We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all-round experience staying in the white town”
Review of Hotel de l'Orient

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de l'Orient
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The de l'Orient hotel is really like someone's home with a lot of guest-rooms. The staff is friendly and they regularly interact with guests, unlike in big hotel chains, something that I really liked. The setting is that of a re-conditioned old French educational institution. The location is great too, the promenade is a brisk 5-minute walk away. We stayed in room Arcot, situated in a quiet corner of the hotel. The furniture, if not all authentic antiques, lend credence to the rustic and old charm. The bed is a tad small for two people, and to put it mildly we are not skinny :), but we managed well. The food is pretty good! Beware of mosquitoes.

Best way to go around Pondi is to rent bikes or bicycles. The reception at the hotel is able to help with such requests. Couple of gotchas- the breakfast spread is modest in comparison to what some of the more established hotels provide, and our room had no cell-phone reception or wifi signal. That basically puts you in a secluded communication-free island where only the hotel desk phone becomes your only connectivity. That said, we were able to catch the free wifi in the dining area.

I would like to thank the following people for making our stay very comfortable- Murli (hotel manager), Ravi (restaurant manager), Logan (the chef) and Anbu at the front desk. If you get to meet them, you could spend some time getting to know these wonderful people. There is not much to do in Pondi, but on the other hand, the place provides great ambiance, peace and quiet. This hotel takes nothing away, in fact builds on that strength. Uday travel's Uday is a great guy who'll help you with your local travel needs plus airport pickup/drops.

Net-net, good hotel, decent location, nice people, good food and great ambiance.

Room Tip: Some rooms may have open bathrooms (en-suite, but not a separate room). If you are sensitive about p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soumit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Arcot room.

Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the Manager and his team.

With reference to your observation, we are pleased to inform you that we have added one live counter during breakfast to add to the variety.

The 27 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your patronage to Hotel de l’Orient and the Neemrana brand in India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 510 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a lovely hotel set in an 18th century French colonial mansion. There are numerous rooms available however at our time of booking only two were left. We decided upon a room called Nellore which was at the lower end of the room prices in this hotel. This room is really beautiful – it is set away from the main leafy courtyard that greets you when you arrive and up a set of stairs so is wonderfully quite after the previous hustle and bustle of stays across India. All of the decor in the room and the hotel itself is in keeping with what you would expect with an old French mansion. The hotel itself is two blocks from the main promenade of Pondicherry and allows for a very easy stroll to see all of the main city sights.
Also included in the room price is breakfast. Finally the hotel has a restaurant set in the leafy courtyard which is wonderfully romantic at night time light up by candlelight. The food here was also excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Songi_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read about your experience at the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Nellore room.

Your compliments about the cuisine and the dining experience at the Carte Blanche restaurant have been conveyed to the Chef and the service team.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

For our first stop in India, this couldn't have been better. A beautifully restored building with such a peaceful atmosphere. Our room, although it was one of the smaller ones, had all you would expect in a top hotel. The staff were discrete, professional and fluent in English. The French/Indian style evening meal was just gorgeous! I have become a big fan of Neemrana Hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your warm and appreciative review about the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

Your compliments about the property and the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the team at the Pondicherry. We have also conveyed your compliments about the Creole cuisine to the Chef and his team.

We hope that as you discover more of real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about. On behalf of the entire Neemrana team we thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spend several days in this hotel and tried several rooms. Each one of them is uniquely furnished with unique colonial style furniture and decorative objects! If you like sleeping in the morning, be aware that the street life starts very early in Pondi, so we would recommend you to choose your room accordingly!!!!
Not to be missed: The hotel has an excellent cook, a young, dynamic and innovative gentleman who knows how to cook and create enw dishes! I would encourage you to go for the daily "Menu of the day" to try his realizations. We have also tried many of the "A la carte* dishes! Simply excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your warm review about the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

Your kind words about the dining experience and the cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

We hope that as you continue to discover real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about. We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Located in the peaceful "White" part of Pondy, this hotel is a jewel. The building is beautiful and the rooms are furnished as real museum. Restaurant and food were very good with lounge music ( not too high as all other place in india ...).
The only problem was our room on the ground floor with low sound insulation with the main entrance and front desk ...And Break fast was not in the same quality as the Hotel.
Notwithstanding i advise everyone to stay in that place

Room Tip: Avoid the room which is located on the ground level on the left*.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomdene78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

Your compliments about the decor and the restoration have been conveyed to the Co-Chairmen and the hotel team. It is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into a ruined and unused building.

As you may be aware, every effort has been put in to maintain the original structure of the old building. Nevertheless we shall discuss your feedback internally to find a solution for the sound levels on the ground floor.

With reference to your observation, we are pleased to inform you that we will be adding one live counter during breakfast to add to the variety.

We thank you for your suggestions and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was completely bowled over by the charm of this French colonial-era-bungalow-turned-hotel, and specifically, by the Yanaon room I stayed in (each room apparently has a different decor), with its lovely wooden furniture, high bed, gorgeous windows, and bathroom reminiscent of Provence. It wasn't even that pricy, when you consider what INR 6,000 a night get you (compared to the fact that even Ginger in Pondicherry is about 4,000 a night for a double-room) -- and some other rooms are cheaper/pricier. The restaurant is over-rated, though: you could eat a lot better in Pondicherry (for instance, at Rendezvous, a five minute-walk from the hotel), and the hotel should do something about the stinking pile of garbage (and attendant stray dogs) at the end of the street -- probably the only place in Pondicherry's French quarter I could say that of. Nevertheless, I highly recommend it, and plan on returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Yanaon room.

Your feedback about the food is disappointing. Please do send us further details and suggestions and we shall try our best to incorporate the same.

Your feedback has been conveyed to the local Municipal authorities and the requisite action has already been taken. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Staying in Hotel de l'Orient is a quaint but very charming experience. Since we had had an extremely pleasant stay there some time back, on this visit, we decided to drop in at the cafe. As usual we were caught up in the atmosphere...and the service was quick, the food good, and the wine excellent. What I especially like about this cafe is that the sense and feel of leisure that envelops you...

The only negative has nothing to do with the hotel - it is just that the road in front has this huge pile of garbage so going into and coming out of a luxurious Neemrana experience is rather challenging.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lizgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the chance to overlay your past experience with an enjoyable one at the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

It is heartening to read about your experience at the hotel. Your compliments about the Carte Blanche restaurant have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

Your feedback has been conveyed to the local Municipal authorities and the requisite action has already been taken.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#18 of 85 in Pondicherry
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 85 in Pondicherry
1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 85 in Pondicherry
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#11 of 85 in Pondicherry
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Richmond, Puducherry
The Richmond, Puducherry
#36 of 85 in Pondicherry
244 reviews
2 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#17 of 85 in Pondicherry
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Orient

Address: 17 Romain Rolland Street | White Town, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range: $116 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Orient 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a French flirtation with India’s bewildering diversity could have produced the refined and elusive magic of ‘Pondicherry’ which contains the magic of the whole Orient in one name. Now, this French 18th-century coastal lifestyle in India is brought alive again in a home which is a virtual art gallery with etchings and hand written postcards all over its walls. Recreated in high-raftered ceilings with savonnerie rugs and easy chairs to lounge away the afternoons. Four poster beds – (one accessed by three stairs ! ) – to help you recreate your past with dreams. Savour a French mansion full of Indian warmth. Enjoy fine Creole eating where Tamil spices mix with subtle French under-statement to titillate the palates of gourmets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de l'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Orient
De l Orient Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing