We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Promenade
Nearby Hotels
Dune de l'Orient(Pondicherry)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Dupleix(Pondicherry)
$80
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$66
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Accord Puducherry(Pondicherry)
$165
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Spray(Pondicherry)
$91
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palais de Mahe(Pondicherry)
$140
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maison Perumal(Pondicherry)
$101
$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Pondy(Pondicherry)
$97
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,253)
Filter reviews
1,253 results
Traveler rating
514
455
172
71
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
514
455
172
71
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantsea facing roomlight houseexcellent locationsmall poolbreakfast buffetgandhi statuewalking distancebay of bengalsea breezebeach viewwhite townspecial thanksvisiting pondicherryrock beachfrench colonyfrench quarter
Filter
Updating list...
984 - 989 of 1,253 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is our first time in Puducherry, a good opportunity for us to see a different part of India. The rooms at the hotel are showing a few signs of wear and tear, particularly the bathroom, and the strong smell of bleach or chlorine was a surprise.
The air conditioning can be quite noisy and very cold. The service has been quite good, but our other travelling companions have had issues where they needed to change rooms. Here for two nights and the best part has been the ability at night to access the beach and market and just enjoy the laid back approach, and no traffic. Would I come back to this hotel? Yes, but not expecting too much.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank rod_heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Mr Rod Heather

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel, i would like to firstly apologize for the inconvinience you had during your stay.
Your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us is highly appreciated and the time taken to provide us with these details is of utmost importance to us.

We thank you for all the positives pointed out in the review and we will share these with our team.

Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up, in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .

Thanking you once again for your comments.

Thanks and regards

Gaurav Suri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lovely hotel on the beach. The standards are superb and very clean too. The staff goes out of their way to give u good service and when ur there you have to try their grilled fish.. i just couldn´t get enough. Really enjoyed my stay there :D

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DisaGudmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Lavamya

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for taking out the time and posting your review on trip advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would look forward to having you stay with us once again.

Thanks and regards

Gaurav Suri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Friendly staff. paid attention to little details. On second day at b'fast they remembered how I liked my coffee the previous day. Excellent b'fast. Rooms are well appointed. Little things that make a big difference. Great location-close to beach and shopping center....
Room Tip: My room faced the Bay of Bengal. Amazing sunrise if you are up at this time.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavamya_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Mam

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about the hotel and its services, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and liked our services.
We thank you for all the positives pointed out in the review and I will share these with my team.

Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up, in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .

Thanking you once again and looking forward to having you back with us.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3days... The stay was really excellent... Especially the stay becomes worth when u have a sea facing room.. Prefer the room on second floor, along the roadside....
The breakfast buffet was really good, especially the cinnamon roll.. As it was our first marriage anniversary, so i had requested for somespecial arrangements, the hotel staff was kind enough to organise a candle light dinner near the pool also offering a complimentary cake and champagne for the occasion...
The location of hotel is really great... Along the promenade beach... Onecan go for a stroll in the evening and enjoy cool breeze... WiFi is great and offers good speed...

Now coming on to the negatives - the hotle should improve upon the bathrooms... As bathtubs are a little old fashioned, so the hotel should decide to renovate bathrooms for a modern setup..

Overall i would give hotel a thumps up... And a definite stay for whoeverplanning to visit pondicherry.....

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Manavjot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Mr Manavjot

Greetings from Pondicherry,


Thank you for posting your review of Promenade Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Warm and regards

Gaurav Suri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Promenade is a beautiful Hotel that i would highly recommend to any traveler.The rooms are clean and lovely and the Sea Facing rooms have a particularly gorgeous view.It is superbly located and the staff is OUTSTANDING!We enjoyed the breakfast buffet as well.

Room Tip: The Sea facing rooms are worth the additional amount
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimoneContractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Mr Simone

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is on top of our list and we were able to deliver this for you.Your encouraging comments will help us do better.
Hoping to have you back with us soon.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews