We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Dupleix
Nearby Hotels
$75
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Accord Puducherry(Pondicherry)
$156
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Spray(Pondicherry)
$65
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ginger Pondicherry(Pondicherry)
$26
$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$130
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Royal Park(Pondicherry)
$41
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palais de Mahe(Pondicherry)
$143
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$57
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tamizh Park(Pondicherry)(Great Value!)
$19
$15
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveler rating
276
181
50
30
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
181
50
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousemango treeheritage hotelwhite towncourtyard restaurantsister hotelfrench quarterrecommend leold world charmsarovar groupheritage feelno elevatorcolonial erafour poster bedtop floorfirst floorcharming hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 555 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We arrived here on March 17th and our recpetion was underwhelming to say the least. We seemed to be the only guests.What a different welcome we witnessed on Friday 18th as each arriving guest was given a cooling drink and a "fawning" reception. The final insult was when we returned to the hotel in the afternoon after a walk about where we had handled everything from an elephant in the temple to beggers on the street and discovered that the only source of hot water in our "Deluxe Room" was in the shower! (When we complained, the maintenance man confirmed this)

We are experienced world wide travellers but have never encountered this no hot water wash hand basin in a supposedley decent hotel before . Beware! We will dicourage everybody we know to avoid this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry&Ros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ledupleix, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2011

Greetings From "Le Dupleix",

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

My apology for the inconvenience caused, i promise you we will surely look into the issue and the action will be taken right away.

Your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us is highly appreciated and the time taken to provide us with these details is of utmost importance to us.

We thank you for all the points, pointed out in the review and we will share these with our team.

Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up, in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .

Thank you once again for your feedback. we look forward to welcoming you back to Pondicherry.


Mohan. A,

Training Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This hotel is located in the old city of Pondicherry where the erstwhile French colonies used to exist.This hotel orignially was the mayor's residence once upon a time.It still manages to maintain the charm.The food and wine is really great.The sea side is quite close by.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pallu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ledupleix, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Greetings From "Le Dupleix",

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

Your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us is highly appreciated and the time taken to provide us with these details is of utmost importance to us.

We thank you for all the positives pointed out in the review and we will share these with our team.

Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up, in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .

Thank you once again for your feedback. we look forward to welcoming you back to Pondicherry.


Mohan. A,

Training Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Dupleix. The rooms are spacious, with wooden ceilings, the courtyard is exquisite. We also had a lovely meal at the restaurant in the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My family and I enjoyed our stay at Le Dupleix. Rooms are comfortable. Hotel is in a relaxing location. In every aspect this hotel is amazing, perfect atmosphere, beautiful rooms.The food was great too. All in all a wonderful stay at Le Dupleix. The staff is always there to help and to know if everything is ok. A very unique and special property.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitt30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

I was travelling to Pondicherry and found this hotel on the internet. I think it belongsto a chain of hotels. I stayed here for 3 nights on their package. Around 16000 for 3 days inclusive of all meals.
Did lots of writing and this place is perfect for writers.Quiet, warm, friendly staff and out of the world calm experience. Definitely recomended. Breakfast is good but their french and italian food is definitely worth tasting.
I was spoilt with butler service, free massage and free snacks and welcome drink.
I will definitely visit again. Love you guys!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butifulnupur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews