We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ossudu Lake”
Review of Ousteri Lake

Ousteri Lake
Ranked #21 of 63 things to do in Pondicherry
Attraction details
Pondicherry
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Ossudu Lake”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Oustery lake, which is also called as Ossudu Lake, is a nice place for almost all type of tourists.... Couples, Groups, Nature Lovers, Photographers, Nature Lovers, Bird Watchers !


Lake is a prominent site in the region for Migratory birds, has been declared as Bird Sanctuary by the Puducherry Government.

PTDC offers boating facility (Paddle boats & motor boat) at this spot, at very reasonable rate, which is Rs. 60/- per person for the Motor boat ride.

This is really nice place if you are a Photographer.

Almost 6 - 8 kms away from the main city, this place is excellent for spending a nice evening !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rohit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    33
    20
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good boat ride”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Actually we followed the tripadvisor 's map with gps for reaching this spot and on way we figured out the trip advisor map is wrong. So we asked couple of local persons on road and reached the spot after half an hour ride. I am sharing the coordinates of this location on google map. https://www.google.co.in/maps/ms?msid=209862081700634679171.0004fbfe5d4c29d24fee7&msa=0&ll=11.941557,79.746572&spn=0.001648,0.002411

This place is around 10km from Pondicherry. Not a bad place to visit either if you are looking to cut time in Pondicherry. The boat ride is good, but we didn't got much bird sightings. I would recommend this place only for nature lovers because their is not much fun except for the boat ride(15-20 mins), which you can also do at paradise beach.
The boat cost Rs 50/- per person on sharing basis (6 person per boat). When we went their were very less people, so we had to take the entire boat for two of us at Rs.300/-.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Satyajit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
737 reviews
561 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,054 helpful votes
“Best spot in winter for bird watcher and nature lover”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

It is on Pondicherry – Villupuram road and can be reached in just 30 min. It is a large lake which shared by Pondicherry (Union territory) and Tamil Nadu state. Boating facility is available in lake. Only 20 seated boats are allowed in lake. It charge INR 60/- per person for around 20-30 minute boat ride.
It is very beautiful lake having Small Island at the center. This location is homing of migratory as well as native birds during winter. You can spot Asian Pelican, Grey Heron, pond heron, egrets, Darters, Oriental Darter, Oriental ibis, glossy ibis and river tern birds. Also got to know that some duck family also spotted but I was not able to find in the lake.
This lake is also having large variety of lotus flowers. Boating is available between 9.30 am to 5.00 pm. Fun to visit this place and prefer evening to avoid harsh sunlight.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank priteshkulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place for boating”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The place is outside pondicherry and boating was available in motor boat. Pedal boats and row boats were not available.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Varun_Kikaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good spot for nature lovers”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Reached by an auto from the city, it takes around 40 minutes to be there.
The very view of this vast lake delights you. The complete round of the lake by boat takes around 20-30 minutes.
You can spot number of migratory birds on the island, I fear if the tourist activities on this spot intensifies, the birds may be desert the island. However, the boat driver normally switches off the engine while nearing the island.
As tourist from other state, I would appreciate if the boat operators have some working knowledge of English.
The safety of tourists is compromised as we were taken around without any life jackets, it is a serious matter so please ensure that you are wearing life jackets before boarding the boat.
I wish amenities for the visitor are upgraded.......Any how a good spot to enjoy....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank prakashmarch31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ousteri Lake also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Ousteri Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing