We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad to the Bone”
Review of The Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Promenade
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were set to stay at the Promenade for one night. If it had been for two, we would have moved. Some details: poorly designed bathrooms with glass louvers looking out to the bed....but the glass lovers are filthy and they are rusted shut. The room was so dirty you didn't feel clean after taking a shower. And the breakfast.....no manager in sight. We had to search someone out to get a poorly cooked meal. And that package left for you at the front desk.....we asked for it....told it wasn't there...but after our guide probed....there it was on the floor under the desk. Ahhhh....how can we forget the noise from the locals at the heavily promoted pizza party....or the view of the Promenade from the rooftop restaurant.....the shoulder high wall blocked it very well. Find another property.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hhandker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Promenade Hotel,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about the hotel and its services. I apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay with us. I have discussed your feedback with the team and will take all measures to correct them.
I do wish to have you back with us soon.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
There are newer reviews for The Promenade
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel by far is the best located in Pondicherry. Bang on the promenade hence the name. The hotel also looks so pretty lit up in the evenings and feels like a cosy retreat to a weary traveler like me.

I got in late one night and the check in was quick and efficient and the service efficient. Got to my sea facing rooms which was quite large, however the maintenance of the place was downright shoddy. Agreed that this hotel has a lot of wood paneling which is difficult to maintain but that is no excuse, either maintain it or get rid of it.

The room overlooks the sea and is a beautiful sight in the evening, however come morning you are woken up with the sun blazing into your eyes. Half asleep it takes a while for your brain to process there are no curtains and the sunlight is actually streaming in from the gap in the wooden shutters and there is absolutely no way to shut it out.

The bathrooms are also quite shoddily maintained and a revamp ASAP.

We moved to another hotel of the same grup "Les Dupleix" which was very nice the next day.

We did come back for dinner the next night and must say the roof top bar and restaurant did not dissapoint.

Room Tip: Dont take the sea facing rooms if you dont want to wake up as soon as the sun goes up.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goga_Pasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Mr Pasha,

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for your feedback on the hotel and its services, I have noted all your concerns and have shared them with the team and we have taken all the measures and corrected the same. I apologize on behalf of my team and wish to have you back with us soon.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had a lot of expectations built from the hotel, didn't get what I assumed I would. Pondy was over-full because of Pongal and we didn't get a good room at the hotel which was a total let down. Still I believed the regular room should have been a little better. It felt really small and the bathroom was even smaller. Looked like the place was slipping away.
The hotel is fantastically located on the beach and has excellent sitting options, on the pool deck or the beach front where you could just relax and watch the world go by with a cocktail in your and and wood fire pizza to bite on. I love the roof top restaurant too. If its a busy time of the year,I recommend you book your table early if you wish to dine in the rooftop resto.
The food has definitely taken a fall for the bad. The breakfast buffet was really bad,felt like the hotel was trying to scrape through as a classy place. Food was untasteful and not a great variety either which I would expect as its a place where travellers come not only from India but a mix of European nations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PranavGoyal1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Mr Goyal,

Greetings from the Promenade Hotel,

Thank you for your kind feedback about the hotel and its services, i apologize that you you were not satisfied with our services. Your feedback has been shared with the team and we will work towards improving the same and wish to have you back with us.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went to this restaurant after having two days of atrocious food at other highly rated restaurants at Pondicherry. We went in for a relaxed sumptuous lunch and got just that. We ordered a mix of Indian and continental dishes. The food served was tasty and of good quality, except for the salad. The service was courteous and more than made up for any waiting time for the dishes.

We selected a window table with an awesome view of the sea. Location is a big plus for the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abd_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for your feedback about the hotel and its services, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit at the hotel and we were able to deliver the services to you.
we wish to have you back with us soon

Warm regards
Gaurav Suri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

i wud like ti thank u for the services offered to me and my friend who had come from abroad,we had our dinner by the pool side.we had a lovely time.it was just awesome.iyappan was very gud,credit to all the staffs working at promenade.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank vijaycasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Mr Vijay,

Thank you for your feedback and comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your evening at the hotel and liked our services, thank you also for mentioning the staff names that delivered the services to you.
We hope to have you back with us soon.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I just wish the quality of service is better at the restaurant. the restaurant does not serve good food after 10.30 pm!
This said, there is nothing wrong with the facilities. The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good and the distance to the beach is limited. The garden may be small, but it’s a relaxing and quiet place – one where you really don’t mind spending an afternoon or two with a good book.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuchenDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for your feedback about the hotel and its services. I am glad that you enjoyed our room facilities but were not happy with the restaurant services. I have taken up this matter with the team and have taken corrective measures to see that the service standards are maintained at all times.
I apologize on behalf of my team for this unfortunate incident.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My mother and I stopped by the Promenade hotel to have a cup of coffee and grab a bite to eat. Despite the fact that we were the only people in their restaurant, it took them ages to get us a glass of wine, a cup of coffee and 2 starters. The food was average to taste. Then we had to wait for a further 10 minutes after we asked for the cheque for someone to remember us! If this is the service in their restaurant, one hates to imagine what the service in the rest of the hotel must be.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Sir / Mam

Greetings from The promenade hotel,

Thank you for your feedback and your valuable comments about the hotel and its services. I would like to apologize to you for the service delays that you faced. I have taken up this matter with the team and have taken all corrective measures to see this does not happen again.
i apologize once again for this incident.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
516 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
497 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#20 of 82 in Pondicherry
785 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Promenade

Address: 23 Goubert Avenue | opp. Gandhi Statue on Beach Road, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range: $91 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Promenade is a luxury boutique hotel on the ocean front of one of India's most beautiful and romantic towns. Most of the rooms overlook the shimmering waters of the Bay of Bengal. Stylishly designed rooms with wooden flooring, specially designed luxury bedding, LCD TV, work desk, Wi-Fi, tea-coffee maker, fully loaded mini bar & electronic safe. DVD player and movies on demand service. All rooms are accented with exquisitely crafted pure leather accessories & an inspiring leather head board. All baths come with a hand dryer, bath tub, magnifying mirror and international 'Bodyshop' toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing