We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go here to avoid a sun stroke” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baker Street

Baker Street
Ranked #1 of 6 Bakeries in Pondicherry
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go here to avoid a sun stroke”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The best thing about the café Baker Street is the excellent air conditioning. This must be the coolest (literary speaking) in Pondicherry! The food is good too - French pastry, sandwiches, cookies and good coffee!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iselin_Evensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    277
    90
    45
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went to baker street in search of some french cuisine and wasn't disappointed . Truly awesome food . The Quiche's are excellent . Desserts were equallly good, For the less adventurous there were subs and burgers as well . Everythin from taste to ambiance was top notch

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank god_of_chaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Probably the only authentic French Boulangerie Patisserie Artisanale in India”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have lived in France for many years and was pleasantly surprised to see that the bread, cakes and chocolate that you find here is as good or better than the average boulangerie you have in France. As the chef has been living in France for over two decades they have brought back that authentic taste to India. The croissants, pain au chocolat and pain au raisins is the same. Just bigger in most cases and better. The taste is the exact same as the average Parisian boulangerie. So you don't have to travel all that distance to enjoy it. I thought the chai was a great addition which you don't find back in France. Even the Pizzas are as crap as you find in France at a boulangerie. I would skip them. Stick to the cakes, muffins etc., as they are probably the best you can get for the money you pay in India (trust me I know).

Might seem pricey for India but its quality you pay for. To be honest you would have to pay 2/3 times more in France for the same fare in absolute terms so really worth in value. No wonder all the visiting French make a direct beeline to this place.

Noted that they also stock some awesome camembert. So the next time for lunch just try some baguette, camembert, pate and bottle of red wine (which is easy to find in Pondicherry) and you will never go wrong.

Kids and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit and highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pollyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“This was our saviour in Pondy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I think they have an amazing variety of things to eat.

Quiche is literally something to die for. I SWEAR i didn't know quiche could be so good, this place has changed my idea about quiche (You see, being in Bangalore for so long, and even after having visited some good places here... i always thought quiche was like an over-priced weirdly-shaped, almost bland bread sort of a thing, with a little topping).. But when you go to baker street, u understand what a quiche means!

and what desserts, wah! I was so tempted, tried all flavours of eclairs - fruit, chocolate, vanilla, coffee. Tried the brownie with masala, lemon tart, croissants, pizzas, burgers.

I don't even know the names of half the things I ate. but everything was delicious!

Yes, it is slightly expensive. But trust me, you won't find this stuff anywhere in Bangalore ( i mean the quality) even if you paid double. So totally worth it.. Go splurge!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SharmishthaDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Awesome taste, a bit overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We picked some brownies, muffins and choco chip cookies, they were all absolutely divine!! The portions were also very generous, though we felt a bit overpriced. Also very crowded.. maybe because we went on a busy sunday morning, it almost took them almost 40 minutes to pack and give.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunandini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baker Street also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Baker Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing