We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels in Asia”
Review of Le Dupleix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Dupleix
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Asia”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Pondicherry was an extraordinary experience. I give it two years before it becomes one of the most happening places in India and Asia. It has all the potential to become another 1980s Bali. Incredible mix of East and West, beautiful colonial French past set in the midst of Tamil Nadu, relaxed people and atmosphere...
The best way to discover Pondicherry is to book a few hotel nights at the Dupleix. A former 18th Century house, it welcomes you with a 200 year mango tree and an unparalleled atmosphere. Even the wooden ceiling in the breakfast room is a great example of French-Indian wooden carving.
Food is great, rooms are beautiful, location in the heart of the "Ville blanche" is perfect. The staff is really nice: Ms Usha, Ms Anita, and Mr Frederick will always try their upmost to help you and share their love of Pondicherry with you.
Probably one of the hotels we've ever staid at, anywhere. Where in the world can you be projected back in Dupleix's 18th century? Even time capsules can't do it that well.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vincent067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    169
    43
    29
    16
See reviews for
122
193
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
somewhere in india
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

the dupleix is rather unique in its category as it is a renovated residence of the former governor. the hotel manages to keep all the charm of a bygone age from the 4-poster beds to the wooden roof and doors. the hotel is very comfortable although we did have to complain about the a/c which didn't really work correctly as other visitors have already pointed out. the staff had also forgotten to switch on the hot water and the first evening we had to take cold showers. the restaurant however was fantastic, the food was excellent and the choice varied.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecritic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Sheer luxury, peaceful and slow pace of time... Le Dupleix is for you if you want to unwind by doing absolutely nothing... you can see time pass by slowly and you'd defenitely not complain.... My hubby and me had an amazing romantic time here... lovely oriental style rooms that shout "ancient"..... and when we slept...we really slept... dont think we ever slept that well anywhere else......it was awsome!!!
The food is really nice and service as promosed - prompt yet non-intruding!
A sure shot winner for those who want to experience Pondicherry in its' ultimate glory.....!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReshmaBudhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

An oddity this - looks nice from the outside, and has a nice olde worlde feel about it.

Room was too warm, underpowered A/C (with a mind of its own).

Food - I didn't have that much, and what I did have was ok. But I was abandoned half way through one meal as they cleared up the courtyard restaurant around me (and apparently went home - it wasn't that late really). Never mind, perhaps I'll get all courses next time.

Bath chipped and dirty, shower curtain missing when I arrived (didn't matter, the shower fittings were broken anyway)

Loo seat fallling off

No hot water in the mornings (ok it was lukewarm)

TV with a sound system that appeared to have several thicknesses of blankets stuffed into the loudspeakers.

Wifi/networking that no-one could manage to make work (Their DHCP server appears to be faulty.)

If this looks like a hatchet job, it is not meant to be - I gather that other rooms are better, and I am told that the food is widely admired. I'm just telling you how it was for me, and please don't take the rave reviews too seriously - it ain't that wonderful - and at this price you can do better.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plingsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur in India
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

it is not a huge hotel but it has that attraction that holds you for a while. I have visited this hotel in the low season so most of the rooms were vacant. The staff was so nice they showed me all the rooms. Being a heritage hotel all rooms are different interior. We have selected the room on the first floor and i must say it was the room that i loved the most in my south India visit. Best place to stay for honeymooners.

They got open restaurant and we enjoined our breakfast in this open restaurant under old the Mango Tree. If you are in Pondicherry then this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indian-Hitch-Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2010

The hotel is wonderful, very nice small heritage property. Quiet area and relaxing. The food was great, nice helpfull staff. The rooms are very comfortable with good beds. Heartily recommend Le Dupleix for its beautiful rooms and hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vj37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night it was a nice comfortable stay. The rooms were tidy and properly maintained. The hotel staff is very polite and courteous. We enjoyed our food under the old mango tree.Food is one of best thing that hotel have and i liked my stay in Le Dupleix.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#5 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Dupleix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dupleix

Property: Le Dupleix
Address: 5 Rue Dela Caserne Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Dupleix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Dupleix offers a fusion between the rich, colonial heritage and a contemporary flavor. The hotel beautifully complements Pondicherry. It is a 14-room luxury heritage hotel, nestling in an 18th century French colonial villa, originally built for the Maire Mayor of Pondicherry. Now restored and modernized the hotel is an architectural masterpiece showcasing the life of the 18th century French Governor Marquis Joseph-Francois Dupleix. The 14 suites are all distinct in style and furnishings and each provides a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Dupleix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dupleix Pondicherry
Le Dupleix Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing