We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Annamalai International Hotel
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A beautiful hotel with really excellent facilities. It is modern and very clean and the staff was very helpful. We had an delicious breakfast there...it was a buffet (like most hotels in India) that had lots of good things to eat, with Indian food and western food. We had a very nice vegetable omlet for breakfast.. We also had a nice dinner in the hotel's restaurant. I can't eat spicy food so the chef cooked food that was tasty but not hot and spicy. We enjoyed our stay there, which was only for one night. Our tour only allotted one night to the city which was enough time to see the most important tourist sites in the city. I think it would be a good choice for anyone visiting Pondicherry. It was one of the best hotels we stayed in while on our tour of India. I'm only sorry the hotel wasn't in some cities where we stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurAsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    126
    61
    13
    6
See reviews for
115
58
15
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very comfy room and clean hotel. Location not the greatest as it is not in walking distance of much (about 3 km from the French Quarter which is the best part of Pondicherry). Breakfast wasn't too inspiring and a final irritation was the receptionist arguing that I had made a call to Cochin and wanting to charge me for it (I had made no such call). Very nice and reasonably priced shop in the lobby.

Room Tip: The higher floored rooms have a good view (albeit not too attractive!) of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattdlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

stayed for 1 night in the hotel. the check in was fast and reception staffs were helpful and polite. hotel was and well maintained. service was quick. food in the restaurant was ok. the morning buffet was delicious but limited spread.
worth the cost paid. would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidhyaprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We went with along with our family for a function ... Quick check in and good room . Bath room could be better...bed quality was fine... Specially to mention the food ... Outstanding ... Lunch was too good ... Only suggestion - staff need to be more professional and lot of training required for them ...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv2012chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The only hotel I have stayed so far where checkin is allowed without any advance payment. They allowed early checkin and late checkout. Location is good, not so far from the bus station and other prominent areas. The staff were very friendly and the hotel is very well kept. The standard room we booked was nice and clean. The buffet breakfast was sumptuous. The only drawback was lunch and dinner, we couldnt find a good non-vegetarian restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_3_G_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Walking into the lobby is like entering the badly done stage set of a low budget theatre production. Over decorated with cheap baubles, facades of houses painted on the walls, with make-believe balconies, and on the undersized balconies, over sized mannequins. The Renaissance restaurant walls featured crude copies of European paintings, including a portrait of good old Napoleon. Nothing else in the decor aligned with this theme. The first impression was that of a cheap, tastelessly done hotel.

The first impression is reinforced throughout the stay. Bathrooms with bath curtains that are too small to keep the water inside the shower area, chipped bathtubs, and discoloured fittings. Bed linen and towels were substandard, and pillows were dirty.

Coming to the food, the breakfast buffet spread was miserly, and at the dinner buffet, some dishes ran empty and the staff was unable to replenish them in time. Restaurants were also understaffed and those who were running around seemed inadequately trained.

Room service was deplorable and even after several calls, the tray was not cleared from the room. Finally I had to just dump it outside the door.

On the plus side, some of the staff at the reception and in the banquets were committed and cheerful, and offered professional service.

Overall, a very unpleasant experience. Hope to never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorporateTheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

hotel is good, rooms are well maintained and staffs are kind and firendly. food served was good and everyday different menu. about 1.5km away from shopping area. just disappointed that my room access card not ready at that point of check in

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
1.1 mi away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
1.6 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 80 in Pondicherry
591 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#28 of 80 in Pondicherry
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#15 of 80 in Pondicherry
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#32 of 80 in Pondicherry
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annamalai International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annamalai International Hotel

Property: Annamalai International Hotel
Address: 479, Kamaraj Salai, Pondicherry 605013, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Annamalai International Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Annamalai International Pondicherry was established in 2001. Located in the heart of the city. It’s a centralized air conditioned hotel with 70 well-appointed rooms, multi-cuisine restaurant and vegetarian restaurant with exclusive vegetarian kitchen. The Court of Bacchus (BAR). 4 conference halls and business centre. Swimming pool in terrace Open to sky is exclusively for resident guests. We are number one in Pondicherry, India’s key industrial & commercial city. Wide range of accommodation with 3 Annamalai Suites, 3 King suites, 6 Executives Rooms and 58 Standard Rooms with all modern amenities and comfort to match with international standards. All the rooms are provided with Safety Locker & Bath tubs. The Swimming Pool amidst of Rock garden with Paddling Pool promises sheer exhilaration. Moonshine dinners and Pool Side Parties at Roof Top make your evening come live and crackle with excitement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Annamalai International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing