We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dune Eco Village & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ocean Spray(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Spa Equilibre(Auroville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Aham(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (770)
Filter reviews
770 results
Traveler rating
271
265
102
50
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
265
102
50
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood housegarden roomfun restauranttower housecow milkingorganic foodprivate beachbay watchpottery makingswimming poolshallow endclose to naturemain restaurantthe cottagesnon achuge propertytamil nadu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 770 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Having lived in India for over 3 years we have experienced all levels of hotels in differing states. This is really at the core a nice concept with great staff. The staff were helpful, attentive and kind (with activity at cow & pottery written off as a language barrier). The concept is good... Large acreage, with your own bike to get around at your convenience (needing new locks and some oil). Fun activities for the kids but there was no schedule in our room as told on check in. We missed the activities the first day. The second day we couldn't find the cows and although we arrived before timing was over we were told no. Another guest stepped in and helped translate but it was a rushed experience albeit kind of cool. Pottery was the same story- my kids barely got to make a pot but the adult woman was given plenty of time and helped to make a nice dish. The next day someone had broken my sons pot that was set out to dry by the staff...hummm? Our last morning at checkout we noticed a chaulk board around the corner with all sorts of information, wish it wasn't tucked away. Beach was close and we could hear the waves from the pool side restaurant although we couldn't see them. It's funny to me to build a restaurant & hotel on the beach with no view (with the exception of the tower room, I think?). The beach was fun though, the kids played and we walked to both ends picking up shells.The "Portal" ( entry) to the beach is creative and makes for a great pic. The pool was very well done and the little restaurant next to it quaint, although everything shut down right before sunset... again a bit bizarre. The main restaurant was well managed, the food good and serene. I've eaten a lot of Dosas and Sambar, and these were some of the best yet, served at breakfast as part of a copious buffet. We stayed in the Gramam suite which was dark had shoddy drapes and was missing the touch that would give the feel of artsy luxury. We are from Texas... Austin is the heart of zainy luxury, salt of the earth yet cultured. EcoDune was so close to being great but missed the mark. If it had not cost so much my expectations would have been lower and then I think I would have walked away saying it was brilliant. You should not charge 5 star prices for a 3 star experience... maybe I just got the wrong suite.

Room Tip: This is a good stop between Chennai and Pondi for a beach break. Choose the room wisely as cost does not equivocate quality. I would probably take one of the rooms near the main restaurant for better value or if you take a suite be explicite of which one you want... not gramam suite at that price. Again, manage your expectations and it's a nice stop.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMandLittleNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We visited this place during the last long weekend (April 18) . Found this place thru Tripadvisor and booked directly .
Excellent property very courteous staff , I would like to specially mention the manager Umapathy- you ask for any information he will have a printout ready for that.
Thoroughly enjoyed cycling,pool,private beach especially the morning walk on the beach.


The biggest disappointment was the food, tasteless and overpriced-

A different holiday experience

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renjithmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

It was my wife's birthday and thought of taking her to this place. Came to know about Dune from my friend. We were totally impressed with the service provided by the staff. Starting from the watchman/security at the gate to the front desk staff, house keeping staff, restaurant staffs, everyone was very polite and helpful all the time. Its a nice place to get relaxed without any noise or pollution or any kind of disturbance. We stayed the Garden Room (AC) which is very close to the FUN restaurant. Room service was quick and good. Room was very clean. In the evening took a walk to the beach. Private beach could have been maintained a little more to keep it clean. few things which can still be improved are, cleanliness around the property (pathway, lawn, gardens, etc), can improve their food menu and DVD collections as well.
Ultimately, this property is a bit expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prabhaharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Recently, my friends and I visited Dune, an Eco Village Beach Resort, 17 kms before Pondicherry. The resort is run by a French couple. The resort has nearly 65 themed houses and spread over 35 acres of land. No two bungalows are alike, and each one is uniquely designed and created by various artists, designers and architects from all around the world. All the houses are fully equipped with solar water systems, low consumption bulbs and organic linen. Not all their accommodation has air conditioning for environmental reasons, however, most of the time, there is a refreshing sea breeze which you can enjoy from the comfort of your own private garden, lounge or terrace. The resort has a spa, DVD library and a pool table too.

We arrived at the resort by 11:00am and went straight to the reception. We had booked for a Baywatch house that faces the sea. However on arrival, the manager indicated to us that the previous guests had still not vacated and may leave only by 3pm despite the check out being 12pm and the check in being at 11am. We did not want to make a fuss so instead asked the manager if there are any other rooms which are available. He indicated that there is a Bamboo house that is available but again that will be open for us by 1pm as the cleaning was going on. We still had two hours to go for our check in. In the meantime, the manager suggested we take a quick look at the Bamboo house and tour the resort before checking in. So, we walked to the Bamboo house which was 4 minutes from the reception. We saw the Bamboo house and it looked extremely spacious and nice. The toilet looked spacious too, had a nice shower and wash basin and many mirrors. There were three beds, one table, two chairs, two bottles of water, mini fridge, wardrobe with a security locker, two table fans, one ceiling fan and low dim lights. It appeared very cozy and relaxing. There was a lounge area which had 3 sofas, two glass top tables and a ceiling fan. Even more interesting, there was a hammock outside the house too.

The manager asked us if we would like to take a look at the other restaurants, swimming pool and the way to the beach. We said yes and continued walking to these places. On the way, we saw a tennis court and volleyball court too. We started liking the place and it was time for us to make a decision to opt between a Bamboo House and the Baywatch House which we initially booked for. After a long discussion, we decided to opt for the bamboo House. Since the cleaning was in progress, we paid the rent and then took the bicycles, a part of the resort which each guest gets, and rode to the restaurant that faces the restaurant. We had a couple of drinks and nibble before we checked in.

At 1:30pm, we checked in to our rooms and relaxed for a while before venturing out. During the night, we used 2 table fans and the ceiling fan while sleeping as the room was getting hotter considering it is summer time. We had a good undisturbed sleep that night. The next morning, we used the swimming pool which was extremely clean and nice despite a couple of crows drinking water to quench their thirst. The water was a bit cold and soothing to beat the heat. We had breakfast and dinner the previous night at the main restaurant situated in the middle of the resort. Follow my Blog for the restaurant review - http://pritishyaitsme.blogspot.com


Overall, we were extremely satisfied with Dune Resort and strongly recommend to people who want to unwind for a day or two along with their spouse/family. For those who want to spend their honeymoon or pamper yourselves, I suggest you to choose the Tower Suite, which is the only house on the top and has a Jacuzzi. It also face the sea and has a breathtaking view of the entire environment. We were told that it is a bit more expensive than other rooms but is definitely worth it.

Disadvantages - You call the Reception or Restaurant and order for something, it will arrive very late.

Minimum Rate Per Night - Rs 5500/-

Room Tip: Honeymoon Couple - Tower Suite or any Room that has an aircon else people can hear from outside when you have SEX
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pritish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Dune Eco Beach Hotel is the ultimate get-away. Beautiful designed bungalows (with or without AC), more than enough space, excellent food, great beach, fine Spa and Yoga and very nice staff who will go out of their way for you. Their is a farm on the grounds where they grow their own products. Very organic and delicious. Everything is very 'eco-friendly'.The thing I really liked is that a community college is situated on the premises. Part of the hotel revenues go to this college. Youngsters get a vocational training here they otherwise would probably not receive. This college is open voor visitors! It is a no-brainer: just book and go!

Room Tip: In hot season book a room with AC. In cold season (dec-febr) AC not necessary. Book an Ayerveda-day or two at the spa.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenHoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews