We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and hospitable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Pondicherry
Ranked #60 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well located and hospitable”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

One of the nicer, yet affordable hotels in the French quarter. The staff was warm and hospitable and the manager (Raj) took good care of us. It is very centrally located, walking distance from the sea and the nicer hotels (Promenade etc). It has a nice bar/restaurant as well. The rooms are a decent size, but the bathroom is not covered on the top. Even though that's part of the charm, it might not work for a few.
All in all, a smart decision to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SukhmaniSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    43
    19
    14
    20
See reviews for
16
40
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
296 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

One of the best place to stay to get a feel of the old French Liasion of the city of Pondy. The hotel is located in the midst of the French colony and the architecture fascinated me. It was like staying in olden times with the modern luxuries. If you drive in, just ensure that you do so post 0930 Pm as the place can be crowded due to people visiiting the Pondy beach. Nevertheless you can park at any place on the right side of the road.

The place gets very quite in the night and you can be at your self enjoying the darkness of the night and the sound of the sea. Highly recommended. The place also has a cafe which runs till 11 PM in the night wherein the food is delicious, in the night apply some Odomos as there might be mosquitoes around

The bed is a bit small for a couple with a toddler, however can be managed.

Room Tip: Negotiate on the price, you vcan easily get a discount of 10-15% in off seasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indradeep R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

It is a charming boutique hôtel in the french quartier with a nice green garden. The only drawback ( And a big one as we moved out for it!) is the price. The room was 3200 rupee which already is expensive but when they charged us an extra 700 for an extrabed for our kids, all of this not including breakfast (around 500 for 3) And asking 100 for use of wifi, I call it a rip off!
We moved To Hôtel de l'Orient which was upmarket And cheaper by far.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We reserved a room here based on Lonely Planets review of a heritage hotel.
Although staff was friendly, the room was overpriced (at 2500 rupees it was the most expensive on our trip). The garden level room was dirty..sheets not clean, mold in drinking glass. There was a strong smell of mold and despite using the fan and AC, the smell never left. There was mold visible on the walls and ceiling. We had the impression that the hotel was seldom used and only saw one other person enter and leave the premises.
When we asked if there was another room upstairs we were told there was not. However when we informed the manager that we could not stay in the room, he showed us a room upstairs. that although cleaner, still smelled stongly of mold.

Room Tip: Perhaps top floor rooms are better, but check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

It was Bachelors party @ Pondicherry! Two of our friends were getting married soon and they were bidding adios to Bachelorhood. It was long extended weekend party at Pondicherry.

We logged inn to hotel de on early hours of saturday. Its great and centrally located @ puduchery. The structure reminds of french connections. The food was great, though we expected more authentic french food. The ambiance, lounge and rooms are neat and clean. Good place to be Inn.

The beaches, aurobindo ashram are main attractions. U feel as if u r in france wen u visit the central part off pondicherry! Thats the History of french connection!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Narendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dxb
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We did a big mistake by booking our selves at Nallas beach resort , outskirts of Pondichery a net influence... within few hours realized that it was a big mistake, lunch served in a place infested with flies,, probs thats why they call it Eco Resort

We checked out and searched for place to stay, and found Hotel de Pondicherry. Was pleased by the way Raj, who owns the place, should say he knows his business well

Nice and clean rooms and the ambiance that will make you feel so eco friendly
Nice bar good food

but i would also recommend Alliance Francaise - right opposite to Hotel de Pondicherry for a good breakfast and ofcourse Hotel Promenade for a wood burn thin crust pizza and excellent service and good food

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malini55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Its an heritage hotel and with wooden work and good interiors with bungalow look.
service was excellent and was available 24*7 .
It was very close to main market.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navy_dhariwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 80 in Pondicherry
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#12 of 80 in Pondicherry
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
#24 of 80 in Pondicherry
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 80 in Pondicherry
506 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#32 of 80 in Pondicherry
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Richmond, Puducherry
The Richmond, Puducherry
#36 of 80 in Pondicherry
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Pondicherry

Property: Hotel de Pondicherry
Address: 38 South End Dumas Street Beach Road, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Pondicherry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing