rooms was not compatible with mac and my laptop is mac. The hotel engineer spent over an hour in our room trying to reconfigure so it would work but was never successful.

  • Liked — Beach front view
  • Disliked — internet problems
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank larktrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

We ended our trip travelling in Southern India with a stay in the Promenade. It was a choice between booking it or Le Duplex and on balance we decided on the Promenade, though having read some of the reviews here we were slightly apprehensive. However, I really cannot understand all the negative comments and we were very pleased with everything about this hotel and delighted with our choice. We visited the Duplex for lunch and yes, it was very nice but extremely quiet and very hot in the courtyard for lunch.

I agree with the comments about the bathrooms (exactly the same mosiac tiles in Le Duplex) and while the bathroom was small it functioned well and everything worked. They did look 'tired' and in need of some TLC, due to the difficulty in keeping the grouting clean in such a humid climate - bad design rather than bad housekeeping we felt. The first bedroom we were shown was adequate but I felt rather cramped. When I asked if they had another, the immediately showed us to another room which was glorious - three enormous floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Bay of Bengal. After we went to bed we opened the shutters and we were able to watch the sun rising over the Bay (We were on the 2nd floor). We loved the Lighthouse restaurant and also the main restaurant downstairs but best of all was to be right in centre of the evening promenaders. An added bonus was a very nice outside area to have drinks or even a meal. A wonderful and very happy experience, thanks in no small way to very helpful staff.

  • Liked — Location cleanliness of room
  • Disliked — Mosaic tiles in bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#9 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#16 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
9.2 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Promenade

Property: The Promenade
Address: 23 Goubert Avenue | opp. Gandhi Statue on Beach Road, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Promenade is a luxury boutique hotel on the ocean front of one of India's most beautiful and romantic towns. Most of the rooms overlook the shimmering waters of the Bay of Bengal. Stylishly designed rooms with wooden flooring, specially designed luxury bedding, LCD TV, work desk, Wi-Fi, tea-coffee maker, fully loaded mini bar & electronic safe. DVD player and movies on demand service. All rooms are accented with exquisitely crafted pure leather accessories & an inspiring leather head board. All baths come with a hand dryer, bath tub, magnifying mirror and international 'Bodyshop' toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing