We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dune de l'Orient
Nearby Hotels
Maison Perumal(Pondicherry)
$101
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Dupleix(Pondicherry)
$69
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Spray(Pondicherry)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Le Pondy(Pondicherry)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Promenade(Pondicherry)
$66
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accord Puducherry(Pondicherry)
$163
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Palais de Mahe(Pondicherry)
$139
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveler rating
228
178
64
26
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
178
64
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneemrana hotelsold world charmneemrana groupfrench quartercreole foodheritage hotelcolonial furniturecolonial experiencewhite towncourtyard restaurantfour posterthe ground floorcharming hotelopen courtyardeggs to ordera wonderful stayfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 518 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We ate outside on their terrace. It was a business dinner. They serve a wonderful mixture of French-Indian fusion and have a number of Creole-Curry dishes. I had the Chicken creole-Curry. Service and Ambience were great, food very tasty. Definitely worth a night out in Pondy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 749David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback about the Carte Blanche courtyard restaurant, in Pondicherry.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your dinner and had a good time.
Your encouraging compliments about the cuisine and the ambience have been conveyed to the chef and his team on-site and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Warm Regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

From the time we checked in it was a great experience the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed at room called CANNANORE nice colonial style furniture. The breakfast is very good. Over all great place to stay will recommend the viewer to try it.

Room Tip: Excellent place too stay. menu and food quality is average.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bela D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Cannanore room and liked the ambience and detailing of the room. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

Your compliments about the breakfast in particular have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

Do venture out to any of the 27 Neemrana 'non-hotel' Hotels and continue to send us your feedback, so that we continue to serve you with the same Neemrana brand of simplicity and style with the renowned Indian humility.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is by far amongst the best hotels in Pondicherry & Neemrana has done a fantastic job restoring this bungalow into a hotel.

We were here for 2 nights & the staff was kind enough to upgrade us to one of their largest rooms which also had an attached terrace. The rooms are massive & the furniture exquisite. Every piece of furniture has been selectively chosen & placed in the rooms & leaves one spellbound.

The only thing that was missing is room service which I believe is not provided in any Neemrana hotel. Nevertheless, an amazing stay & extremely helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your kind feedback about the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

Your compliments about the ambience and the interiors have been conveyed to the Chairman and the interiors team. As you are aware, every effort has been made to retain the old world charm of the 18th C. property. It is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into a ruined and unused building.

As you are aware, at Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated. Since the rooms are equipped with tea and coffee makers, common hospitality practices like room service are avoided. This is part of the Neemrana USP.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

A great heritage hotel with a lot of atmosphere; each room has different names with stylish colonial furniture. the staff is very friendly everywhere: at the reception, the restaurant, the cleaning ladies, the watchmen. You feal that you are a welcome guest. The breakfast is wonderful with french croissants, sweet bread, joghurt, eggs, home made marmelade and fresh fruit juices. It is a perfect place to unwind, enjoy the time, take a book and sit in the beautiful garden or enjoy a dinner. I can recommended this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on the first floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMBBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback about Neemrana’s - Hotel de l’Orient, heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

Feedback such as yours reinforces our philosophy of infusing new life into a ruined and unused building. We at Neemrana, strive to create experiences for the guests and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense and appreciate the effort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Your compliments about the ambience and the service have been conveyed to the restoration team and the staff at the property respectively.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Right from check in to check out it was memorable, the staff here have a lot to teach to the so called high end five star establishment. An excellent place to unwind, walk about and just do nothing. We stayed in Surat in the ground floor which was surprisingly very well maintained and they still have maintained the old world charm to the rooms. A lot of work has gone to create a very unique experience for the mind. Eating break in the courtyard or having a drink there in the courtyard is amazing!!! A must do once more!!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank shammu_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciative words about Neemrana’s - Hotel de l’Orient, in Pondicherry.

As you may know, at Neemrana, we try and maintain a balance between old world charm and modern amenities, so that the past is not completely obliterated. It is our constant endeavour to create and enhance the experience for our guests and we are glad to learn that you enjoyed the ambience and got time to relax and unwind.

Your encouraging compliments about the staff have been conveyed to the team on-site.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon at any of our 27 properties across India.

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews