We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Beach...”
Review of The Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Promenade
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
“On the Beach...”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lovely hotel on the beach. The standards are superb and very clean too. The staff goes out of their way to give u good service and when ur there you have to try their grilled fish.. i just couldn´t get enough. Really enjoyed my stay there :D

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisaGudmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Lavamya

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for taking out the time and posting your review on trip advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would look forward to having you stay with us once again.

Thanks and regards

Gaurav Suri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    391
    146
    63
    34
See reviews for
343
312
52
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Friendly staff. paid attention to little details. On second day at b'fast they remembered how I liked my coffee the previous day. Excellent b'fast. Rooms are well appointed. Little things that make a big difference. Great location-close to beach and shopping center....
Room Tip: My room faced the Bay of Bengal. Amazing sunrise if you are up at this time.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavamya_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Mam

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about the hotel and its services, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and liked our services.
We thank you for all the positives pointed out in the review and I will share these with my team.

Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up, in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .

Thanking you once again and looking forward to having you back with us.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3days... The stay was really excellent... Especially the stay becomes worth when u have a sea facing room.. Prefer the room on second floor, along the roadside....
The breakfast buffet was really good, especially the cinnamon roll.. As it was our first marriage anniversary, so i had requested for somespecial arrangements, the hotel staff was kind enough to organise a candle light dinner near the pool also offering a complimentary cake and champagne for the occasion...
The location of hotel is really great... Along the promenade beach... Onecan go for a stroll in the evening and enjoy cool breeze... WiFi is great and offers good speed...

Now coming on to the negatives - the hotle should improve upon the bathrooms... As bathtubs are a little old fashioned, so the hotel should decide to renovate bathrooms for a modern setup..

Overall i would give hotel a thumps up... And a definite stay for whoeverplanning to visit pondicherry.....

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Manavjot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Mr Manavjot

Greetings from Pondicherry,


Thank you for posting your review of Promenade Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Warm and regards

Gaurav Suri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Promenade is a beautiful Hotel that i would highly recommend to any traveler.The rooms are clean and lovely and the Sea Facing rooms have a particularly gorgeous view.It is superbly located and the staff is OUTSTANDING!We enjoyed the breakfast buffet as well.

Room Tip: The Sea facing rooms are worth the additional amount
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimoneContractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Mr Simone

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is on top of our list and we were able to deliver this for you.Your encouraging comments will help us do better.
Hoping to have you back with us soon.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
281 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Promenade has a great location on the Boardwalk in Puducherry and I think was once very nice. Some aspects of that remain. The staff is friendly and the service is good. The rooms are however disappointing and quite dated. The shower in the bathroom in our room leaked profusely from behind a service panel onto the floor. The air conditioning unit when set at maximum cool and maximum air flow was barely operating so the room was never cool.

They are associated with another hotel in Puducherry, The Dupliex, and advertise for the restaurant there, but it is nothing special (see review).

The next time I go to Puducherry, I will try another hotel. I did not see a obvious choice as we walked around as the area is without any modern properties.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackinbama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Sir / Mam

Greetings from the Promenade Hotel Pondicherry,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Promenade Hotel, and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

Your positive comments about service and friendly staff are much appreciated. We have noted the concerns that you have highlighted regarding the rooms and will work towards improving the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the promende Hotel.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Thank you for an absolutely delightful weekend made perfect by Promenade! The hotel is excellently located, close to other eating places that give you a variety of experiences, shopping areas, etc. The staff are very helpful, concerned and efficient. Breakfast buffet was a great start to the day. The rooms are clean, spacious and airy. Very comfortable. The restaurants were on the expensive side, but the food selection was good. Parking in front of the hotel is an issue but is well taken care of by the valet service. I wish they keep up the standard..would love to visit again!

Room Tip: You have an option of sea facing rooms, but we took a non-sea facing one and still got a pretty good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mint_reddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for your comments, and appreciating our facilities. We are glad that your weekend with us was delightful and perfect. We strive to deliver each and every time to all our guest needs and in your case my team made it happen and you had a good weekend with us.

Thanking you once again for the positives that you have pointed out.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I visited The Promenade's restaurant for dinner. The whole place has a Grand feel to it. The interior is well done and is spacious. I ordered Biryani and Pasta and both were decent in taste. The best thing which I liked about the place is it's Cafe which is open all night long and Free Wi Fi, so one can order a cup of coffee, late at night, sit in the lobby, relax and surf Internet all night long!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishish_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

Your valuable feedback regarding your recent visit with us is highly appreciated and the time taken to provide us with these details is of utmost importance.

We thank you for all the positives pointed out in the review and we will share these with our team.

Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up, in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .

Hope you will stay with us next time when you are in Pondicherry.

Warm Regards

Gaurav Suri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 80 in Pondicherry
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 80 in Pondicherry
471 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 80 in Pondicherry
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 80 in Pondicherry
506 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#18 of 80 in Pondicherry
762 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Promenade

Property: The Promenade
Address: 23 Goubert Avenue | opp. Gandhi Statue on Beach Road, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Promenade is a luxury boutique hotel on the ocean front of one of India's most beautiful and romantic towns. Most of the rooms overlook the shimmering waters of the Bay of Bengal. Stylishly designed rooms with wooden flooring, specially designed luxury bedding, LCD TV, work desk, Wi-Fi, tea-coffee maker, fully loaded mini bar & electronic safe. DVD player and movies on demand service. All rooms are accented with exquisitely crafted pure leather accessories & an inspiring leather head board. All baths come with a hand dryer, bath tub, magnifying mirror and international 'Bodyshop' toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing