We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do air-cooled rooms in the rain....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dune Eco Village & Spa
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have been here before in 2010 and gave it four stars - it's a great place. We went back for the last week of 2012 and I wanted to update my review. Unlike most reviewers we like the air-cooled (non-AC) rooms - they are a good price point, I love hearing the sounds of the sea and they are well designed to have a nice breeze go through them. Most importantly, I appreciate the effort to avoid too much power consumption.

However, this time we had one day of rain and the air-cooled rooms were less fun. They are already a little dark - to keep them cool - but with the dark clouds and the rain they were gloomy and damp - everything felt damp. Previously, we had not spent so much time in the room itself - mostly spending time near the pool. But if you are stuck in the room - you need a nicer one. I would avoid these rooms if there is any risk of rainy weather.

Room Tip: Don't chose the non-A/C rooms if it is raining - they get damp.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peregrineNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
There are newer reviews for The Dune Eco Village & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 739 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in the Wood House and found it very clean and comfortable. The AC worked well and the private deck was the perfect place for an afternoon siesta. The swimming pool area, with views out to the ocean, was gorgeous and where we spent most of our time. Walking on the property and along the beach were also enjoyable. We participated in a fairly good yoga class one morning but did not have a chance to experience the spa. We played tennis each morning but the court was not up to a very high standard.

Staff were friendly and professional with the staff in the reservations area being especially helpful in aiding us to book the next leg of our travel.

The food was good but the menu was a bit too long. Fewer choices done to a higher standard would be nice.

We especially appreciated the focus on sustainability and the partnership with the school next door.

Overall, we enjoyed a relaxing stay in a clean and well-run resort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin_ken74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend before Deepvali. It was a nice retreat from the firecrackers going off close to our home in Chennai! We enjoyed our stay with our 1.5 year-old son. He loved greeting the dogs, cows and goats everyday.

Each room/house is unique and that's part of the place's appeal! However, the floors are concrete and there were a lot of cool breakables that we had to put out of his reach. The pool was very nice, but we had to hold onto our son since it gets deep pretty fast. There is a kiddie-pool, but we didn't use it. I really liked the food at the restaurant and room-service was good as well. It isn't a super fancy place, but more of a fancy-rustic getaway. I think the prices are a tad high, but not so high that we wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mingusdew6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

i stayed in the tower house.. something really different ., beautiful view of beach. very cozy and very comfortable.. NO doubt its a excellent property and the manger mr.Umapathy very helpful.jacuzzi was excellent..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balajisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We chose this place for our 1st marriage anniversary based on some recommendations and reading the reviews on tripadvisor. No doubt the location is good and that is what the plus point is (and that is what they charge you for). Rest the property is spread up across 40 acres (source: the hotel manager) with tiny farm, cattles, pool, yoga/meditation hall, private beach, recreational activities (TT, Badminton, pottery...) and couple of restaurants. You do get bicycles to roam around. We opted for Baywatch 2 room which was decent enough with independent garden area, sea view and thankfully NO TV. The food is quite expensive but you have no choice as the place is 16Kms from pondy town and no alternatives around. It costed us 2500 INR for one and half meals. For people who enjoy a good drink better buy it from outside and enjoy in the garden area. Overall the positives are: good location, good pool, fair service and relaxed life for fast paced City professionals.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwairVihari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Not a good choice for infants and kids with respect to food & service, no doubt that there is peaceful area & bicycles to play for kids but what matters is the service and the kindness to kids.
The worst was a manager [Bengali I guess ] who is real nonsense and a major player to bring down Dune's reputation, maybe he is linked with other resorts as he suggested a neighboring resort for children.
With respect to infrastructure and location it is the good, there is scope of improvement with respect to service, kindness to children, etc.,
I hope this feedback reaches
• Travelers who can avoid this resort
• Dune's Senior management who can fix this issue as this is impacting resort reputation

Cheers!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A1Ashu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We went her on a mini honeymoon and had the most wonderful time. All the rooms are different so you have to be careful about which one you choose depending on what you're looking for. But the reservations staff are very forthcoming with their help wrt this.
We loved the Tower Room but found that the rooms with the thatch roofs such as the Baywatch Rooms and the Flex Rooms do get a lot of mosquitoes in the evenings. And not all the rooms have a sea view even though the resort is right on the beach.
The food is excellent! We ate all our meals there and each and every dish was yummy. We especially liked the tandoori prawns at the Sea Food Bar.
We also loved the gardens, the cows, the pool.. and just about everything, really.
We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPTMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
1.2 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#20 of 82 in Pondicherry
784 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
10.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#42 of 82 in Pondicherry
43 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#7 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,134 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#29 of 82 in Pondicherry
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dune Eco Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dune Eco Village & Spa

Address: | Pudhukuppam, Keelputhupet Village, via Pondicherry University, Pondicherry 605014, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#10 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range: $94 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dune Eco Village & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our village is designed for travelers who are looking for a place for a long, leisurely stay surrounded by tranquility, peace, and comfort. This 25-acre eco-friendly beach village features uniquely designed bungalows and cottages, a swimming pool, a tennis court and 700m of pristine beach. The Dune welcomes guests all through the year. We aim to create an environment "to live in harmony with nature and men". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dune Eco Village & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dune Beach Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing