We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Budget Hotel”
Review of Hotel Tamizh Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tamizh Park
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Considering the budget it offered we chose Tamizh Park. We were 8 of us.This place is value for money. All the rooms & Toilets are clean. The surrounding location did not provide us a good view from the room. The breakfast was very disappointing. Apart from that the staff are quite friendly and accommodative .

Room Tip: The surrounding location did not provide us a good view from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhiram_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltamizhpark, Manager at Hotel Tamizh Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Hotel Tamizh Park Pondicherry !!!

Thank you very much for your valuable Review hope it will reach many people,

We are really sorry if our breakfast disturbed you, Please note that we are giving following menu for breakfast

Fresh juice, Cut Fruits , Toast with butter jam, Idly , sampar , chatny, pongal, poori, cornflakes, choice of egg, tea or coffee or milk,

Each day we will change indian breakfast only idly to poori or Pasta ect...

Hope this and all you had in the day, kindly send us mail to our email id if you didnt get the above listed items,

We are really sorry for the inconvenience happens to you

Hope to make you happy in your next visit

Have a nice day !!!


Have a nice day !!!

Warm Regards,

Arun Kumar V
Reservation Manager,
Hotel Tamizh Park,
#330, Vazhudavur Road,
Sokkanadhanpettai,
Puducherry -605 009.
E-Mail - reservation@hoteltamizhpark.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 360 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

It was a very nice and pleasant stay, the hospitality was awesome, They arranged for 2 wheeler even though they did not have, Also breakfast was good.
Rooms were well furnished with good interiors and good bathrooms. Overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltamizhpark, Manager at Hotel Tamizh Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your valuable review ,

Hope this review will reach many people and also will give hope to them,

Have a nice day !!!

Warm Regards,

Arun Kumar V
Reservation Manager,
Hotel Tamizh Park,
#330, Vazhudavur Road,
Sokkanadhanpettai,
Puducherry -605 009.
E-Mail - reservation@hoteltamizhpark.com
0413-2270701-04 / 8489921011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It was a really a wonderful stay at tamizh park. 1.In the heart of the city n very easy to locate from the famous Rajiv Gandhi circle. 2.As soon I entered the hotel,as it was on pictures the rooms were upto the mark.Very clean n nicely maintained. 3.As we reached around the lunch time we ordered for the food and dine in service was really fast considering we were really hungry.Also surprisingly the food was tastier.(veg pulao and veg noodles). 4.The complimentary breakfast could have been better with few more options as only Idly-vada,Pongal and bread-butter-jam are available. 5.They also provide a two wheeler charging 250/ day,its better option as the places are very much findable with the hotel desk help and the local auto's charge how much ever they feel like.So a two wheeler is best option as its serves both economy and a nice experience. 5.The only draw back I felt was they couldn't provide us the vehicle for both pick-up and drop,as it was promised during the booking time. 6.All together it was nice to stay in Tamizh Park,the staff is really courteous and helpful.Would suggest people to blindly opt this if your hitting Pondicherry.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rock-vendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltamizhpark, Manager at Hotel Tamizh Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your valuable Review it will reach many people definitely,

Hope to see you back at Tamizh Park

Have a nice day !!!

Warm Regards,

Arun Kumar V
Reservation Manager,
Hotel Tamizh Park,
#330, Vazhudavur Road,
Sokkanadhanpettai,
Puducherry -605 009.
E-Mail - reservation@hoteltamizhpark.com
0413-2270701-04 / 8489921011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Good budget hotel except for some hiccups
I stayed in this hotel from 11th to 13th April'14 with wife & son. I had booked through Agoda.

The Pros;
• Neat & clean rooms & toilets
• Good restaurant

The Cons;
• Corridors reeking of alcohol & cigarette smoke (gives me a headache). The sole reason
why I won’t go back again.
• Basement parking requires some driving skills
• Same items repeated for complimentary breakfast every day
• No other restaurants within a 2km radius
• About 2km from Rajiv Gandhi Chowk. More suitable for guests with vehicles.

Suggestions for improvement;
• Could well to close the gap (~1/2 inch) below the door which seems to be the culprit for
smelly corridors. The smell even percolated into my room.
• An electric jug could be provided with instant tea/coffee & sugar.
• Service could be improved. Among others no complimentary water bottle was kept one
day. Also the vada (for b’fast) was not replenished on the 2nd day.
• Automatic toaster required as the manual one almost always resulted in burnt bread.
• 24 hrs check-in could be thought of.

Another point of interest;
As stated above, I booked through Agoda which showed the least price (Rs 5633/- for 3 nights including Rs 500 each night for extra bedding). But at the end of my stay I was given a total bill of Rs 4473/- to sign. On query, she stated that had I booked directly I would have had to pay Rs 1800/- plus Rs 500/ (extra bed) for each night. But my friend who stayed with family during the same time paid only Rs 300/- for extra bed! The receptionist refused to give me a copy of the bill and almost prevented me from taking a photo of it. My request to see the manager was also ignored.

Overall my rating of the Hotel is just above average with a whole star being reduced for the bad odor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajeethpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltamizhpark, Manager at Hotel Tamizh Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear sir,

Thank you for your valuable review definitely it will help other guest to reach us with some confident,


We are not allowing smoking in the corridors since some guests may be using that we will block and make sure soon,

When you have stayed with us that time there was a car parking work on progress may be you didnt notice the same

We have a multicuisine restaurant inside, and also we are just near to the accord group of hotels

Any way we are sorry if your not satisfied this time

Have a nice day !!!
Warm Regards,

Arun Kumar V
Reservation Manager,
Hotel Tamizh Park,
#330, Vazhudavur Road,
Sokkanadhanpettai,
Puducherry -605 009.
E-Mail - reservation@hoteltamizhpark.com
0413-2270701-04 / 8489921011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Excellent budget hotel. Hospitable staff. Clean toilets, cozy room, Interiors on par for a budget hotel. For the price i have nothing to complain. Even though they have a basement parking, it is a little difficult to get the car in and out. But that is hardly a complain. Decent breakfast with good coffee. Room service was good but takes a lot of time. Overall it was a happy stay,

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balajisrirangam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltamizhpark, Manager at Hotel Tamizh Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings for the day !!!

Thank you for your valuable review. Hope this will reach many other people too and it will help them to reach us for their comfortable stay in our hotel.

We are sorry that you had difficulties in parking area for parking your vehicle. The work is in progress to modify the path for the vehicles, it will be over in two days. You won't have parking difficulty in your next visit to our hotel.

Thanks again for your valuable review

Have a nice day !!!

Warm Regards,

Arun Kumar V
Reservation Manager,
Hotel Tamizh Park,
#330, Vazhudavur Road,
Sokkanadhanpettai,
Puducherry -605 009.
E-Mail - reservation@hoteltamizhpark.com
0413-2270701-04 / 8489921011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was my first visit to Pondicherry with my wife, the staff was really helpful and kind. We booked the rooms through clear trip at a discounted price. We were offered complimentary breakfast buffet, the room was clean and well decorated. The restaurant ( Tamizh Spice ) in the hotel is good even though it might be a little expensive. The hotel is around 6-7 Kms away from the beach which might sound far but the staff were kind enough to arrange 2 wheelers for us at a daily rental. Best hotel stay if you want to enjoy a no nonsense stay at a reasonable price and excellent service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Amithash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltamizhpark, Manager at Hotel Tamizh Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings for the day !!!

Thank you very much for your valuable Review, Hope this will reach many people with good sound that will help them to reach here, about knowing us

Our restaurant have multicuisine food we have 355 varieties for that we would take more staffs for that needs to keep quality rate fine sir we try to detect something in that

Have a nice day !!!

Have a nice day !!!

Warm Regards,

Arun Kumar V
Reservation Manager,
Hotel Tamizh Park,
#330, Vazhudavur Road,
Sokkanadhanpettai,
Puducherry -605 009.
E-Mail - reservation@hoteltamizhpark.com
0413-2270701-04 / 8489921011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I just wanted to stay for a night but that was extended for 3 nights, well presented rooms with great price. I know where to stay on my next trip to Pondicherry. Rooms were modern and designed with keeping in 3 star hotel standard's yet priced to a budget hotel. Laundry service was way too good with best price.
Just one thing about the breakfast, on the first day it was good, but on the second day nothing was available except Idly, because they were busy with a wedding party. and third day breakfast was pretty basic. i even informed this to guy at the front desk.
You may need a hired vehicle to commute or else auto guys will rip you off. cause hotel is far from city center or to beach.

Room Tip: First floor or second floor rooms will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kartmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltamizhpark, Manager at Hotel Tamizh Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings for the day !!!

Thank you very much for your valuable Review, hope this will reach many people soon and that will help them to reach us with out doubt, thank you very much for your valuable actual review,

We are sorry for that second day breakfast delays, they kept but they have taken some time due to that banquet program, we agree your point sorry for that , definitely in your next visit you wont face this kind of issue we hope so

Thanks again for your valuable review

Have a nice day !!!

Warm Regards,

Arun Kumar V
Reservation Manager,
Hotel Tamizh Park,
#330, Vazhudavur Road,
Sokkanadhanpettai,
Puducherry -605 009.
E-Mail - reservation@hoteltamizhpark.com
0413-2270701-04 / 8489921011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
1.7 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#26 of 85 in Pondicherry
424 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
2.6 mi away
Ginger Pondicherry
Ginger Pondicherry
#21 of 85 in Pondicherry
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#17 of 85 in Pondicherry
660 reviews
2 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 85 in Pondicherry
636 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
#37 of 85 in Pondicherry
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamizh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamizh Park

Address: 330 Vazhudavur Road | Sokkanadhanpettai, Pondicherry 605009, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: $22 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamizh Park 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tamizh Park is a 3 star Business Class hotel, located in the city centre of Pondicherry. The hotel combines great ambience with impeccable personalized service. We are driven by our philosophy of "building relationships" with our guests with service that anticipates and fulfills your smallest needs. The Hotel has 50 beautifully appointed guest rooms including 3 executive rooms and 6 suites. The Hotel offers great banqueting facilities as well as a Business Centre, Board Rooms and Conference rooms for corporate meetings and seminars. Hotel Tamizh Park does not only offer you best in class services but also offers you a range of facilities to choose from. The surrounding areas of the hotel will give in to your business, leisure, recreational and shopping needs. When it comes to Pondicherry Budget Hotels, you can be sure that Hotel Tamizh Park is by far the best as we ensure that all our customers are satisfied not only by the services we offer indoors but also by ensuring that they can make the best of Pondicherry while they are in the city. There is indeed a lot to do in and around our Budget Hotels in Pondicherry, so give us a call and we will be happy to ensure that you have a comfortable stay with us. "The Dedicated team at Hotel Tamizh Park will strive to provide quality services to the guests at value for money in a comfortable ambience, consistently, to delight all guests everytime." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tamizh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing